We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“What a treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disneyland Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disneyland Hotel
Ranked #17 of 116 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Livermore, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We decided to splurge this time on our trip to Disneyland and to pick up our college daughter who goes to school nearby--stayed at the Disneyland Hotel. Didn't get much of a discount, even with our annual pass, but we bit the bullet and did it anyway.

Now we are spoiled for life!

We hadn't stayed here since all the renovation, and I must say they've done a fabulous job. The rooms are lovely, large and filled with little surprises like Mickey head faucet handles and Hidden Mickeys in the shower tiles and on the carpet. I loved the "magic" headboard and just the whole ambience of the room.

It wasn't very crowded while we were there, and because we mentioned that we'd had our 25th anniversary recently and that our son had just finished his finals at his college and our daughter was finishing hers, they upgraded us to a fireworks view room in the Fantasy tower. The main view was mainly parking lot, but we could see the fireworks perfectly from here, as well as the "mountains" and castle in Disneyland Park.

I found the room to be very comfortable, the service to be impeccable, and the quality of the bedding, towels, etc. all very nice. Even the internet (usually somewhat slow and spotty in the Disney properties) was quick and painless. I liked the convenience of the Fantasy Tower--easy access to the lobby, shops, and the parks and Downtown Disney. It was also great to have the Early Entry opportunity every day. When we used it the first day at CA Adventure, we practically had the park to ourselves! :)

Check-in was painless and very easy, as was automatic check-out, in stark contrast to the last time we stayed here (summer of 2009) when we had to wait in a long line to check in and the wait another hour for our room to be ready, even after 4 pm. We had to pay an additional $15 a night to park the car--not a fan of this, but it's a reality at most of the hotels in the area--and had no trouble getting a fairly close spot to the hotel tower. (another advantage of the Fantasy Tower) The main pool was closed for renovation while we were there, but the pool near the Monorail slides was open. Not a factor, really, since it was too cold to swim anyway.

We had a refrigerator, flat-screen tv, closet safe, plenty of drawer space, free Wi-Fi, hairdryer, magnifying mirror, coffee maker (we brought our own mugs, since they just have paper cups) and plenty of thick, fluffy towels. The bathroom amenities (soaps, shampoo, lotion) are all upscale (H20, I believe) and very nice. I also like that the heating/air unit is up near the ceiling and quiet. It's operated by a thermostat. None of that annoying blowing all night long. :) The room temp was very easy to maintain and to keep comfortable. Lighting was pretty good, although the vanity area outside the bathroom was a little dim. Nice to have that extra counter space, though.

The only glitch we had at all the whole 4 days was when room service loudly knocked on our door one morning at 7 am with mimosas we had NOT ordered. Never found out WHAT that was all about, nor did we get any sort of apology for waking us up...

Our daughter joined us the last night and slept on the daybed. She said it was pretty uncomfortable. It had a bottom sheet on it and there was a blanket and pillow in the closet, but no top sheet, so we had to make the bottom sheet (a double folded over thing) into a sort of "envelope" for her. It would've been nice to have had another sheet perhaps, and I'm sure they would've brought one if we'd asked, but everyone was in a hurry to get to bed that night.

And, as usual with a Disney property, the hot tub at the pool was merely a luke-warm tub. I've found that to be true at all the Disney hotels (even those at WDW) and I sure wish they'd turn up the temps a bit for those of us who need a good soaking after a day at the parks!!!

Other than those few minor things, this is a beautiful, magical hotel with some nice perks. You pay through the nose to get them, but it's worth it for a treat and a major dose of Disney magic/service once in a while.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    804
    286
    95
    40
See reviews for
1,613
256
23
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (766)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

The view from the room is amazing you can see the fireworks from the room while the hotel is close to Disneyland it's pricey if you don't mind the cost. Our girls had so much fun here . It's really close to the park and you get early admittance into the park.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuadCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at the Disneyland Hotel from December 12th to the 14th. We had a great experience at this hotel. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We arrived early at around 11am and they were able to check us into our room right away. The check in process was very smooth and quick and they had a lobby attendant there to answer any questions and give tips to those who needed it. We were in the Fantasy tower which is the main tower where the main desk and gift shops are located. I have seen people who say the Fantasy tower and Adventure tower are the best, but I do not think which tower you are located in makes much of a difference. To get to Adventure or Frontier, you do have to exit the main lobby and walk outside. The Frontier tower is closest to the entrance to the pool with the water slides, so if you have kids that want lots of pool time, that is a great choice. Trader Sams bar was fantastic with lots of great servers who were very helpful. It was a little rainy when we were there and they always had the heat lamps on outside so it was a great spot to sit and have a drink after being in the parks. We had a late flight the day we departed and the hotel had no problem giving us an extended check out time. We went to the customer service desk to ask about a business center to print our boarding passes, and the desk agent was very kind and printed them out for us there so we didn't have to pay to use their printing services. Housekeeping service was great, we never had any problems with the room being cleaned or anything being dirty. We leave a tip every day because you usually do not get the same housekeeper every day, and I appreciate the hard work they do.


It seems people have a hard time deciding between this property and the Grand Californian. We stayed at the Grand for five nights in October and while my son loves their pool area, we found the staff were not as friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere was not as nice and inviting as the Disneyland Hotel. You have to remember that the Grand always has a lot of park guests coming in and out, so it is difficult to find a spot to sit and enjoy their lobby most times of the day. We even had to clean off our own table in the Hearthstone lounge one morning, and there was no other guests there. It was a little disappointing and I don't think we will be returning especially at $500 per night. We will be staying at the Disneyland Hotel from now on.

We have also stayed at some of the good neighbor hotels (Sheraton Park, Hilton, Best Western Plus Park Place). We like staying on property for the proximity to Downtown Disney and for the perk of having the Extra Magic Hour. It is worth getting up early and taking advantage of this offer. We are always able to do most rides we want to do early (Radiator Springs Racers) and then go back to the hotel in the afternoon to swim and nap. Just a tip about Radiator Springs Racers, use the single rider line! If you have older kids this is also a great option. My son is nine, and we have an adult go first and him next so there is an adult there when he gets off. We can't wait to return to the Disneyland Hotel in May.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blair04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Spent our last night in USA on vacation from Australia at the Disneyland resort. I had high expectations of the room and the resort and I was not let down. My only complaint was that we didn't have more nights there. Beautiful room, very friendly and helpful staff, and great access through Downtown Disney to the Parks.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank GoldCoastBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The large re-hab of D-Land Hotel brought some sadness.,.. but Trader Vic's makes it a bit bearable....
It is a combo of the Tiki-Room, Jungle Cruise and a local bar...all on a jungle island It's a little small, but the drinks and atmosphere are very good and you expect Humphrey Bogart to walk in any minute, to sit down and cool off at the bar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RogerRamjett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a 4 night stay here in the Adventure Tower and have zero true complaints. The room was exactly as described by others here, in very well maintained condition. It was serviced efficiently each day with the maid being generous in restocking the products. We faced the pool side so there was no noise noticeable from Downtown Disney. Of course, it costs more than equivalent accommodations. But all real estate is priced by location so some folks need to get past the price premium issue. Having a very nice room in a "historic" property and being able to access both parks and downtown easily made it very worthwhile for us. But I will confirm that trying to call the front desk services is a tiresome process. They really need a big dose of the usual Disney efficiency which is sorely lacking in that department.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days/ 3nights. This hotel really lived up to Disney's reputation of style, class, and cleanliness. The room was fantastic with all the modern amenities and a great view of the (not so close) park. The kids loved the pools complete with a monorail slide. To go along with the Disney theme, everything here is very expensive, so be prepared. You can walk to the downtown Disney monorail station which is only a few minute walk, and board there if you have your passes. It drops you off in Tomorrowland.

Room Tip: request upper floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponch68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.2 mi away
Disney's Paradise Pier Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disneyland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disneyland Hotel

Property: Disneyland Hotel
Address: 1150 West Magic Way, Anaheim, CA 92802-2297
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#8 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disneyland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 973
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay and see all that is new! Now with more luxurious rooms, new pools and waterslides, themed dining and more, the transformed Disneyland Hotel is a vacation destination in and of itself. This transformation has earned the hotel the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Hotel rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Disneyland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel Ca
Disneyland Hotel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing