We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very blah....”
Review of Peacock Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peacock Suites
Ranked #52 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Very blah....”
Reviewed November 15, 2005

We are SVC owners, and after our trip to this place, have a very sour taste in our mouths. I don't know how they ever expect to sell someone a timeshare using this place as an example!
Checkin later in the evening...I called a week prior to request that the 2 rooms we booked be adjoining or at least close to each other....they ended up on the same floor in opposite sides of the building...not good for a large family gathering to say the least. On the way to our rooms we were called back and told that those rooms were no longer available, so had to substitute...so much for being Shell owners with reservations...we were told that they were sold out that nite and would have to move the next day to another room! NOT ! I was told when I called that they had an internet terminal in the lobby, so I didn't bother to take my laptop, as I depend on email for day to day business...(we were there Friday to Tuesday)...turned out it was broken and no one made much of an effort to try and have someone come in and fix it. It was out of service the whole time we were there. They offered to give me a map to where I could use the interent...six blocks away. The hotel next door wouldn't let me use theirs (even if I paid) as it was for their guests only...so much for good will!
The rooms were very tiny, and old and musty....didn't get towel service the first day after arriving, but did get a real quick call to come to a timeshare presentation.
The shuttles to Disneyland were not always on time, and the cost was 3 bucks each per day to ride, which wasn't that bad, but next time I would pick a place across the street from the main gate...they looked very nice and attractive.
The promotional material with our Shell reservation said that Peacodk Suites was the "most beautiful property in Anaheim "....don't know who voted that in, but it certainly was not.

Overall....very disappointed, plan to complain to Shell. This place is NOT your normal Shell property and I've staying in a number of them.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    300
    122
    60
    34
See reviews for
463
114
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2005

We are owners/members of Shell Vacations Club (SVC), and Peacock Suites is one of the member resorts. We picked this because we had points to burn and the close proximity to Disney. Because of the time of year, the "resort" is heavily discounted on points required to stay there. That being said....we got what we paid for. Our dates staying there were October 2-6, 2005.

Checkin: Flawless...desk people were quick to get us our keycards and point us where our rooms were and where to park.

Concierge: Nothing more than a SVC salesperson trying to get us to attend a 45 min "owner update" for $100 Disney Bucks. This might be inticing is the timeslots were earlier in the day (currently the timeslots are 3:30 and 5:30pm).

Parking: Rather crowded and tight parking spots. On the good side, none of the spots are very far from the lobby and/or staris/elevators.

Ambiance: Peacock Suites is neither luxurious nor a dump. There are signs of wear and tear (carpets, paint, etc...) one would expect from the post-summer season, but it doesn't feel like a Motel 6 either. The vegitation tries to look tropical, but doesn't feel tropical.

Room: We stayed in a 2-room suite which included 2 Queens and and partitioned livingroom with fold-away couch-bed. The room had ample room and included a large dorm fridge, mini microwave, toaster, coffee-maker, safe, etc...The only annoyance was the small bathroom.

Room service: beds were maid, place was clean...nothing was missing. One thing that really annoyed me was the small coffeemaker was not cleaned out one morning I used it.

Food: The continental breakfast was very basic, cartons of juice, packaged oatmeal, Von's bread, some fruit, etc...one trip for coffee is all we did.

Pool/spa: Never visited

Kid factor: Noted from previous reviews that some people were pretty irritated by the kid infestation, but with the off-season crowd, this was not a issue with us.

Checkout: 2 minutes...perfect!

In summary, our stay was unremarkable. I would probably stay there again if we go to So. Cal in October again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank senorcampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 16, 2005

We stayed with friends who have a time share through Shell Vacation. Peacock is a hotel.

First impression was the parking lot. The spaces were sooooooo small our mini van didn't fit. Husband had to let us all out, then pull into the space.
Found out later, they don't have enough spaces for all the rooms!!!!!!(came back at 1 am and had to park in the driveway to the parking garage!)

Went to the desk and checked in. then we had to go over to the concierge, and all she wanted to do is sell us stuff(resturants, timeshares, etc.). Did not like that. Personally this hotel does NOT need a concierge.

Went to the room. LOVED the room. It was very large (slept 8) Had a master bedroom, king size bed with its own bathroom. The other bedroom had 2 queen bed. The main bathroom was normal. The living area was big,with a sofa bed.

What we didn't know is that the hotel and those large rooms are located RIGHT NEXT to a Laundry Company. Everyday at 2 a.m. they would start up. One day I thought it was an earthquake because the bed started to shake!!. The noise is so unbelievable!!!!! Even with the air condition on you could hear as clear as day. This went on till at least 6pm (went back tot he room at lunch and dinner)

If you are desperate for a room, then go for it but I do not recommend this hotel at all!!!!!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 15, 2005

C'mon everyone! If you want a ritzy hotel, you aren't going to get it here. I think you can assume that by the very reasonable rates. ...but we are a family with small kids staying here because, lets face it, we're going to spend the shank of our day at Disneyland. It's a GREAT place to stay with kids, sure it's gonna be noisy, but that's what a family vacation with kids usually is. Our kids ages 9 & 5 loved it. The pool was adequate, there was a balloon guy making incredible balloon scuptures, there's face painting, arts & crafts..the people were nice. No huge expectations, but we wanted a clean comfortable spot -- we have little noisy kids, and this filled the bill.
as for the sales presentation & the time share marketeers "JUST SAY NO!" duh! A No-Brainer!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland Hills
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2005

This was the 2nd year we (four of us) decided to stay at the Peacock suites while visiting Disneyland. The hotel is actually very nice compare to other nearby hotels. This place is perfect for those that just need somewhere to sleep and that are not looking for "fancy". Don't expect the pool side to be "wonderful"; it's enclosed and very close to the parking lot. However, perfect for the kids because it closes at 10 p.m. Their continental breakfast is not the best, but gives you enough for a morning appetizer (the place tries, though!) They have a nice roof deck where you can enjoy your breakfast. The rooms are very spacious and clean. We have no complaints about this place and are looking to returning again next year. The only downfall is that the hotel is not quite close to Disneland, therefore you'll have to wait and be patient for the shuttles to come every 20 minutes or so.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank npalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2005

We stayed 4 nights in May 2005 through Shell Vacations Club, also using
up points. The Dec 21 2004 review is right-on. I would add that during our
stay the hot tubs and pool were fine, but parking nearly unavailable on a
Saturday night. The continental breakfast was very basic but as expected.
Rooms were nice enough, although this was the only one of four SVC
resorts we've visited that did NOT have a kitchenette. Really it's just an
upgraded and refurbished hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful, especially
maintenance (requested a replacement for broken TV cable, and fix of
leaky bathtub faucet). No bathroom fans, oh well, but two TVs in the room
(grin). Oh, small fitness center but nice equipment, we used it twice.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank ajsinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 29, 2005

We booked our Disneyland vacation to stay at the Peacock "smokes" because we were offered to buy someone's else's time share week. We received a fair price for a weeks accomodations but we were extremely disappointed with the smoking locations on the balcony outside our room. It made the stay very uncomfortable for our family. If they have to designate a smoking area they should do it as far away from the rooms as possible. Also beware of a very noisy and potentially dangerous night club across the street on the weekends. Our first night, there were shots fired at the club, and the second night the police were staking out at the hotel expecting retaliation from the night before. The breakfast was free (a definite notch down from similiar breakfast's offered at places like Fairfield Inn) and very crowded. They had a pool and two hot tubs which were adequate. They are pushing the time share ownership through Shell Vacation's Club, but this location simply does not have enough room to make for a nice time share facility. If the price was right and I was guaranteed a room far away from the smoking areas I may consider the Peacock again, after all we spent all day at Disneyland which was the real reason for the vacation.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
0.4 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
2,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Comfort Inn & Suites Anaheim, Disneyland Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock Suites

Property: Peacock Suites
Address: 1745 S Anaheim Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92805-6518
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Peacock Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peacock Suites located walking distance from Disneyland(R) Park and the Anaheim Convention Center. Featuring spacious one bedroom accommodations which offer first class amenities and the utmost in comfort while staying in Anaheim. The property offers two whirlpool spas, a sparkling pool and a rooftop sundeck, perfect for working on your tan. In each of the suites you will find a refrigerator, a microwave oven, a coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, CD/DVD player, and queen sleeper sofas in every living room. For guests convenience you can purchase attraction tickets from the front desk. Modern amenities, a great location, and first class services ensure a wonderful Anaheim vacation experience. Come experience the magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peacock Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peacock Hotel Anaheim
Peacock Suites Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing