We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably best in town, but not quite a "suite"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, CA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Probably best in town, but not quite a "suite"”
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Stayed in Angels Camp so we could play in the snow parks up Hwy 4. Was traveling with my wife and 3 year old son.
The place was clean and modern, sort of like a mini embassy. I booked the King Suite for $85/night which was a deal. The room was big, but not a suite in the sense of an Embassy or Homewood. Basically just a long wide room with a dividing half-wall in the middle. No kitchenette. The description and pictures sort of lead you to believe it was more. But it was adequate for us. Walls are a bit thin so hope that you don't have a noisy neighbor.
Service from front desk folks was a little cold. Luckily we didn't have any problems that would have required alot of interaction with them.
The king bed was kind of broken in the right side, bending toward the floor. They have a fold out couch.
NOTE: the breakfast, or breakfast bar, was nothing to get excited about. basically fridge food and weak coffee. I'd go down the street and find a diner.
Location is great, right off the 4/49 intersection. Next time I think we will stay in dorrington as the drive from angels camp to the snow was a bit longer than we thought (1hour, maybe more). Again the whole idea of getting a "suite" for $85 sort of lured us there because of having the room for the kid.
Ate at Rodz diner south of the hotel on 49/Main. Nothing special, but decent food and very kid friendly.
If you are concerned about just having a clean, modern and relatively cheap place to stay the night, Cedar Inn would be the best choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiatripper86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    158
    40
    9
    6
See reviews for
139
156
18
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2011

The hotel and the room were very clean and big. The breakfast was also good, but they were not kid friendly. they complain three times about our children making too much noise. our room was located above the lobby and nobody was on top. all night we had to yell at our children not to walk so fast.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vogb8505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed in the mini-suite and it was wonderful. The fireplace was beautiful. Breakfast was tasty and the staff was terrific!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, england
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed one night in July. Good sized, clean room with large and very comfortable bed. Quite quiet with little road noise. Helpful staff. Breakfast buffet was basic but OK, although there isn't much space in the lobby for guests to eat breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Be prepared and carry a pair of earplugs with you, or otherwise you might not be able to get any decent shuteye. The fridge makes a lot of noise and it's located right next to your bed. Although it's adjustable, the noise won't go away. You might wanna consider not having any items to be put in cold so you could shut down the thing completely.
Anyway, with earplugs inserted, i had a good nights sleep. Griping aside, (and that is my only gripe) the location of the hotel is good and there's parking space available around it. If you're planning to visit the Sierras, you should consider making this hotel as your base camp.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexxie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Motel was clean, rooms were nice, not huge but good size for four people. Our room backed up to a fence. Some people had balconies or small patios (enough room for a table and two chairs). TV had Audio and Video input jacks and the ability to switch to watch DVDs when you attached a portable dvd player. (always a plus for us). Second sink outside of bathroom. Microwave and tiny refrigerator, however the freezer in the fridge was minuscule and while what was in the freezing compartment did not freeze, what was on the outside next to it did freeze. We made due as it was still better than nothing. Close to Save-Mart (groceries at a decent price) and Rite-Aid. Also KFC, Taco Bell and Burger King, as well as Mike's Pizza. Staff was very nice.

Breakfast was not well maintained, but there was (at some time during the breakfast, not when I was there) orange juice, apple juice, bread, toaster waffles, yogurt, muffins cut in half, and what I think was a processed egg patty. We opted for fresh fruit at the nearby Save-Mart. I also wondered how long the hard boiled eggs had been in the refrigeration unit. Pool over chlorinated. Some kid sounded like he/she was playing basketball in the room upstairs from us, but no sound from side to side at all! Price was high for what we got, but there is little choice in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ghostwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka,CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

I agree with most of the reviews, from the perspective of a guest who can walk. If someone in your party is in a wheelchair, please read on. My mother, who is wheelchair bound, and I stayed at this motel. The rooms themselves are very accessible with large, modern, well-equipped bathrooms, accessible clothes rack and refrig, even the extra chair at the desk had been removed so one could wheel right up to it without trying to move a chair out of the way if traveling alone.

The problem was check-in and the breakfast room. This motel is situated on a rather steeply sloped hill. There is only one car-sized pullout that is level with the registration office. If someone is parked there, you cannot get into the office if you are wheelchair bound. The breakfast room adjoins the office at the same level. The rooms are up the hill above the office and breakfast room.The only way to access both the office and the breakfast room from your room if you are in a wheelchair is to get into your car, drive to that one spot (reserved for people checking in and out?), park, eat, get back in your car and drive back uphill to go back to your room. Able bodied people access the breakfast room by descending a long set of stairs from the room level down to the office area. No elevators! How did they ever get this approved?!

The only other problem we had with an otherwise lovely stay in this new, well appointed, delightful motel, with its own patio edged in pampered rose bushes, was the breakfast. Best not to plan on eating it at all if you want more than dry cereal and the poorest quality bread, bagels and other baked goods available. Breakfast is served from 7:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. At 8:30 a.m. (just 1/2 way into the breakfast period), all the bananas and instant oatmeal packets were gone. I asked if they had more to replenish the breakfast bar with and the staff person told me no. The breakfast area quickly becomes messy, with crumbs and spills, etc., and it seems the staff's' procedure is to just wait until breakfast is all over to clean up. it was not very inviting and was quite crowded together- difficult to get to the food bar when people are sitting at the tables next to it.

I explained to the staff that I could not get my mother down the stairs to breakfast and requested a tray to take a breakfast to her. They had none, but did provide me an improvised solution- a tray-like basket for holding bread.

If you do not care about the breakfast and you do not have someone wheelchair bound in your party, I would otherwise highly recommend this motel. Really.

We paid about $100/night, which I thought a little high for the rural location in off season, and the extremely poor quality breakfast, but it does seem to be in line with other rates charged in the area that I checked.

Happy travels to Angels Camp - and don't miss Ironstone Winery if you are going there in the spring even if you don't drink wine. The flowers are incredible!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angels Camp
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
6.5 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
207 reviews
0.5 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
400 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort, a VRI resort
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
Travelodge Angels Camp CA
#3 of 5 in Angels Camp
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Address: 444 S Main St, Angels Camp, CA 95222-9328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Angels Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Angels Camp hotel is central to California's historic gold country, with easy access to the Bear Valley Ski Resort. Situated in the heart of Angels Camp, the full-service BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites is convenient to gold rush towns, museums, wineries, galleries, antique shops and Giant Sequoia forest. Nearby activities include golf, skiing, whitewater rafting, boating, fishing, horseback riding and hiking. Guests can choose a well-appointed balcony room with fireplace, or a two-room suite with in-room spa--each room featuring satellite television with free HBO®, high-speed Internet access and mini-refrigerator. The hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast, outdoor pool & spa, exercise facility and guest laundry room. Pets are welcome; must call hotel directly to book pet friendly rooms. The BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites is a short drive from the Moaning Caverns and Mercer Caverns, both offering guided tours and gold panning. Other nearby attractions include Angels Camp Museum, Columbia State Historic Park, Calaveras Big Trees State Park and the Bear Valley Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Cedar Hotel Angels Camp
Best Western Angels Camp
Best Western Cedar Hotel
Angels Camp Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing