We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations & amazing local wines”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
WorldMark Angels Camp
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were visiting the area to enjoy the local wines in Calaveras and Amador counties. WorldMark is centrally located in Angels Camp and a great place to stay. The property overlooks the local golf course and our condo was clean, large, comfortable, well furnished with everything we needed to enjoy our stay. There is lots of history in the local area, but you will really enjoy the wine, food and atmosphere in nearby Murphys.

Room Tip: Ask for a location with a balcony overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skip1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 228 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during the memorial weekend. Golf course was less than a five minute drive away! Not too many Great restaurants around but there's a Vons grocery within 5 minutes a way and the resort has a full cooking kitchen. We just cooked in during our whole stay. Drive to resort is very windy with no streetlights, not recommended to drive at night. Huge pool area. Game area for kids!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deegirlSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My cousin and I spent a week at Worldmark mid-March. We were checked in by one desk and then prompted to move to another for a parking pass. However, the concierge type desk that handed out the parking pass was clearly the Sales Team for the timeshares. Even though my cousin was a RCI Member, they tried to goad her into attending a presentation to "update" her knowledge of RCI. She declined, but each time we had to ask this desk for information about the area, they tried again to get her to attend. We found this to be quite annoying.

The condo unit was very spacious, and even though not yet renovated, it was nicely furnished. We had a two bedroom unit overlooking the golf course and the sunsets were fantastic! The large balcony with a grill was an added bonus. The only other issue we had was with the low flow showers/faucets. One of us had to run the water, in the upstairs bath or kitchen, every morning for about 10 minutes to get hot water to the downstairs bathroom. What is the point of having water saving faucets if you have to run so much water to get all areas hot?

We loved the hot tub and thought it was the largest we'd seen in a condo complex. The location was great and we found ourselves in Murphy's quite alot. I would suggest that the property deliver better maps to guests. We were given one and was told it was not to scale. That was an understatement! Businesses that appeared to be next to each other were actually one mile apart.

Room Tip: Golf course views were amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PPQGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Out of all of the Worldmark resorts, our favorite is definitely Angel’s Camp. While the units are not as spectacular as some (they are remodeling the units so be aware that you may hear some noise coming from the construction), the resort sits in a very relaxing and serene area, surrounded by mountains, trees, and of course the golf course.
There are great places to shop and eat around the resort as well. While I do not recommend eating at the Camps Restaurant on the golf course as it is a little too pricey, my family and I do love the Chinese restaurant about 5 minutes away from the resort. The Save Mart grocery store also about 5 minutes away from the resort has a great selection and the prices are reasonable.
Once you get to the resort, you can be confident that the unit you receive will not disappoint. Our unit this time around was the 3 Bedroom Penthouse near the entrance of the resort. The unit had two bedrooms downstairs, one with 2 twins with a full bathroom attached, and the other with a king bed also with a full bathroom attached. Upstairs was the nicely appointed master bedroom with a king bed, and his-and-her vanities in the attached bathroom along with the very large walk-in closet. The kitchen was very comfortable with a gorgeous granite countertop and larger appliances than the “normal” units. The balcony was even different. It wrapped around the entire unit with a large table, two large chaise lounges and a few side chairs. Another spectacular amenity in the unit was the whirlpool tubs in every bathroom.
While the unit did not disappoint, the noisy neighbors definitely did not read that there are quiet hours at Worldmark resorts. This is not the first time that we have had this experience at this resort. It seems as if people view this resort as the “party place.” They come here and party and are a little crazier than they would be in their own homes.
All in all, we were still able to get some sleep in our nice unit, but I feel like the resort should have a better control on the owners and have a better implementation of the rules. Other than that hiccup in our weekend, we had a great time and it still was relaxing. We cannot wait to go back again!

Room Tip: Go for the Penthouse. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We arrived on a Friday and checked in at one desk where we were quickly greeted by polite and helpful staff. After checking in there you get pawned off to another desk to get your parking pass. This is just a way to pass you off to the timeshare staff who will entice you to attend a timeshare presentation with the promise of a $100 Visa gift card; so we decided to go to the presentation. We attended the next morning, listened for 1.5 hours, but in the end there was no real pressure to buy (which made me very happy.) We received the gift card with no questions asked.

We had a bottom unit and, besides a little noise from footsteps upstairs, never really heard our neighbors. Since it was January, the units were not full.

The kitchen is well stocked with crockery, but like a lot of time shares they fill the cabinets with cooking utensils and don't give you room for groceries. There was even a blender in addition to a toaster, dishwasher, microwave and glass cooktop range.

The living room looked over the golf course (ask for a golf course view because that's the only view in the project.) There was a nice sized balcony but we didn't use it (temps varied from 32 degrees to 58 degrees.) The dining table was a little too close to the breakfast bar which seats two, but we managed by making sure the chairs were all scooted in.

The bathroom comes with everything except shampoo and conditioner. It has a hair dryer. The toilet/shower is separate from the sink area so that someone can be getting ready while the other uses the toilet/shower.

The bedroom (we had a 1 bedroom) had a five foot closet, a cabinet with a small but adequate flat screen television and drawers for clothes. There are two night tables with two lamps. Even with the two lamps and an overhead light, it was still a little dark in the room. There is an apartment sized washer/dryer. You are given two packets of soap for washing clothes.

The living room is large with a sofa, coffee table and flat screen television. There is also a nice stereo for listening to music. The only down side about the accommodations in the unit was that the shower would go from hot to cold and cold to hot while you were in it. I reported it to the desk and they said that they would check it. The only other complaint I have is that normally the internet/ wifi costs money. I think the wifi should be free and it always upsets me when I have to pay for what is now an important utility in our lives. However, having said that, for some reason I was able to log on without any requirement to pay.

There were two pools and a very large Jacuzzi, all outdoors, that we did not use but looked great. People did use the jacuzzi during winter. There is also a large community room and a workout room with several treadmills, ellipticals and one stationary bike.

There are grocery stores within a few miles (not within walking distance) and a restaurant at the golf course (which was closed the entire time we were there.) My husband played golf and said that it was a wet course during the winter. It frequently gets frost so there may be frost delays.

Everything was clean and while we were there they were doing some major remodeling of some of the buildings. I'd be interested in seeing what they do to the project! We had to request more toilet paper and it was brought right away.

We spent our time traveling around the area and actually spent a night in Yosemite at the Yosemite Lodge. It is normally about 1 3/4 hour to Yosemite through Groveland (Hwy 120), but we wanted to avoid putting on chains, so we entered the park on Hwy 140 through El Portal which is lower and sometimes does not require chains when the Groveland entrance does. You must carry chains in the car at all times during winter in Yosemite. We did some wonderful snow hiking and ate brunch at the Ahwahnee. In addition to our trip to Yosemite, we went on a free snowshoeing hike (2hours) at Calaveras Big Trees State Park about 40 minutes from WorldMark. We really enjoyed that...it has so many Sequoias that it is worth the trip. Get there early to put your name down on the tour's list. They only have about thirty pairs of snowshoes for adults and children and it is a first come first serve basis for distribution of the shoes.

If you don't have kids with you, a day trip to Murphys to go through the boutique stores and wine tasting rooms is a must and a lot of fun. Most of the wine tasting was free, two places charged $5. Remember to tell them that you are staying at WorldMark because you usually get a 10% discount on wine and goods. We looked up events and discovered that for $20 you could join a wine alliance group for wine tasting and a wine lecture at Murphys Hotel. So check for events in the area before you go.

Columbia, an old mining town, was fun to go through and the owners of the shops/restaurants all dress up as if they are from the mining period. The tea shop is a great place for lunch and snacks as is the saloon (we had a bowl of chili and it was delicious.) Try the Sarsparilla offered at the saloon and grocery stores. The ingredients are made in Columbia. It's very good (tastes a lot like root beer but better.)

During January the weather was changing every minute. We ran into sunshine, frost, ice, snow, hail and rain, depending on the day. So take layers and remember your ABC's when you are in the snow or cold --Anything But Cotton. Cotton doesn't dry out fast enough and you can stay cold in cotton.

Room Tip: Get a unit with a view of the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank KBrogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Great location in the heart of old Gold Country. There are a lot of outdoor activities nearby (Yosemite, golfing, fishing, exploring caverns and old ghost towns. The staff is very helpful and the rooms were in good and clean condition. If you are going in the winter, the central heating in our unit was pretty loud, if you are a sensitive sleeper you might want to bring ear plugs. The staff did mention the resort is undergoing a re-model, so this should hopefully fix the issue.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lemwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We come here two or three times a year It's close & an easy drive. The resort is very spacious,clean,and most of the time very quiet.The staff are always great & very helpful in what ever you may need.We come here to just relax and get away from all our animals.A great place to just do nothing.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angels Camp
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
7.0 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
212 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
416 reviews
18.0 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
#3 of 5 in Angels Camp
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark Angels Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark Angels Camp

Address: 123 Selkirk Ranch Rd, Angels Camp, CA 95222-9593
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Angels Camp
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Price Range: $111 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WorldMark Angels Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your WorldMark Angels Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark Angels Camp Hotel Angels Camp
Worldmark Hotel Angels Camp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing