We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad Would stay there again if in the area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium
Ranked #59 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not Bad Would stay there again if in the area”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Being a Marriott it does have some great things to offer. I was disappointed that they had no airport shuttle. But being in the area it was located it was more of a family location than a business one. Rooms were not bad, comfortable. The outlets were worn out since many of my plug in devices had a problem staying plugged in. WiFi was good and I did not lose connection the entire stay. Only one elevator in the main building but it was fast enough didn't have long to wait. The nice thing about it was they did have a free bus service to local attractions, like Disney Land. Breakfast was so so, I am not a big cereal eater in the morning and that was the main food at breakfast. Again for family with kids this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dotman60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnDAnaheim, Manager at TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for staying with us. Since we are so close to many of the local attractions in the Anaheim area typically we do get a lot of guests who are here for leisure stays. However our corporate guests are just as important to us. Sadly we do not have a shuttle to the airport, but we usually suggest the shared ride van through super shuttle as it is the most economical and the shuttle we most relay on. I will look into the outlets and follow up with our maintenance team to make sure this is corrected going forward. Thank you in assisting us with improving our hotel and reviewing us on trip advisor. We look forward to your next arrival with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    139
    68
    22
    18
See reviews for
196
46
31
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed recently at the beginning of August. It was clean I will given them that. But, they say there is a shuttle to Disneyland but it is $5 a person. I feel that is costly. It was better for the four of us to park at Disneyland for $15 and have in and out privileges unlike the shuttle. I have $40 taken by the maids that the manager would do nothing about and damaged a phone cord that the manager did replace. When I do go back to Disneyland I will not be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bones4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnDAnaheim, Manager at TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and apologize that you were miss informed in regards to the shuttle as it is a city provided service we have no say in the rates that they charge our guests. We just cut down the time frame it would take to go and purchase the tickets by selling them here at the hotel. In regards to the alleged thief as I remember speaking to you here at the property and will reiterate almost all of my housekeeping team has been here since the property was opened. It’s one of the most prideful things about this hotel; it has never had an issue with thief. The housekeeper who serviced your room has been an exemplary employee for the past 4 years that I have been the Assistant General Manager. She did however confirm that she bumped into your charger and we were happy to replace that for you as an apology. I am sorry that your experience was not a positive one and hope that you will give us another opportunity to wow you and your family as your son seemed to really enjoy the spin the wheel free beverage and the surprise Disney gift card.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed here in Anaheim in mid August 2013 after reading many reviews. I reserved the 2 bedroom "suite" which only has 1 bathroom and the rooms are extremely small, hence the tiny beds (that claim to be doubles). We are a family of six- 2 adults and four children - 14 to 4 and the space was quite cramped. The hotel needs updating- furnishings are worn out. The drawers in the rooms were scratched and lights were quite dim in the bedroom. The "full size" kitchen is ok but rather small and the utensils and plates were not in the best condition. The breakfast area is very small and extremely limited. the staff was very friendly but I was overall disappointed that this is a Marriott property. I opted to only spend one night here and changed hotels the next day to give everyone enough space and an additional bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FNA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnDAnaheim, Manager at TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for staying with us I apologize that your stay was not a pleasant one. Thank you for bring this to our attention as this will only help us improve. We are an older hotel, however I do hope you will give us another opportunity next year as we will have completed our renovation with our suites being a huge focus. I hope you enjoy your time in Anaheim. We look forward to hopefully accommodating you on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Just departed from a week long stay at TPS Anaheim. Pros - great location, basically across the street from Angels Stadium & across the freeway from the Honda Center, 10 minutes to Disney, clean, large refrigerator, nice pool & hot tub, great water pressure, cheap ($1) laundry facilities; quiet family hotel; great, friendly & helpful front desk & maintenance staff. Cons - one slow elevator for the building; depending upon where your room is, the regular commuter train can bother you, some of the furnishings are dated, wifi is extremely, extremely slow, very small breakfast area - easier to take it back to your room. I've stayed at TPS Anaheim before and I would say it has lost some of its charm, but it is definitely a great family hotel, providing value for the room and offerings by allowing you to make some of your own meals instead of eating out - they even have a great barbeque to use if you like. Ample parking, great location, I will definitely stay here again, as the negatives are greatly outweighed by the cons of a quality Marriott property. Something I will not hold against them, but the taxes here are disgusting - 15% Anaheim city tax; tourism tax; and another tax - not TPS fault but 15% in Anaheim is gouging the tourists - perhaps city of Orange or Costa Mesa might save you a few dollars when you are paying $25 a night to the City of Anaheim or $150 for 6 nights. Disgusting!!

Room Tip: Stay away from the higher numbered rooms in the main building (rooms 15 to 20) as they bear the brun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnDAnaheim, Manager at TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed your long term stay with us as that is what TownePlace Suites is all about. The Location is one of my favorite parts about this hotel as it is close to just about everything here in Anaheim. I hope you were able to use our suites kitchen to cook some great home style meals before leaving us. I apologize that we are a little bit of an older hotel however, If you come back and see us in the new year we will have our new renovation completed. All the staff here are very excited for it. We look forward to your next arrival with us. Thanks again for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a 2nd floor suite and never heard the trains running past the hotel nor traffic noises from the fast food parking lots. No noisy footsteps above or outside hallways either. No TV noise from rooms next door.

The room had a full-size fridge, stove, oven, dishwasher, sink, coffeemaker, toaster. Pots, baking pans, utensils, dish soap, dish rags, plates, bowls, glasses, and cups. The freezer had two ice cube trays we used up daily.

I loved the large desk and rolling table. Plenty of drawers, cabinets, and shelves to put stuff away. I was surprised that the room had so many electrical outlets to choose from to plug in our chargers and devices. Free Wi-fi was decent speed and never dropped. There are two TVs.

The single full-size bed was adequate but took awhile to get used to as both adults were king-size people. Sheets were clean, mattress was firm. The pillows, though, were not fresh smelling and not fluffy. Big dresser next to the closet.

Our child slept in the pull-out sofa bed and said it was okay. I tried laying on it for a 15 minutes and felt the uncomfortable springs through the thin mattress. Glad I wasn't using it.

The bathtub is full-size. The water pressure is good. I like that the sink cabinet had two deep drawers to store our toiletries. A fuil length mirror is also in the bathroom.

The air conditioning worked well. Fan is a little loud but we got used to it.

The first morning at the breakfast room, there was a sign saying their milk delivery was delayed so there was no milk for the cereal. So we grabbed packaged muffins, yogurt cups, and bananas. There one toaster for muffins and bagels. The breakfast room is tiny. We ate in our room. Later in the day we bought our own milk carton from a grocery store and put in the fridge.

Rooms are clean. Parking lot is clean. Convenient location.

There are Denny's, Carl's Jr., Starbucks, Baskin Robbins, Panda Express, and a Mexican restaurant across the parking lot.

We did not go to Disneyland/California Adventure but the hotel is serviced by the ART bus shuttles to the theme park.

Room Tip: Get a clip to fully close the drapes so the morning light doesn't seep in too early. Choose a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zhen5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnDAnaheim, Manager at TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your stay in Anaheim. We are proud to have provided you with a great experience and thank you for reviewing us here. We are happy to say that the train station has now turned the state college crossing into a quite zone. So the train horn is no longer a problem for our guests. I apologize for the milk incident as we try and plan to the best of our ability to make sure that we have ample food and beverages for our guests. However sometime we do have things that happen out of our control but appreciate your patience and enjoying our other options for breakfast. We look forward to your next arrival with us and thank you again for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

For a very quick trip to Disneyland we stayed at the Townplace Suites. The lobby and rooms are small but well organized and clean. The free breakfast was a hit but the small lobby can get crowded early in the morning as everyone heads out to Disneyland. Easy shuttle service from the hotel directly to Disneyland. There is a pool but we were too tired to take advantage of it! Good selection of family freindly restaurant and entertainment options right next to the hotel so all around a very good choice.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a kitchen. The 'studio' room offers a pull out couch but it is so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valdomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnDAnaheim, Manager at TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. I am glad that your family enjoyed your time here with us. Maybe next time you can take advantage of our pool area the next time your in the Anaheim area. We look forward to your next arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was perfect for our party of 6 visiting Disneyland and Southern California. With spacious 1 and 2 bedroom suites with full kitchens this hotel allowed us to have ample room for our entire party for the long week. The kitchen, while limited, was sufficient in providing us with a few cooked meals on the busy vacation. The hotel is about 3 miles from Disneyland, so driving is pretty necessary but an easy drive none the less. Super close to Angels stadium, which is within walking distance. Average free breakfast with cereal, bagels and muffins, and fruit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wickniley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnDAnaheim, Manager at TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your compliments to the hotel. We are always looking for ways to improve or praise our staff and thank you for your time in review us here on trip advisor. We look forward to your next arrival here at TownePlace Suites Anaheim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anaheim
0.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - Orange
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
0.6 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Comfort Inn & Suites Anaheim, Disneyland Resort
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
8.9 mi away
Residence Inn Anaheim Hills Yorba Linda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium

Property: TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium
Address: 1730 S State College Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92806-6022 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Anaheim)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#34 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium 2.5*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The TownePlace Suites by Marriott Anaheim is minutes away from the Anaheim Convention Center, Disneyland Resort Maingate and Honda Center. Taking in a baseball game is easy as we are steps away from the main entrance to Anaheim Angel Stadium. Enjoy shopping and dining at the nearby Block of Orange, Anaheim Garden Walk and Downtown Disney. This TownePlace Suites is a close home for those visiting New Horizons,UCI Medical Center and St. Joseph's Hospital. Stay in one of our spacious, newly renovated suites and enjoy a fully equipped kitchen. Adjacent food court with Starbucks and fast food offers several dining options.When it's time to relax, enjoy our outdoor pool and BBQ area. Keep up with your fitness routine with our two exercise facilities or Bally's next door. There are two guest laundry rooms on premises. TownePlace Suites Anaheim...the simple solution for extended stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your TownePlace Suites Anaheim Maingate Near Angel Stadium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Anaheim Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Towneplace Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing