We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Spiffy' little place with a nice hot tub.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“'Spiffy' little place with a nice hot tub.”
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This was a nice, clean newer hotel with friendly employees. The AAA price was good and the location is well suited for tourists roaming the 'Gold Country'. The pool is not heated year round, but the hot tub is.

Room Tip: We used AAA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1947-FORD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    156
    38
    9
    5
See reviews for
131
154
16
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

There's not a lot of choice in Angels Camp/Murphys/Arnold if you have a pet, so we were glad that this place allowed pets. We got a room at the back of the hotel with 2 queen beds. I read someone's review that that was the worst room in the hotel, but we thought it was fine. We could park our car close to the entry and thus didn't need to schlep our things far or up stairs or anything. The room was extremely clean and very comfortable. I only wish the front lobby would open before 7AM on a Sunday (when we left).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Me and my honey have been wanting to tour via road trip this part of California for a while. I had researched to death where to stay on the way to Yosemite and decided this hotel would be the nicest we could likely find and bring our $1500 Silky Terrier Landon.
9 lbs and perfectly behaved. I knew the place was pet friendly so despite not having a resv. we walked in on a Monday afternoon (late) and asked for a jacuzzi room of some sort. Now after looking at every room in the hotel via the website, I knew there was a 2 room suite with a fireplace & jacuzzi for around $160 which includes our AAA discount. When I asked about this room another gentleman pops in from another area and says we don't have a room like that, and adds and we never have. Smiles/grins, I don't know about you but it always annoys me when someone seems to take pleasure in disappointing you in a customer service position. Alright I said I was just going off what your website descibes, so than can we just have a King room with a jacuzzi? Skip the suite since all I wanted was the spa anyway. He quotes $116 and we accept. After taking the usual basic info, DL, AAA card BW gold member card ect he asks about Landon. We advise yes he will be staying with us and are aware of the $15 pet fee. He then advises that we can only have the worst room in the hotel a double queen. I looked to the parking lot and there was virtually 1 car in the entire lot. In addition this place while in the center of Angels Camp is not exactly ideally located. It looks very much like a run down motel and nothing like the pretty country side pics that are posted on the website. Already irritated at this point once again this duo seemed to be doing thier best to deter us from staying here all together. None of the info delivered while I understand was certainly hotel policy was delivered in a kind or even matter of fact demeanor. It was very borderline condesending and definately rude to say the least. I asked was he sure there was nothing he could do since it was late and the hotel was abandoned which he agreed it was but nope he couldn't bend the rules. We left walking past the one room that was being occupied by an oversized, shoeless ciggarette smoking loud cell phone talking patron and were glad to move on to the next town no matter how far it was. We stayed in Sonora at the Best Western Sonora Inn & Conference center and are SO glad we did! See my review of that lovely hotel.....although we didn't stay here I will tell you one bad/rude treatment is all it takes to completely ruin a hotels first impression and reputation. I realize Angel's Camp is not a glamorous town by any means but it certainly must rely on tourism considering it's very remote location. A sound staff and some cleaning would do this place a world of good, there really isn't anywhere else to stay here as it is.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hawaiiluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trav4bus, General Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2012
Person was not a "guest". We tried to be nice but they refused to accept/understand that few rooms accept pets regardless of how full we are. Frustration over pet policy caused horrible review. We could not have the overall rating we have if we ran the hotel like this. Giving people who are not guests of the hotel the opportunity to slander is not fair. We are rated #1 for a reason and having a person who never stayed drag down our score is hard to swallow. It should be removed. Thanks for your consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Stayed in Angels Camp so we could play in the snow parks up Hwy 4. Was traveling with my wife and 3 year old son.
The place was clean and modern, sort of like a mini embassy. I booked the King Suite for $85/night which was a deal. The room was big, but not a suite in the sense of an Embassy or Homewood. Basically just a long wide room with a dividing half-wall in the middle. No kitchenette. The description and pictures sort of lead you to believe it was more. But it was adequate for us. Walls are a bit thin so hope that you don't have a noisy neighbor.
Service from front desk folks was a little cold. Luckily we didn't have any problems that would have required alot of interaction with them.
The king bed was kind of broken in the right side, bending toward the floor. They have a fold out couch.
NOTE: the breakfast, or breakfast bar, was nothing to get excited about. basically fridge food and weak coffee. I'd go down the street and find a diner.
Location is great, right off the 4/49 intersection. Next time I think we will stay in dorrington as the drive from angels camp to the snow was a bit longer than we thought (1hour, maybe more). Again the whole idea of getting a "suite" for $85 sort of lured us there because of having the room for the kid.
Ate at Rodz diner south of the hotel on 49/Main. Nothing special, but decent food and very kid friendly.
If you are concerned about just having a clean, modern and relatively cheap place to stay the night, Cedar Inn would be the best choice.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank californiatripper86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2011

The hotel and the room were very clean and big. The breakfast was also good, but they were not kid friendly. they complain three times about our children making too much noise. our room was located above the lobby and nobody was on top. all night we had to yell at our children not to walk so fast.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vogb8505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed in the mini-suite and it was wonderful. The fireplace was beautiful. Breakfast was tasty and the staff was terrific!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marisaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Stayed one night in July. Good sized, clean room with large and very comfortable bed. Quite quiet with little road noise. Helpful staff. Breakfast buffet was basic but OK, although there isn't much space in the lobby for guests to eat breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angels Camp
13.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Sonora Oaks Hotel & Conference Center
6.5 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
196 reviews
0.5 mi away
WorldMark Angels Camp
WorldMark Angels Camp
#2 of 5 in Angels Camp
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Gunn House Hotel
Gunn House Hotel
#2 of 8 in Sonora
387 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
11.1 mi away
Jamestown Hotel
Jamestown Hotel
#1 of 5 in Jamestown
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Address: 444 S Main St, Angels Camp, CA 95222-9328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Angels Camp
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Angels Camp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Angels Camp hotel is central to California's historic gold country, with easy access to the Bear Valley Ski Resort. Situated in the heart of Angels Camp, the full-service BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites is convenient to gold rush towns, museums, wineries, galleries, antique shops and Giant Sequoia forest. Nearby activities include golf, skiing, whitewater rafting, boating, fishing, horseback riding and hiking. Guests can choose a well-appointed balcony room with fireplace, or a two-room suite with in-room spa--each room featuring satellite television with free HBO®, high-speed Internet access and mini-refrigerator. The hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast, outdoor pool & spa, exercise facility and guest laundry room. Pets are welcome; must call hotel directly to book pet friendly rooms. The BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites is a short drive from the Moaning Caverns and Mercer Caverns, both offering guided tours and gold panning. Other nearby attractions include Angels Camp Museum, Columbia State Historic Park, Calaveras Big Trees State Park and the Bear Valley Ski Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cedar Hotel Angels Camp
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn And Suites
Best Western Angels Camp
Best Western Cedar Hotel
Angels Camp Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing