We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murphys House on Main - perfect weekend away!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Angels Camp B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Murphys House on Main which is another property that Cooper House offers. The house is RIGHT on Main Street in downtown Murphys. The town of Murphys is so charming and has so much to offer, I was so excited to be staying right in town where we could walk to everything. We started our stay by walking into town to wine taste and grabbed some cheese and goodies to take back to the house. The home has a full kitchen and we found everything we could need and so much more. In fact, the home and kitchen is fully equipped for full meal preparation if need be. After enjoying the home and the back patio which overlooks the Murphys creek, we went back into town for an amazing dinner and topped it off with live music at one of the tasting rooms. In fact, there was so much going on in town, it was hard to choose! THis town has so many great dining options and entertainment or events you cant NOT have a great time. It was late January and beautiful short sleeve weather all day but at night it was cold so it was so great that we could just walk back to the house quickly and the home was toasty warm. Next morning again, short walk into town for coffee and breakfast and SHOPPING!
The house was so comfortable in every way with comfy couches, HUGE king size bed in the master and TV's in every room. We had everything we could possible need or want even if we were staying for a week and everything was clean and tidy. In fact, the only thing i can say is that it was to bad it was only the two of us. The house is perfect for a large group or family. We cant wait to rent it again and invite our friends up for the weekend. I can see us all doing the same wine tasting, dinner, live music and shopping while adding Poker at the large dining room table and a big homemade breakfast in the morning. We also might rent it for my sons 18th birthday and bring his friends up so they can play around town at the caves or zipline across the canyon or go snowboarding up the mountain.
All and all, a great find and value at The Murphys House on Main, we will be renting it often for so many reasons! Its perfect for friends or a large family.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 83 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2012

We just spent Saturday night at the Cooper House on our way to Yosemite for the Chef's Holidays. While the Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn is very clean and has much charm and history, wonderful evening snacks and breakfast. But be aware the suites are small bedrooms and the private bathrooms listed are not in the "suite" but accessed by a common hallway. We were fortunate to be the only guest on Saturday night but had there been any other guests it would have been very uncomfortable as far as privacy and noise. The main living room is connected by a swing door that was right next to our "private bathroom" had there been any other guests enjoying sitting by the fireplace and possibly having a conversation with each other all that would have been right on top of our suite and bath. The hosts were nice but not friendly. I would never consider staying at Cooper House again.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank shirley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We very much enjoyed our two night stay with Tey and Rob. Wonderful hosts, great location, many interesting things to see and do in this area. We will highly recommend this B&B to our friends.

Room Tip: Chardonnay room was excellent with a wonderful king bed.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HikerDave2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed only one night on our way to Yosemite but could easily have stayed longer! Charming, welcoming, friendly.... Excellent personal service...superb breakfast...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We recently visited Cooper House Bed & Breakfast and were pleasantly surprised to find such a nice place "tucked away" out of sight. It was our first visit to this area and to this B & B. The key features that made us feel good about our choice were the cleanliness of the facility, the top-notch breakfast (baked eggs and such, very yummy), the super comfy bed, and the overall homey feel of this establishment. Not to be forgotten was the friendliness of the owners, Rob and Tey. When we first arrived (early) we were greeted warmly by Rob who showed us our room (Chardonay room- loved it) and all the ammenities they had to offer. Our private bathroom was right next door to our room (I had no problems with that at all.)
After our tour, Rob sat down and spent time visiting with us. We were wondering if he could suggest any place to eat dinner that evening and he named off a few suggestions. We opted for a local Italian restaurant he named . He said the restaurant can get very busy at times and asked what time we would like to go and went right over to the phone and made reservations for us. Great idea! Thank you Rob! Dinner was fabulous.
The next morning my husband was not feeling well (he has minor stomach problems occasionally) and reluctantly decided he better not eat any breakfast until he felt better. Both Rob and Tey offered to fix him something light that might set well in his stomach- Tea and toast or whatever- They even offered to cook him something that we could take with us when we left so he could eat it later. Very thoughtful! My husband and I both would definitely go back here again and my husband vows that next time he WILL eat the fabulous breakfast they prepare.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grammatutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed two nights here for my birthday and we both had a fantastic stay! The house is a historic building located in a nice, quiet neighborhood (within easy walking distance of the local downtown, Angel's Camp). Our room was exceptional and ready when we checked in. We chose the suite with the private deck which made for two pleasant evenings. Our breakfasts were prepared by the host/innkeeper Tey, who does a wonderful job preparing and explaining the items on their menu (we sampled several items and were not disappointed in any way: fresh local/organic fruit, eggs, applewood bacon [YUM], sausage, eggs, and waffles; everything needing to be cooked, cooked to perfection!). No issues with WiFi access (or with obtaining a cell phone signal, 2-4 bars on our iPhones using AT&T). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the CH B&B and plan to return soon, a big thank you to Tey; it was a pleasure to meet you, Robert, and Jessica. We cannot wait to return!! Best regards, Steph & Larry.

Room Tip: Call them directly and talk to Tey
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We won our stay at the Cooper House at a car show and saved it for our anniversary. What a wonderful place to spend a memorable eveing. Tey was such a wonderful host, we sat and talked with him before and after our dinner at "V" in Murphy's. Tey has worked very hard to restore this wonderful home to it's former glory and even better. Our room, Zinfandel Room" was very comfortable, the bed was like sleeping on a cloud. We will return and recommend it to anyone looking for a get away. Our breakfast was delicious. Keep up the good work Tey, we'll be back.

Room Tip: Ours is the smallest of the 3 rooms but had a nice sitting area and was extremely clean and comforta...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpfiddletown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angels Camp
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
6.3 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
212 reviews
12.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
223 reviews
17.4 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
10.6 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 1184 Church St., Angels Camp, CA 95222
Location: United States > California > Angels Camp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Angels Camp
Price Range: $264 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper House is one of Angel Camp’s most unique homes. Built originally in 1910 the house has been lovingly restored to reflect today’s desired standards in hospitality. We invite you to come and experience our relaxing and romantic inn. Come for a weekend and you may never want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Cooper House Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cooper House Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Cooper House Hotel Angels Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing