We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, good service, but private bath in hall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Angels Camp B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The service, snacks, breakfast were wonderful. But, one had to go out in the hall to access the private bath- and this seemed to be true for all the rooms. Bathrobes were provided, but that did not make up for on outdated (but very clean) bath in the hall. Service, food and cleaniness were excellent- if only there was a modern bath connected directly to the room. Also, parking is on the street but this didn't seem to be a problem in the quiet neighborhood..

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelffrequently
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teycross, Owner at The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2010

We truly appreciate your candid review and are delighted you enjoyed the excellent service, food and cleanliness of our bed and breakfast. We hope you'll come visit our historic 100 year old bed and breakfast again and enjoy our Zinfandel Suite with ensuite bathroom.

With warmest regards,
Tey and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 84 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

We had a very pleasant time with Tai and Robb at the Cooper House Inn. We chose to stay there due to a good package-deal we'd found, and Angel's Camp is close to Murphy's and the valley. We spent 3 days exploring and wine tasting, returning each evening to a warm mean and light company. Tai is a great host and story teller, and the food and service was really nice. Tai is Very knowledgeable and down to earth and the Cooper House espouses a light and comfortable atmosphere and grounds.
Do get up early to enjoy the coffee and fresh air. Visit the Irish Vinyards and Twisted Oak on the way to Murphy's!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liteshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

My husband, son and I stayed two nights at the Cooper House Bed and Breakfast Inn. We had the Zinfandel suite, which has a full size bed and a small sofabed perfect for my son. We booked through Expedia as we were looking for somewhere relatively close to Yosemite but had left it too late to get a hotel in the park. Cooper House is a scenic 1 hour 45 minute drive from Yosemite and that's how we and the other two sets of guests spent one of our days.

We arrived and were warmly greeted by Tey. Our suite was right on the roadside with its own entrance, and Angels Camp felt so quiet and remote that there was no need to worry about noise. I would suggest if you get the Zinfandel suite that you bring eyeshades if you're a light-sensitive sleeper - the blinds are not blackout and the glorious sun warms the room in the morning. Our room was turned down for us after we came back from dinner and the soft glow from the little pink Tiffany style lamps on the bedside tables was really lovely. Everything is beautifully and comfortably decorated.

Just to give you an example of the stellar hospitality - on arrival, Tey asked us if we wanted chips, salsa, cheese and crackers. Not wanting to make a fuss, I said not to go to any trouble, and he said, "but it's our pleasure and it's included in your rate and it really isn't any trouble at all." Great, great hospitality. There was always tea, coffee, soda, wine and beer available and included. The free WiFi worked perfectly and there was a convenient power strip for all of our gadgets.

Breakfast was a sight to behold and sheer pleasure for one's palate. We had amazing choices. My husband did get the baked eggs for both mornings and loved them; my son and I both had the homemade waffles; we all had the fruit, yogurt and granola.. YUM. (We're not talking just any fruit, either. Fresh blackberries! Exquisite!).

The "great room" was really comfortable as well and it was nice to relax with a glass of wine once my son had gone to sleep. Tey and Rob are wonderful conversationalists (well I guess you'd have to be to be in the B&B business!) and we really enjoyed our stay.

We did eat at the local Italian - Crusco's - which was in our Lonely Planet guidebook (and I'd highly recommend it as well).

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsTravellerEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

My husband and I took out first vacation "without kids" this past July. After visiting Mammoth Lakes and Yosemite, we made our way west to Angels Camp and had a terrific first experience staying at a Bed & Breakfast. From the minute we arrived to our parting goodbyes, was perfect! Rob, our host, was very relaxed, an excellent cook and very informative. After settling in to "The Chardonnay Suite", Rob secured dinner reservations for us at a local Italian Restaurant which was fabulous. We walked off dinner window shopping through Angels Camp and spend a warm summer evening on the porch of the Cooper Inn. The bed was to die for!!!! Breakfast was delicious and sharing conversation with other guests was really fun. We'd definitely return to the Cooper Inn and would like to time our next trip to coincide with the county fair in May.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

My wife and I spent two nights at the Cooper House in late July, 2010. We loved the place, and especially the treatment by Tey, the owner. For example, one last afternoon after returning from exploring the area, he offered to make some snacks for us. While we enjoyed sipping wine on the porch, he brought us a plate of olives, cheese, sliced meat and... peaches and cream! The array of cooked-to-order breakfasts is first class; so much variety and so delicious. A unique feature is the assortment of wine, beer, soda, chocolates and snacks that are available for free, 24 hours a day. Sit on the front porch and sip wine and relax.

If you are thinking of staying here, don't even hesitate to book it. You will love it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panoramarick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We usually go to Columbia in our RV. What a break from that way of living. The room was very quiet, clean, neat, and all the period furnishings were great. The access to our room was very convenient. But on top of all that, the breakfast was about the best we ever had anywhere. Loved the baked eggs!!, "we will be back". The nearby Italian restaurant was also one of the best meals we have had. Rob and Tey, thanks for your hospitality!

Bill and Mary Ann Bradford
Oakdale, CA

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradhtms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I have visited twice, and I am sure there will be many more stays in the future. Tey and Rob are superb hosts, the food is exceptional, and I almost feel like a part of the family when I am there. I am a regular B&B traveler, and this is one of the best I have found!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtripper67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angels Camp
17.4 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
0.8 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
6.3 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
214 reviews
5.5 mi away
CourtWood Inn
CourtWood Inn
#2 of 4 in Murphys
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 1184 Church St., Angels Camp, CA 95222
Location: United States > California > Angels Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Angels Camp
Price Range: $264 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper House is one of Angel Camp’s most unique homes. Built originally in 1910 the house has been lovingly restored to reflect today’s desired standards in hospitality. We invite you to come and experience our relaxing and romantic inn. Come for a weekend and you may never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cooper House Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Cooper House Hotel Angels Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing