We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Country Inn

Gold Country Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gold Country Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This motel is situated along main street but we didnt hear any noise. Our room was big, wifi was good, bath/shower was fine. Happy to be on 2nd floor, ceiling is thin. We booked for one night but ended up staying 3 since the area has more to offer than Yosemite. Would stay here again, no breakfast though. Only problem was the old, noisy fridge.

Room Tip: The ceiling is thin, so better stay on 2nd floor, otherwise you hear people walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlove1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
3
9
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sedro Wooley, WA, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stay at a lot of small motels in small towns. As the motel goes, I had nothing to recommend this place. Everything about this motel was just below average. The thing that triggered my ire was that the manager was completely unresponsive. The internet connection didn't work for anyone. Several of us asked him if he could reset his modem so we could access the internet, and his response was that he'd see if he could get to it in a little bit. I was surprised at such a dismissive response. My travelling companions didn't have enough towels in their room, and he was just as dismissive about that. It was the classic 'I've got the money, you're on your own' attitude. The location of the motel is not within walking distance of anything but a gas station, and a horrible restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Angels Camp hotels

Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This was a clean quiet little Inn, & was good for the price we paid. Considering its an older Inn, some of the amenities were a little dated or needed updating. But, with that said, the room was clean, there was a recliner (which was great after a long day of being on my feet!) and bed was comfortable. If we are ever in this area again, I'd consider staying here again.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Staff was nice and accomodating for night. We found the room dirty . carpet need cleaning and the room staffed with basics. I.E. coffee cups and water cups. The bigest problem was the coffee maker. This was dirty in the fill area for so long that there was mold and dark brown liquid in it when filled with water. I sick person that morning. The room was ADA and if a nonsighted person had dunk from the maker no telling how sick they would have been. See Tammy K for more info. A major up grade is needed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, Usa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The best thing about the Gold Country Inn is the staff. They were super nice and welcoming when we checked in. After we checked out we realized that we had left our camera in the room and when we called the desk they immediately went to our room and found it and held it fo us at the front desk.
As for the room, it was nothing to write home about. The bedspread had a rip in it, the pillow shams were dingy and worn and the beds were hard. The toilet felt like it was going to fall through the floor from the water damage below it. The bathroom sink was gross and desperately needs to be replaced. There was a two inch gap between the floor and the exterior door and I dreamed about what might be crawling in and out of the room during the night.
We only booked at this motel because the better rated motels were full due to a big wine event that weekend. The owners should seriously consider updating the rooms to attract more guests visiting the area and receiving better reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent the night here and found the Gold Country Inn to be very economical. The room was large and clean and the bathroom was a little small, but had what I needed. The owner met me and was very nice. The internet was fast. It is across the street from a nice museum and next door to Rodz Diner. It was also close to two gas stations. The room had a microwave, a refrigerator and a coffee maker. I will stay here again,

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side next to the dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angels Camp
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
6.4 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
11.1 mi away
INNS of California-Sonora
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
#3 of 5 in Angels Camp
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gold Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Country Inn

Property: Gold Country Inn
Address: 720 S. Main Street, Angels Camp, CA 95222
Location: United States > California > Angels Camp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Hotel Class:2 star — Gold Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Angels Camp minutes from Big Tree State Park, Moaning Cavern Park, Ironstone Vineyards, and just a short drive to Yosemite National Park. This Magnuson Hotels affiliate offers pet friendly rooms with free wireless internet and parking for your boat. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Angels Camp
Angels Camp Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing