We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it at this Hotel. I would stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Very nice hotel. WE had a patio facing the water pond and fountain. So pretty. We also used the pool and the hot tub. Both were nice. They have a nice work station that two can use comfortably. Nice beds and linens. They had a microwave. There is also a restaurant right on the site. We didn't eat there, but it looked nice. This hotel is about 7 miles from Redding, CA. Easy access to the freeway, but it was not noisy. Nice lobby with coffee in the morning. There is no free breakfast however, like most Choice hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erica c, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience during your recent visit with us at the Gaia Hotel & Spa. Your comment will be shared with our team and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 440 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Whoever built the Gaia Hotel and Spa had some very specific aesthetic ideas. The buildings that the guest rooms are locataed in are round and surround a central pond area. The landscaped space is quite nice though this design means some rooms are a considerable walk from the lobby.

The design also creates the feel of a motel rather than a hotel even though the property offers hotel like amenities including a restaurant and a spa.

While the exterior design was very intentional, the room interiors felt like an afterthought. The beds were basic hotel models and harder than I prefer.

Service was very good and the food in the restaurant was good as well though pricey.

In the end, the Gaia tries hard to bridge the middle ground between a hotel and a motel with a quirky, earthy layout and mostly succeeds. If only as much thought had gone into the interior spaces this could really be an exceptional place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erica c, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay, which will be shared with our team. I am sorry that the guest room was a little disappointing for you and we will take this into consideration during our next renovation.

We value your patronage and hope you will visit us when you are in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

What a surprise. Stayed at Gaia this week instead of staying in Redding. Big rooms, food in the restaurant good! Love the trails and greenness of the place, like staying at a mini resort. I will be back!

Room Tip: Pick the rooms that face the lagoon with a patio. Woke up to paradise, swans, water fountain, nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRVL5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

We here at the Gaia wanted to thank you for your comments. Your business is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stopped here on our way home from Palm Springs, based on rave reviews from travellers and while we found the place comfortable and quiet, we aren't sure what all the fuss is about. The room was updated and clean but completely lacking any warmth or character. Same with the bathroom, while relatively new, was completely depressing. The patios in the ground floor offer zero privacy from your next door neighbour, the pool is not heated and like an afterthought tucked away to the side of the complex. The hot tub was full of soapy suds for some reason and had an overwhelming chlorine odour which even after showering we could still smell. Having said that, we would stay here again if passing through town, IF the price was right. Oh, and the restaurant in the complex looked very nice but super expensive and seemed very out of place compared to the rest of the complex. Would have liked to see a more affordable option nearby.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita N, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for you comments. I have passed your comments along to the appropriate departments. Your business is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I've stayed at the Gaia many times and have never had a bad experience there. That being said, some of the rooms are quieter and nicer than others.
Yes, the landscaping is low maintenance, drought resistant and sparse in places. Still, this establishment feels like a clean, green, moderate and comfortable place to rest in an area which is devoid of anything remarkably different. The Gaia is different and I like that.
The Woodside Grill is located on site and has a full bar and relatively good food. To me, this is a bonus because I don't have to get back in my vehicle after being on the road for a long while.
For the price, the Gaia is my first choice of lodging in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the Eastern side of the property seem a bit quieter. This lodging is located close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erica c, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to post a review on your visit. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of our green amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here before. Love the food especially the new menu at the restaurant. When you get to your room you will notice that there is a new smell to most of the rooms. If your lucky enough to get a room facing the lagoon you can watch the 2 huge swans play in the water. Even more of a bonus the whole facility is green , not harming the environment from the sugar cane toilet paper to the lobby floor that produces oxygen. The fact there affiliated with voice hotels is even icing on the cake !!!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank CHRISTOPHER S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erica c, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to post a review on your visit. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all of our green amenities. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent choice for location and for amenities. Rooms are spacious and the restaurant is very well done. Food is beautifully presented and very tasty.
The grounds here are very relaxing and well groomed.
This spot is bookmarked for a future visit.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ojodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erica c, General Manager at Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to post a review on your visit. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anderson
8.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,379 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
11.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
8.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#14 of 37 in Redding
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: 4125 Riverside Pl, Anderson, CA 96007-2774 (Formerly Gaia Shasta Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Anderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
Price Range: $100 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel Anderson
Anderson Gaia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing