We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
Reviewed September 2, 2009

After a long 6 hour drive, it was a perfect way to end the day! The lobby was decorated in calm green, quiet background music and lemon water awaited us while we registered in.

The rooms were very spacious, clean and modern. The free organic breakfast was a bonus! We will definitely come back the next time we are in the area.

The only downside is the location for restaurants - about a 15 minute drive back to Redding but hey, enjoy the scenary!

Fitness center was good. Excellent equipment.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family4Vancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    122
    72
    25
    21
See reviews for
126
157
28
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2009

After a full day of traveling with a dog, it was getting late and we happened upon the Gaia Hotel by pure chance. We were surprised by the value for the quality. The bed was excellent, the room was clean and pleasant, the staff was very friendly, the grounds were attractively landscaped with native plants and the organic continental breakfast was much nicer than we had dreamed. We were surprised that a hotel with such a green consciousness wasn't more expensive or wasn't odd in some uncomfortable way. Plus, the novelty of staying in a place where the complimentary reading material included Al Gore's "An Inconvenient Truth" was really refreshing and fun.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasharksea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Being very environmentally conscious, we were so happy to have found this hotel!! I almost had tears in my eyes as I read about it on their website. My husband thought it was too good to be true, Well..... it is true. It is what EVERY hotel should be. To begin with the hotel rooms are smoke free! You can smell the difference the second you walk in. They made us sign an agreement that we would not smoke. The beds are incredibly comfortable. They have low flush toilets, low flow showerheads, which are nothing to be worried about. The water comes out strong and perfectly. The solar tube in the bathroom keeps you from having to turn on the lights. The room decor was very beautiful. We loved the large flat screen mounted into the wall.

My daughter has such sensitive skin that usually makes it painful to swim in hotel pools, but not this one :) it has saline water! Such a delight.

The organic restaurant was a HUGE plus for us. The free breakfast was great. Fruit, Yogurt, cereals, muffins, bagels, juices & coffee. All organic! You could also purchase from the menu if you wish. Since we had a long drive ahead of us we ordered an omelet and pancakes. My ONLY complaint about the restaurant is that they do not have many vegetarian options in their lunch/dinner menu. We had the portobello burgers, which were delicious. But if we had stayed for more than 1 night it would be nice to have a few choices.

The staff seems happy and knows they are part of a great thing.

I do have 1 overall complaint though. I intend to contact the hotel about this. I saw several people sitting on their decks, in front of their screen door to their room, smoking. If they truly intend to keep the rooms smoke free they should consider keeping the entire property smoke free. Our pool time was interrupted by an employee smoking near the pool and had to deal with her smoke for about 10 minutes.

Other than that, the hotel was wonderful, beautiful setting and we plan to stay there again on our trips from SoCal to Oregon.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GsMamaLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2009

The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The environment is very beautiful and soothing with its pond and sand decks. Inside, the rooms are comfortable and spacious. Gaia is a place we would highly recommend to people.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2009

This really isn't a hotel where you stay more than one day, like we did. Space in and around the hotel not utilized properly--not enough furniture in the room for example, no benches around the swan lake, too little chairs at the pool. Be prepared to pay for a decent meal--the "green" breakfast is all carbs. But you cannot beat the location, close enough to Redding to be away from downtown.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KriderGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Gaia Hotel served our local youth group very well. They were extremely amiable and hospitable towards our group of 40+ needs. I am thankful for their service and their minds to preserve the environment as well.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrodaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Our trip to Redding was made all the more wonderful at Gaia.

The staff were friendly and courteous, and the service they provided went beyond our expectations. Hearing cheerful voices from the breakfast workers is definitely a pleasant way to start the day.

From the window of my room (which included a refrigerator and a microwave), I had a great view of a very naturally relaxing pond, surrounded by plants, inhabited by swans and fish, and complete with a bridge.

This hotel also went to great extents to be eco-friendly. From toilets with wet/solid flush to skylights to cups made of recycled material, everything done was with good conscience that energy and resources weren't being wasted.

A few additional things include chilled lemonade in the lobby and free wi-fi.

And yeah.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thunderty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anderson
11.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
8.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#3 of 36 in Redding
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Anderson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 4125 Riverside Pl, Anderson, CA 96007-2774 (Formerly Gaia Shasta Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Anderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel Anderson
Anderson Gaia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing