We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved how close this hotel is to Disneyland!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropicana Inn & Suites
Ranked #36 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved how close this hotel is to Disneyland!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The proximity of this hotel to Disneyland is it's best feature by far. The entrance to the park is right across the street, a 5 minute walk, which is perfect. If you have hopper passes, you can go back to your hotel if you need a break, because it is so close and then return later, without messing around, or paying the high cost of staying right on the park.

The hotel itself was great! A little dated for sure, the rooms were rather dark, replacing some of the light bulbs would fix that, the furnishings/bedding were a little dated, but everything was clean. I have a 13 yr old son and the heated outdoor pool/hot tub was a hit. Again, nothing over the top special about it, but is was great for an afternoon dip, in between trips to the park.

Something that was a bit different, was the parking lot for the hotel is offered up to the public attending the park (when it's not full from guests of the hotel), just so you know, that it is not only guests of the hotel wandering around the parking lot, day and night. They had a security guard outside of the parking area for some of the day to watch the traffic coming and going, but not all the time from what I could tell.

A really great feature was the store/coffee shop attached to the hotel, which we used all the time. They served awesome coffee/light breakfast and had just about anything you might need while your were staying at the hotel in their store. The front desk staff were very friendly and accommodating. They lined up a great, trustworthy driver for me to travel over to Universal Studios. I also left a very expensive bottle of perfume in the room vault and when I called about it, they located it and returned it to me all the way up in Canada and followed up with me, which I was very greatful for. It was returned at my expense, which was fair, seeing as it was me that left it behind.

All in all, we thought it was an awesome location and a very decent hotel for the money. We would definately stay there again!!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the front of the hotel and away from the main road, as it is very busy. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Needsagoodsleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Tropicana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
It's always a pleasure to read such positive comments. Happy to hear you enjoyed The Cove market and coffee shop! We enjoyed the privilege of extending our hospitality to you and your family and hope we will be seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    477
    176
    56
    47
See reviews for
672
132
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Hotel was clean, rooms were a little small-soft beds. Minor gripes- No, pen, paper or bible. We also tipped maid service everyday but were given no refills of shampoo- 1 bottle for 4 people, 3 days. We shouldn't have to ask. Wish they had breakfast, but the kids loved the pool and they let us leave our car after check out so we could enjoy Disneyland for the day- fabulous location!

Room Tip: Soft beds, no breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moky2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Tropicana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience during your most recent visit to the Tropicana Inn & Suites. We value your comments and look forward to being of service to you in the future. Happy to hear your kids enjoyed the pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed in the "suites" at the Tropicana in February. The suites are two normal rooms that are connect by a small kitchen with a 4 seat table. The kitchens have a full size stove, pots and pans, silverware, counter area, toaster and sink. The fridge is just a mini fridge but each of the rooms has one too so there are three total.
The rooms were clean and the rooms had flat panel TV's.
The Tropicana has a very large salt water hot tube and average size pool which was very refreshing and our kids really enjoyed.
Very close to the main gate into Disneyland. Based on the price range we were satisfied.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeakHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Tropicana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
It's always a pleasure to read such complimentary comments. We enjoyed the privilege of extending our warm hospitality to you and your family. Glad you enjoyed the oversized jacuzzi! Hope we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Spoke with the general manager Greg [--] on the phone while I was checking out. I informed him that the night auditor, Byron, told me that we would be refunded for the two nights that the bathroom was not sanitary
Mr. [--] said that he would not issue the refund for Thursday night because we did not inform the hotel of the problem on Thursday even though we did not know about the problem until dirty water and debris came up the bathtub drain into the tub late Friday night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Tropicana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear John F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Please rest assured that the plumbing situation with the tub drain has been repaired for future guests staying with us. Our General Manager did refund one night room and tax prior to your check out, and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in the upper floor room immediately after being made aware of the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

We have stayed here before and had no hesitation in staying again for our week in Disneyland and surrounds. Hotel is only 3 stories high and has a lift and stairs. Laundry was very popular with me as we were on an extended holiday. Plenty of cheap eats nearby and so close to Disneyland. We would walk across to Disneyland, come home for a rest and meal and then go back again in the evening. We had 2 rooms with a kitchen in between so had some meals at home to make it a bit cheaper and less hassle. Nice to have somewhere too for the early risers to sit and read while the rest are still snoring. So nice not to have to wait for shuttle buses and to just walk in at any time. Didn't ever get out of bed in time for breakfast so cant comment on it! Not the flashest hotel we've stayed at but cant beat it for location. Parking is a bit limited at times but we will be back

Room Tip: We could see the Disneyland fireworks from our balcony on the top floor so you could request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GailRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Tropicana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience during your most recent visit to the Tropicana Inn & Suites. Glad you enjoyed the convenience of being so close to the entrance to Disneyland. We value your comments and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Booked a double-queen bedroom three months ago for our family's vacation to Disneyland. After flying in to California, and driving to the hotel from Long Beach, we arrived at the hotel and they tell me that they're overbooked and don't have a room available. So they send me down the street to one of their sister properties where they said they had a room I could have. The room at the sister property was very small and had one bed. There was no way two adults and two teenagers could sleep comfortably in that room. Went back to the Tropicana and complained to the guy who sent over there. He said, "I'll see what I can do." Ten minutes later, he tells me he's got a room now! What??? Are you serious? No continental breakfast anymore. Price of the room was listed at $129. $150.93 with tax. Got charged $196.56 for one night stay without buying any movies, room service, etc. Horrible experience. Won't be going back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Tropicana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered at check in. We would like the opportunity to make it up to you and sincerely hope you will reconsider and allow us the to extend the warm and professional hospitality that we are known for.

If you have a change of heart and would like to give us a second chance please contact the sales office and mention your Trip Advisor review.

Looking forward to hopefully seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We wanted a close hotel to Disneyland and at a good price, well we found it with this hotel! Nice beds, pillows and clean rooms.

We didn't like how the smoking area was out side the rooms, where you couldn't have the windows open without it coming in, also the smoking area was down out front by the cafe AND you had to walk through the smoke to go to the cafe/store - it should be away from other guest walking by.

Our room was quiet, didn't hear other guest or cars at all. There was mold it the bathroom on the door trim and door stop, but I am not giving it a bad reveiw for that.

From walking all day at Disneyland, it was nice to have a short walk to the hotel and other restraunts - don't go to IHOP too much $$$ and gross, go to Mimis down the way, great food & good price.

I would defiantly stay here every time I take my family to Disneyland!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, Manager at Tropicana Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Customer service is extremely important to us here at the Tropicana Inn & Suites and our staffs main objective is to ensure a positive and memorable experience for each and every guest. We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of being so close to Disneyland. We hope your family created memories to be cherished for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
0.3 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn & Suites

Property: Tropicana Inn & Suites
Address: 1540 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802-2312
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#39 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropicana Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Inn And Suites
Tropicana Motel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing