We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't even get to check in...”
Review of Jumping Frog Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jumping Frog Motel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Was going to just walk-in and stay here, seemed ok from the outside. But upon looking at the room decided not to stay. Out dated is one thing... but this place was downright scary. The tiniest TV I've ever seen for sure. Dingy, dusty, dirty... Backed out and went up 49 a bit to stay at the Angels.
If you just want a place to stay and don't have the money to stay elsewhere, this would be ok.. but don't expect ANTYHING in return but 4 walls and a bed with broken springs.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

We just needed a place to sleep after the Sonora Music Festival. We rolled in around 10pm and walked into a stifling room. After opening the windows and cranking up the AC (which inexplicably was situated in the closet), the room did cool down and was comfortable for sleeping.

This is place is not fancy and could benefit from some updating, but it was clean. The furniture was worn, but the only really bad thing for me was the hardest pillow that I have ever slept on. I don't know how a pillow can be that hard, and maybe I don't want to know! Other than that, the bed was comfy. It served the purpose of being an inexpensive place to sleep and made it easy for us to get to Big Trees the next morning.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

All I truly require is clean and reasonable. I try to find a place that is a bargain, so I can travel more often! :)
Jumping Frog Motel is an older mom and pop place. Friendly and helpful owners. Quiet area. Small but very adequate, clean, comfy, and a good value.
I would stay again, if in the area. But, it is a LONG drive to Yosemite, we found out! The road to Yosemite was very steep and curving! We'd stay in Mariposa next time, which we actually did the 2nd night.

Room Tip: A tip for better wi-fi service, sit by the window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imawandrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Our room was large and comfortable. We enjoyed the quiet courtyard in the middle of the motel. The owners were very friendly. We'd definitely stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cntyrd563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We had trouble finding a place to stay in the area due to several special events. Another hotel referred us here. This is an inexpensive mom-and-pop spot, very basic. The shower in our room had a dizzying arrray of different tiles! The staff was friendly and helpful. We left a treasured item behind and they were diligent in getting it back to us. This is not a fancy place, but if you need a clean, utilitarian place to spend the night, it's great. The pizza place a block away is fantastic!

No hairdryer, shampoo in a little packet. Our room had a fridge, our friends' room did not.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pachamama57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We go with a group of friends and take the entire motel for the weekend. The owners are so kind to us. Always so hospitable. Thank you for letting us stay. Its so quiet there in your great town of Angels Camp. When you visit there are lots of things to see and do very close by. My husband and I are looking forward to our next visit. Thank you again. Sharon and Harley Jones from Penryn, California

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cars13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

It is not a 5 star but our whole group of 30 people have been going there for years. We book a year in advance. The owners are so nice. The price is right and we take over the whole motel. We set up our BBQ's and tents and have a wonderful time. You can spend a lot more money but for a couple of nights we are happy. We will be back next year.
John and Ann
California

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angels Camp
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
6.5 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
#3 of 5 in Angels Camp
559 reviews
6.6 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
299 reviews
1 mi away
The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jumping Frog Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jumping Frog Motel

Address: 330 Murphy's Grade Rd., Angels Camp, CA 95222
Location: United States > California > Angels Camp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Price Range: $78 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jumping Frog Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jumping Frog Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumping Frog Hotel Angels Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing