We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent hotel, walking distance to Disneyland Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropicana Inn & Suites
Ranked #37 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, walking distance to Disneyland Resort”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel is literally very close to Disneyland Resort. The room is very clean, decent size and affordable. I like the idea of the sink and mirror are outside the bathroom. The staff were very courteous and they allowed us to do an early check-in. Do not expect too much on their breakfast because it is only a complimentary. The hotel is walking distance from 2 breakfast places, Ihop and Denny's.The kids enjoyed the fireworks display of Disneyland which we have watched from our window, what a treat! Over all this place is decent enough if you are on a budget and just need a place to sleep at night time, but with a bonus; it's literally across Disneyland Resort! Downside: No free wifi, you have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    477
    176
    56
    47
See reviews for
671
132
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

For the cost, you can't expect too much. The pool is nice, the rooms are adequate. The continental breakfast is GARBAGE! Doughnuts, croissants, and way to old fruit is not a breakfast! Keep in mind, you WILL be buying breakfasts if you stay here. It was an unexpected $25 per day we spent because of this. May be worth spending the extra to get a hotel with a proper breakfast. I found the $9 per day to park at a hotel your registered at to be a rip-off, but I'm not sure if that is normal at other hotels. $10 for internet per day is also stupid. I'm used to free wifi in northern Saskatchewan hotels even. The room cleaning is also not up to par. Location to the park is excellent. Try Mimi's up the street for dinner. That restaurant was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DvL05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We chose this property on the advice of friends that travel regularly to Disneyland, as we wanted to be able to walk to the park and back as needed.

This hotel is located just across the street from the main Disneyland/California Adventure entrance. You really can't beat the location! We stayed two nights during the 4th of July week, and the hotel was at maximum capacity. We were allowed to check in about an hour early with no problems, and both of our rooms were ready. Without asking, they gave us adjoining rooms, since both reservations were made under the same Hotels.com reservation. Though this wasn't needed, I thought it was a nice touch. We drove to dinner in Downtown Disney, and arrived fairly late in the evening to find there was no parking available! The parking attendants offered to valet park our car instead (it ended up being the same price). That said, parking is not included in the hotel stay. The price wasn't unreasonable, but it is another charge that should be figured into the cost of the stay. The hotel staff (particularly Paloma) were all very welcoming and helpful. I did not partake in the "free" breakfast, but everyone else in our group did and were surprised to see that the "free" breakfast includes only a handful of items. If you want milk for your cereal, there's a charge. I thought it was a stretch to offer a breakfast advertised as free, then charge for nearly all the items on it. The property has a well-maintained pool and spa (open until 10pm) and a food court, mini-mart and gift shop on site for last-minute essentials.

There is Wi-Fi, but it is not included in the room rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High River, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Beds are amazing- room was super quiet - we were on the second floor - right beside mcdonalds and right across from Disney. The only complain is the breakfast is horrible and you have to pay for the milk and cereal and there was no toast. We just went to McDonalds.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniversary33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just stayed at the Tropicana for 7 days. it is directly across the road from the entrance to Disneyland. We had a room with two double beds and a kitchen. Two small fridges in the room so we stocked up at Albertsons down the road for breakfasts and a few meals. There is a pool and a spa (hot tub) which is great after a day of walking thousands of km's around Disneyland. Clean and comfortable and met our needs for a week at Disneyland.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This hotel is not a five-star resort by any means, but it is simple and clean and right across the street from Disneyland. My family and I have annual passes, so we have frequented several of the hotels in the area. We've stayed at some of the more high-end properties (Hilton, Marriott) and some of the smaller boutique hotels (Candy Cane Inn, Crown Resort), but the Tropicana was by far the easiest to get to the park and back.

The room is sparse and minimal. We are not used to staying at a hotel where the doors open to the outside (no interior corridors), so it has a bit of a motel feeling to it. Parking was easy and check-in was quick and simple. They only hold a $20 deposit on your credit card for incidentals, compared to most higher-end hotel chains that hold $200 - 300.

When we first entered the room, we were overcome by a bleachy, chemical smell that seemed to be masking a faint mildew order. The bleach smell was strong enough to other my two teenage kids, so we dropped our bags and headed to the park. After a long day, the beds were comfortable, the jacuzzi looked inviting (although we didn't use it) and the shower was warm. My daughter declined to shower because she thought the shower head was too "dirty", but it just looked like rust to me.

I am extremely sensitive to noise when I sleep, so I opted to wear earplugs to be safe. Didn't hear a peep all night. The hotel has a window AC unit (which I wasn't used to) with no thermostat, which meant we came back to a freezing cold room after our day at the park.

The hotel is right next to an iHop, Denny's, and "Captain Kidd's Buffet" ... so we grabbed some cheap east before heading to the overly expensive park. The location was amazingly convenient. My only bummer was that they charged $10 a night for parking, which seemed a little ridiculous for such a small low-end property.

Overall, this place is NOT meant to be for a relaxing vacation stay, but a place to fall into your bed after a long day at Disneyland. Nothing is better than a 5 minute walk to your bed after a day in the park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maija G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was a great hotel experience! The best feature were the comfy beds. I had never slept so good in my life...no exageration! We were there a week and became very comfortable with our surroundings. With a perfect location, right across the street from Disneyland, lots of eating choices within short walking distance. (Denny's, IHOP and McDonalds among the chain restaurants as well as a few locally known choices) Convenient shuttle transportation hub at Disney with 18 different routes offering easy, convenient transportation to other attractions or shopping. Local Greyline tour bus pick up was just a few steps away which enabled a carefree way to see much more of CA than we expected. What a nice treat! A big hot tub and crystal clear pool in which fireworks could be seen from across the street. Staff was professional and helpful and housekeeping did an immaculate job with sprucing up our room while we were out playing. The beds were made with not one wrinkle, all towells replaced, everything spotless. The only complaint I had was for some reason, our room was damp. It wasn't important enough to have to go through the inconvenience of switching rooms, however. The housekeepers sprayed air freshner which helped a lot with the musty smell which comes along with the dampness. (oh yeah...and the carpet made our feet dirty) Other than that, this hotel is top notch. I would come here again, but would just ask for a different room. (We stayed in RM 170)

Room Tip: Avoid Rm 170. It's damp which makes everything you sit on or touch feel damp and sticky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Anaheim Camelot Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Disneyland Resort Area
0.3 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
1,588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Inn & Suites

Property: Tropicana Inn & Suites
Address: 1540 S Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802-2312
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#39 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tropicana Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tropicana Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Inn And Suites
Tropicana Motel Anaheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing