We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced! and not that cool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 21, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our recent vacation in Oregon and Northern California. I don't know what I expected, but this wasn't it. The staff was okay, although they checked us into a handicapped room with a busted screen and only 1 small mirror with no bathroom vanity, only a sink! That was not what I'd paid for! They quickly moved us to another room.

The room itself was spacious, painted in cool greens and neutral colors. The bed was good and the linens were nice. The room only had a small side chair and ottoman, so it seemed too big for the furniture. There was a flat screen TV on one wall, which was a distance from the bed. There was no mirror in the bedroom itself.

We had also requested a refrigerator for the room. We had to call the front twice before it was brought over. There was an ironing board but no iron. The bathroom was nice, although the toliet paper was VERY thin and rough. The towels were also thin. The lighting was minimal. There are recycle boxes for use as well. The hotel has a small, but adequate workout room and the pool looked nice.

I realize this is an Eco hotel and is very new. The hotel will be lovely once the landscaping is established and they work the bugs out to the service. I didn't feel it was worth the cost that I paid for this room. I wouldn't stay here again.

One very bright spot... we ate at "Woodside" the restaurant in the hotel and it was EXCELLENT. Great service and wonderful food with a romantic atmosphere. It was also reasonably priced. I highly recommend Woodside!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

419 - 425 of 440 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2009

The hotel is very convenient and easy to get to. Rooms are nice. The atmosphere is relaxing. Continental breakfast was included. We stayed there on our way from Lake Tahoe to Oregon and again on our back through going to Reno.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlabamaViolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

A little hard to find. Our GPS took us to some other town street but just call front desk for assistance. Online pictures doesn't do justice but it's a very nice hotel. Setup of hotel is a little different but does not take away how nice the experience was. Little did I know that this hotel was "Green". Room was clean, spacious and quiet. Nice view of pond with real swans. Great continental breakfast with a choice of organic fruits and juices. Staff was nice. So if you're into going "green", try this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjsf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We were well received and check-in was a breeze. Hotel is brand new and the rooms were spacious, clean and well furnished. The beds were great, specially the pillows.
Flat screen and ceramic mugs/real glasses. Breakfast has variety with muffins, cereal, toast, coffee, tea, yogurt, bananas,fruit. Eggs/meat were extra charge.
Large koi pond and swimming pool/spa.
Checkout and service was very professional and warm.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ghumnewala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

I stayed at Gaia Hotel for two nights while attending a conference in the area. I dined at the hotel restaurant, Woodside Grill, for the convenience, not expecting fabulous food, reasonably priced, and good portions. The first night I had a heaping, fresh-as-can-be Ahi Tuna Salad. It was a huge portion of fish, tenderly seared, on top of fresh mixed greens, all for $13. I had to go back and the next night had two delicious appetizers, a platter of fresh sashimi and a plate of fresh organic tomatoes, grilled eggplant, and mozzarella.

If you're a guest, the free continental breakfast is amazing, too. Lots of healthy yet delicious items are offered like muffins, scones, fruit. My favorite was their blueberry muffin and the assortment of Kashi cereals offered.

Stay here for the delicious and healthy food. All of the ecological benefits are an added plus!

Also, if you stay at the hotel, the second floor rooms offer more privacy (I guess this is true of any hotel).

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamfchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2009

Traveling South on I-5 from Oregon, one isn't inundated with inspiring ideas for an overnight stay, so when we saw a sign from the highway promising "America's most 'Green' hotel", we were intrigued.
Everything about the GAIA looks good, from the lobby furnished in earth tones, to the welcome fireplace alongside a well-stocked library, to the clean lines of the warm-toned timbers adorning the wagon-wheel-shaped building construction.
Check in was easy and rates extremely reasonable for the quality of materials and accouterments here-- $62 a night-- probably less than a Motel 6 these days.
The room did not disappoint in terms of high quality mattress and comfortable bedding, the bathroom offered good soaps and lotions, eco-logically presented in large pump bottles or dispensers, rather than wasteful, individual plastic bottles.

Our room had a coffee maker and individual plastic coffee gizmos to fill with a tea bag-like sac filled with individual sized coffee for brewing. What didn't exactly follow in the eco-theme, was the disposable plastic drawers used in the coffee maker, and the plastic bags filled with individually wrapped sugars, powdered creamer (ugh!), plastic stirrers, etc.

While one should give kudos for GAIA supplying recycling bins, (there were two separate ones), we were confused about using them, since there was no notification listed, nor signs posted about which bin was for what, and what trash should be thrown into the bathroom garbage.

Curious, also, was a place touting itself as so ecologically minded without any guidance or admonishment about how to conserve on room air conditioning, and even more importantly about what must be a tremendous amount of evaporation/waste to keep the many outdoor ponds filled with clean, fresh water for the pleasure of the four (two black, two white) Swans in captivity in the scorching outdoor temperatures.

One irritant of a personal nature was the touting of free-wifi service, when in reality, the wifi (although it existed) connection was so tenuous, I was unable to actually get online for more than a second at a time.

Other than our confusion about lack of information about what makes GAIA so eco-friendly (other than LEEP approval and water-conserving toilets), we were quite disappointed by the outrageously terrible service in the adjacent restaurant, which, while it had great culinary potential, was really just a dressed up place not ready for prime time. Certain things were quite confusing, such as why the restaurant would serve cream for coffee in individually-wrapped plastic cups, or why the "full breakfast" would only feature starchy white-flour bagels, refined flour breads, and absolutely no protein. Call it a "Continental Breakfast" if that's what it is, but don't call it a full breakfast if there's no hot food. Either way, if one doesn't mind a blood sugar crash a few hours later, this is a nice offer of "free" breakfast with the room.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Babypix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2009

My family and I loved this hotel. We will be back next time we are traveling on I-5. Check in was easy and fast. The bed was comfy and the shower was great. If you are staying more than one night, keep in mind that they have a refrigerator and a microwave in the room. The flat screen was a plus.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripandfun3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anderson
8.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,379 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
11.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
8.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#14 of 37 in Redding
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 4125 Riverside Pl, Anderson, CA 96007-2774 (Formerly Gaia Shasta Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Anderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
Price Range: $100 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel Anderson
Anderson Gaia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing