We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is our third stay here this year and we seem to enjoy it more each time. We were here for 5 nights on a business trip. The room has everything we need. We always ask for a room on the ground floor so we can sit right outside our room and enjoy the beautiful setting. The beds are so comfortable and we always sleep so good here. This is one of our favorite hotels to stay at and will always stay here when we are in the area. The staff is very nice and always helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you so much for giving us your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 444 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

So this was a strange hotel/spa. It has the potential to be a real high end place but it looks as if budget woes or owner indifference has fallen by the wayside. The rooms are nice and the architecture beautiful - but nobody has tended the landscaping in some time and the grounds are full of weeds. I found it interesting that they were painting the on-site restaurant when that money would have been much better spend paying someone to give the grounds a once over. There was a beautiful wine barrel outside our door that was designated for recycle but someone had written on it in sharpy (in super poor penmanship)"Recycle cans and bottles here" - Pretty darn tacky. The pool was small but nice.
Customer service was also lacking - We asked for a menu for the on-site restaurant and they told us that nobody was around to bring us on (it was 7pm). Also, they had no premium cable or even a tv guide (or knowledge of which channel displayed the cable listings) so in the evening there wash';t much of a choice for our kiddos to watch. Also, no pay-per-view and no dvd players available for rent or to check out. Housekeeping did not replace our coffee (that just doesn't work with my family) HOWEVER, the place costs $100/nt which, for the accommodations, I felt a fair value. The onsite restaurant had a good selection and the place was classy - but the service left a lot to be desired. Breakfast there was a marathon wait for service and food - and it was not busy. Our waitress forgot half of the things we asked for. Maybe it was just a poor waitress but our dinner experience there really didn't have much better service. I would definitely stay in this place again. But the thought of anyone booking the Gaia for their spa experience is a little laughable. The y have no elevator (which is hardly a deal breaker for us) but if you have physical limitations you might want to book a 1st floor room

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear Mary,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on tripadvisor. I would like apologize on behalf the team on how your stay was with us. I will personally talk to the heads of departments about your stay with us and how we can make sure that this never happens again in the future. Soon after the painting is done we will start our next stage of development which will include all of the landscaping being redone on the grounds of the hotel.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with our hotel, we enjoyed having you as our guest and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at the Gaia Hotel and Spa at the beginning of May while on a trip to Oregon. As previous reviewers stated, this is a two story hotel with no elevator. We had a room on the second floor with a view of the fountain. The room was large, clean, quiet and comfortable. The bed and sheets were very comfy. After getting cleaned up, we ate dinner at the hotel restaurant. They had a great menu and service. We will definitely stay here again when in the area. I will suggest the hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: This is a two story hotel with no elevator. If stairs are an issue for you, be sure to request a 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beasley33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time and giving us your feedback and rating us. We are so ecstatic you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is right on I5 so we were concerned it would be a noisy stay. We were delighted to find maybe the most quiet hotel room we've stayed in. We chose a room overlooking the water feature on the second floor. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable. Be warned there is no elevator so if you have mobility issues you will be staying on the first floor. Even though there was a conference going on in the meeting room across the yard, the vibe was decidedly peaceful. The wi-fi was good. Breakfast in the adjoining restaurant was a nice buffet but overpriced at around $16 so we chose a different restaurant in Redding the next morning. (Hence the deduction of one star.). We would definitely stay here again, a good bargain for the quiet and comfort.

Room Tip: Choose second floor, facing the water feature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review about your stay with us. Our location puts us in quick access to the freeway but we set far enough away to not pick up all the freeway noise like other hotels in the area. We are looking forward to your future stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We returned to Anderson for the funeral of a close relative. From the moment we a arrived, the Gaia staff to a person made us feel welcome in kind, considerate and cordial ways. The rooms are efficient with clean lines, comfortable beds and a fairly quiet environment. It's located conveniently near Interstate 5, but we heard very little traffic sound. The grounds were well-maintained and the restaurant offered a varieties menu at average prices. We plan to return there when we next visit Reddng

Stayed: May 2014
Thank ursourco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and giving us your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. On behalf of our entire team we want to say sorry for your loss. We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The good:
Amazing king size bed, very comfortable.
pet friendly
nice grounds
The bad:
TV wouldn't turn on.
Staff's attitude

We checked in late one night stopping for a night of sleep during a long drive. Check in went fine. Had a little trouble finding which building our room was in. Not much signage that we saw, but it was dark. TV would not turn on or stay on. I just wanted a little down time watching tv after a long drive. Then at approx. 2:15am the phone rang, ignored it. It rang again at 2:27am. It was a wake up call. We NEVER asked for a wake up call! Breakfast was good.
Check out was not good. When we told the desk clerk that the TV didn't work, she said "you have to make sure its on channel 3 and jiggle the cables sometimes"
When we said we got to wrong wake up calls in the middle of the night her response was "sorry' and a shrug, she just let it go. It was barely an apology.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you so much for giving us your feedback. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I have passed on your comments about the customer service you did not receive to my front desk manager to ensure situations like this does not happen in the future. I also let my engineer manager know about the television issues you had so he can fix it. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Most amazing bed ever! Originally we were put in a room next to a really barky dog that the owners left alone in their room. The staff was super courteous and gave us a new room without any problems. the room was spotless. We love this strange oasis!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Thank you so much for leaving your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay. Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anderson
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
11.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
8 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
11.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#11 of 37 in Redding
188 reviews
9.8 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#6 of 37 in Redding
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 4125 Riverside Pl, Anderson, CA 96007-2774 (Formerly Gaia Shasta Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Anderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
Price Range: $94 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel Anderson
Anderson Gaia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing