We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and relaxing - we'll visit there again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
GreenLeadersGold level
California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean and relaxing - we'll visit there again”
Reviewed January 21, 2010

Although this hotel has subtle signage, we found it in the fog and checked in easily, even though our reservation couldn't be found. When we entered the room, I felt a huge sigh of relief and pleasure: no odors of cleaning or paint and an absolutely luxurious bed. We had a great night's rest, and want to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    124
    74
    26
    21
See reviews for
127
161
27
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

Gaia Hotels advertise themselves as "pet friendly", however they charge an outrageous additional $25 per night for pets. We stay at many pet friendly hotels nicer than Gaia, and the normal charge is $10 per night - or nothing at all unless there is damage caused by the pet. Also, there is no heat in the bathroom, which is very cold in December. Taking a shower or dressing in an ice cold bathroom is not pleasant. The only heat comes from a single source at the far end of the bedroom. The breakfast in the hotel's restaurant (not included in room price) is also far under par.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed here overnight on our way to Oregon and found it to be a wonderful find. Katie at the front desk was wonderful and even though we were situated next to the freeway we never heard the loud traffic sounds you would expect. The rooms are typical of a 4 star hotel and knowing that it's green, makes it even better! We didn't have a chance to test out the saline pool or the restaurant next door but will definitely stay here again and have suggested it to our friends who will be traveling down the I-5 corridor.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

Hotel is nice, room is spacious and clean, and green features are commendable... but DEMAND a room away from the freeway. I've been here two nights and the noise of the CONSTANT traffic on I-5, plus the occasional train and plane noises have made it the worst stay I've experienced in any hotel. (The hotel was completely booked with 2 bus-loads of tourists so I could not change room.) So at 6AM, I'm packed and ready to check out to go home for a good night's sleep. Would not recommend this hotel based on my experience, but perhaps another, quieter room would change my recommendation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tez1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose ca
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2009

we went to the redding, ca area to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. we stayed at the gaia resort and hotel during our stay in the area. we booked it based on the reviews we read. truth be told, it was what we expected and more. considering it was next to the highway, the area was quiet. plenty of amenities like pool, spa, restaurant. the restaurant is excellent, service was good and menu prices were reasonable. we ate their multiple time during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelsonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, ca
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2009

we enjoyed our stay in this hotel. staff were very helpful and it quiet even though it is located right by the freeway. the restaurant on site serves quality food for a good price. we're definitely going to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecenguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2009

The hotel is not too lavish, but small and nice. I appreciate the effort to conserve energy by the hotel with different features (e.g. energy saving light bulbs, nature celing light in the bathroom). Each room even has 3 small garbage bins for recycling! My kids love seeing the 4 beautiful swans (2 blacks and 2 white) in the pond every morning. The breakfast at the adjacent restaurant, Woodside Grill is pretty good, though I wish they included some hot breakfast items in addition to toast, bagel, cereals. We dined at the Woodside Grill for dinner 2 times during our 3 night stay there and the food was excellent.

The only bad comment I can say about this hotel is the water in the shower is not hot enough for me even though I turned it to the max. I complained it to the front desk but they haven't done anything. I think this is another mean to conserve energy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissionFremont_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anderson
11.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
8.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
8.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#13 of 36 in Redding
576 reviews
11.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#11 of 36 in Redding
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 4125 Riverside Pl, Anderson, CA 96007-2774 (Formerly Gaia Shasta Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Anderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel Anderson
Anderson Gaia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing