We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
GreenLeadersGold level
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star resort”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The room was quite large and the bed was comfortable. I couldn't complain about the noise as it was almost empty. The room was clean and had the normal amenities like soap, coffee, microwave, fridge, hairdryer, etc. It was nice to have the bigger towels and extra ones (not the cheap scratchy ones like Motel 6)

If you're in to water ponds with lots of algae and dead grass due to not being watered and "sparse" landscaping, then this is the place for you. The grounds have a "tired", lack of maintenance feel about them.

I enjoyed the bar/restaurant and it appeared to be about half guests and half locals. The staff knew all the regulars and were friendly to everyone. The clam chowder (Fridays only) was excellent. Good choice of wines, although it was limited to only California wines. (part of their "green" program to get everything within a reasonable distance from the hotel)

It was over 100 degrees when I was there so I was glad the airconditioner worked so well. Maybe just me, but I went by it when I came off the freeway as the signage is not that great. Lots of free parking.

Room Tip: The pool is at the rear of the restaurant/meeting room building if you want to be close or avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calvinater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    122
    70
    25
    21
See reviews for
125
155
28
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bandon, OR
Level Contributor
236 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed in a handicapped room, had two wonderful swims, a great sleep in a comfy king-sized bed, appreciated the refrigerator (and microwave) (both of which are in every room), but the bathroom floor was very slippery. I fell down. I called the manager (Peter), and he was outstanding in his response to me and my suggestion they do something with the flooring. He appreciated my calling his attention to this problem, and I was highly appreciative of his response. We are staying there again on our way to visit my husband's family. Great half-way point.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodKarmaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, CA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for a friends Wedding. The Wedding ceramony was in a beautiful spot near the Sacramento River. The hotel is considered "Green", meaning they don't have landscaping every thing is natural. I am not a fan of moss in the water falls, tall weed grass and that type of landscaping so I wasn't impressed. The room was very large and had the basics. I felt it was a little dark and the view was the freeway, but for the purpose we were there, it was fine. If you are traveling on Interstate 5, and need a place to stay, it is clean, and nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burney,Ca
Level Contributor
90 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We have stayed here before and gave it a very good review, but things have changed. First off the chain that owns the hotel went bankrupt and now the bank is running things. There seems to be less maintenence taking place and it shows. The pond is starting to smell and there were a lot of swan mess on the sidewalks. The patios outside the rooms are starting to fall apart and the place just isn't as clean as it used to be. That being said, it is still a good option for the Redding/Anderson area. The front desk is always helpful and the onsite restaurant "Woodside Grill" is usually very good. The rates are very good for the area and being near the freeway is convenient as long as your not on the noisy side of the hotel. We have started staying at the Oxford Suites in Redding lately and only chose the Gaia because of the lower rate and the fact that we wanted to eat at Woodside Grill. Hopefully someone will take it back over and start giving it some TLC again. It's nice to have one of the few LEED certified hotels in the countries to stay at but the place needs to careful not to let it get rundown much more than it has.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the pond or at least away from I-5 and maybe upstairs to avoid the room ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

After finding no room at the inns in Redding on the weekend before July 4, my brother and I, on a short trip through Norcal and Oregon, were directed to the Gaia. Check-in was quick and easy. Very friendly staff. The only problem was that there was a wedding party that night, so parking was difficult to find. Also, no elevators to the second floor, so if this is a must for you ask for a first floor room. Rooms were very clean, but nothing special. Everything was comfortable but nothing extravagant. Breakfast was buffet style- a little pricey since we weren't expecting that, but good nonetheless. Chefs were friendly and walked around asking how things were. Nice touch. Checkout was quick and friendly. I can't comment on the spa treatment, but overall, a decent stay. I would say it was a step above an Embassy Suites, or something similar. If you're just looking for a room, it might be a little pricey, but decent experience all around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arminius1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Super helpful/friendly Staff. The grounds were well laid out. Nothing special about the pool and hot tub, not bad, just nothing special. Booked a 2 queen bed room with patio. Large room, sparsely furnished... 1chair for 3 adults AND no furniture on the patio! For the price and if I were in the area, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickyJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Reading the reviews we were expecting a 4.7/5 experience. The Staff was great, the eco landscape was well done. The room was a “River View”, that looked at I5, no river in sight. Of note, if we had a room about 3 down we would have had a river view room. The room was very spacious, but sparse, we had a patio, with no furniture, just a cement slab, to look at the freeway. By Deluxe for a room description, they should have said dead space, not deluxe. As claimed, they did not have a recycle bin, it was only a trash can.

We heard great things about the breakfast, we went and it was below average (We’ve had worse). First off, It took a long time to get our food, the waitress apologized and even gave us a discount (we did not complain, wait staff was friendly). I order the gaia breakfast, and my wife ordered the tofu scrabble. The gaia breakfast had eggs cooked to my expectations, but the “grilled” potatoes were cold and undercooked, and the toast was cold. The tofu scrabble also had the same potatoes issues, the marinated tofu did not have any flavor, it appeared raw from the package, the only flavor was the butter that it was swimming in.

Overall we were not impressed, not a high lite on the trip, but it will be a conversation piece.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSc231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anderson
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
11.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
8.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Anderson
7.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: 4125 Riverside Pl, Anderson, CA 96007-2774 (Formerly Gaia Shasta Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Anderson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Anderson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gaia Hotel & Spa Redding, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaia Hotel Anderson
Anderson Gaia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing