We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needs a remodel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Ranked #33 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“needs a remodel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

This hotel was very clean, the staff was amazing, and the location near Disneyland was excellent. On the other hand, the lighting in the rooms was atrocious and the rooms overall are badly in need of a remodel. I understand that one is coming next fall.

Room Tip: The first floor units are dark inside, even during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matorthechihuahua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Matorthechihuahua,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It sounds like you enjoyed a lovely trip to Disneyland. I am very pleased to know that you were happy with the proximity of our hotel to the parks, the cleanliness of our hotel, and the level of guest service you received from our staff.

I am sorry to hear that you did not receive sufficient lighting in your room. There are several areas on our property that see more natural lighting than others. If natural lighting is important to you, please let us know so that we can place your room in one of those areas during your next visit. We are also happy to place extra lamps in your room if necessary.

Thank you again for your feedback, and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you visit Anaheim.

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    518
    150
    58
    35
See reviews for
939
102
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in the 2 room split level and found it to be just perfect for families. There was a king bed upstairs with a bathroom and then a 2 queen bed downstairs with its own bathroom. The sitting area and kitchen was perfect for our needs.

Check-in was easy and the manager most kindly allowed us to modify our reservation to accommodate an early arrival. The parking is a little crowded, but once you park your car, take the shuttle! It's easy and affordable and saves you the hassle of finding a spot.

The breakfast area was always crowded, but we were always able to find a spot for the 7 of us. The food was pretty good and when you factor that into the cost of the room, it makes it a great bargain. It is also a very easy walk up Clementine to a Cheesecake Factory - yummy!!!

Housekeeping did a great job in servicing the room - the only note is that you must go up the stairs for some rooms and the parking spots are not always close to your room. We were able to see the nighttime fireworks from the upstairs bedroom window which was really nice. Overall a great stay and would come here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaylorRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear TaylorRose,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. As you mentioned, our hotel offers some wonderful amenities that come complimentary with each guests’ stay, such as breakfast, wireless internet, and parking- just to name a few! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

So we are a family of 3 travelling to DL for 3 days, we have stayed here before so we knew the basic layout of the property, the multiple buildings with upper and lower units as well as its proximity to the park. We were not disappointed in our most recent stay. We had a room in building number 7, upper floor, close to the pool but far enough away that you did not hear anything. The ART service picked up and dropped off right in front of our unit, how convenient to use but we walked back and forth each day. With young kids the walk may be a killer at the end of the day but in reality the walk is between 8 and 12 minutes depending on your pace. The room we had was in great shape, comfy bed, the pull out sofa for our son, kitchen facilities for those who wanted to make meals, fully stocked kitchen with pots, pans, utensils and cutlery. We did enjoy the pool, big enough to splash in but it would crowded in the mid afternoon as families and kids came back to refresh. The morning breakfast was very good, it changed every day with some items repeating themselves, ie waffles, oatmeal, toast and bagels but then some days, bacon, or ham, or scramble eggs, or breakfast burritos, bananas, melon. It was a big variety and the staff were constantly refilling things even when you would have thought that as the breakfast cutoff time neared they would have stopped bring out fresh items, very nice surprise. The eating space is busy with families eating and heading to the park but we always found space, either inside or by the pool or the back patio. Another point regarding staff service, we were called the first day by the front desk to make sure all was okay with our room, nice touch. We called down twice for extra towels and blankets, they arrived within 10 minutes, WOW. While we were there, there was nacho night on Monday, burgers and hot dogs on Wednesday and then snacks on the Friday, all complimentary, a very nice touch. There was one item that I need to make mention of and compliment the hotel maintenance team, there is a basketball court close to the pool. The day we arrived I noticed that the hoop had come away from the back board and was falling foward at a bad angle. I assumed that in the grand scheme of things that this item would be overlooked and that over the course of our 5 night stay it would stay that way. My bad, I was wrong, what would likley have been a small item on the bottom of repair list was fixed the next day, good on the management and your team. A couple of suggestions if you stay here, walk the 10 minutes to 7-11 to buy snacks/water/wine/beer and leave it in your fridge, a real cost saver. We actually froze water bottles in our room fridge freezer and would take these and chilled water bottles in with us to DL and as they melted we would always have a cool/fresh and inexpensive drink. Another thought, skip the ART one day pass, you can walk from this hotel to the park, but at the end of the day, a cab ride from the bus loop to the hotel lobby was $7, tip included. There is a Disney desk in the lobby, you can buy your passes there for the same price as at the park but skip the lineup. Any other questions please feel free to message me and I will fill you in. We did notice that with where we were located, the fire truck and ambulance service was directly across the street, so if you are a light sleeper this may pose a problem. We flew into SNA, found a shuttle at the airport and paid $10 per person to get to this hotel, not sure if there is really a need to pre-book.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FP4BMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear FP4BMO,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and offer helpful suggestions for future guests. We are grateful that you chose to stay with us for a second time while visiting Anaheim.

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay, and was impressed by our amenities and staff service. Our goal is to provide a comfortable and enjoyable experience for all of our guests, and we are glad we were successful in doing so with you!

We look forward to welcoming you back for a third time the next time you make your way out to the Anaheim Resort Area!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is close to the Disney park. The parking here is free and we took the shuttle service to & fro from the Hotel to the Disney on all days and it was very convenient and shuttle ride though a small ride was a memorable one.
The breakfast was good. The rooms have a kitchen and are very spacious , clean & good interiors.

Room Tip: Books Rooms in the ground floor. Only disadvantage is carrying heavy luggage to the room in the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_chill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Traveller_chill,

Thank you for your wonderful review! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and that we were able to assist in making your trip to Disneyland convenient and memorable. We gladly welcome you back any time you visit Anaheim!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jordan, Utah
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is our favorite place to stay when visiting Disneyland. First, the location is fairly close to the park. It's almost a mile from the hotel to where you walk through the gate to Disneyland (or California Adventure). It took us about 15 minutes to walk it in the morning. At night, on the way back it took us longer, but it wasn't a problem.

The rooms are nice and somewhat worn. The rooms were cleaned daily and there was plenty of soap and shampoo for all of us. We've stayed in two different types of rooms. One that had 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa bed, and one bathroom. That one was good with younger kids as sofa beds are not the most comfortable. This time we stayed in a room with two queens and a loft with a king bed, and two bathrooms. There was plenty of room for 2 adults, and 4 teenagers. There is a full kitchen with dishwasher, fridge, stove, and microwave.

We did have two problems with the room. First, there is a light on the stairs that cannot be turned off. I'm sure it's a safety feature, but it's far too bright. Seems funny to have blackout drapes, but such a bright light that can't be turned off. Instead of being a soft nightlight, it's bright enough to read by in the next room (which is only separated by a half wall). We couldn't sleep, we tried covering it with a towel, but it was still far too bright. My husband used his Leatherman to remove it nightly (and replace it before they came to clean in the morning). The second problem is that one of our kids who is really allergic to animals got hives on legs and feet (and arms when they touched the upholstered furnishings). Then we discovered that the hotel does allow animals, we wouldn't have noticed except that this child mentioned that they thought they were allergic to the hotel. Though not ideal, showering, taking allergy medication, and making sure not to walk barefoot, or sit on the couch solved the problem. I know this is not a cleanliness issue, this child is just very allergic, but is something to consider if you have allergies.

The daily hot breakfast is a great way to start the day each morning. We would pack up in the morning, stop by for breakfast, then head over to Disney. We often had to sit at two tables, most seating was for four or less.

The pool is fun and is nice and warm. We didn't spend a ton of time in it, but it was a nice way to unwind. Parking is free, which is nice being so close to Disneyland.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hansonfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Hansonfam,

Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. We are honored to be your favorite place to stay when visiting Disneyland! It’s great to know that the amenities our hotel has to offer serve as a perfect fit for you and your family.

I am sorry to hear about your child’s severe allergies! Although we are a pet-friendly hotel, we have 6 buildings on our property that we do not allow pets to be in, and we are glad to have you stay in one of those rooms the next time you visit us. Just call the front desk prior to your arrival, and we will be sure to block a room for you in the pet-free area.

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and to give us valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Anaheim!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here recently while visiting Disneyland. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers so this hotel worked perfectly for us. We had a penthouse room with a king bed in the loft and two queen beds downstairs and there was room for everyone to enjoy their own space (including two bathrooms). Having a kitchen was handy for snacks and reheating leftovers and taking lunch with us into the parks.
The hotel was convenient to Disney and took us about 15 minutes to walk. Although I must admit, walking that extra 15 minutes at the end of a 12-hour day of walking in the parks got to me by the end of the trip. Next time, I think I would opt for the shuttle.
Yes, as other reviewers have stated, this isn't the best Residence Inn out there at the moment. The furnishings are tired, the rooms are showing much wear and tear, but it is slated to be renovated later on this year.
That being said, the price was right compared to the Disney properties, there was free parking, free breakfast, and the staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear travelbug961,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is great to hear that our hotel was a perfect fit for your family of 4. We understand that our hotel is beginning to show its age. The renovation that we will undergo towards the later part of this year will update our rooms and give our hotel a fresh new look and feel. I am glad that you and your family saw the value in staying at our hotel, and enjoyed your overall stay. We look forward to showing off our newly renovated rooms to you the next time you visit!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights -- it's an old school style Residence Inn...separate buildings with spacious rooms. Plenty of room in our one bedroom for the whole family to stretch out... And it's definitely family-friendly.

The pool is fine - nothing too exciting BUT it's heated very well and it's open 24 hours. A well-heated pool during the cool season trumps a cool water playground anytime (so long as mom and dad want to join the kids in the pool!)

The walk to Disneyland isn't bad - but after a long day of walking around the parks with the kids, you may or may not want to make it. It's probably around a half mile or so if you walk.

Breakfast is really the only negative point here -- it was a disaster both days we tried to go to it. The staff was trying to keep up, but the lines were long and the food was short. Not a great experience.

The hotel has a Disney Desk which is staffed by a Disney person, but they can't do much. All they can do is sell park tickets or bus tickets. We had hoped to be able to exchange some vouchers we had at the Disney Desk but had to wait in line at the main gates instead.

Regarding Anaheim Resort Transportation...that's the bus company that runs around all the resorts in Anaheim. A few pointers: #1, they offer a 3 day pass, but it has to be for consecutive days. #2, they offer a 5 day pass, but you validate it on the first day and then it ends at 3AM on the 5th day. At least that's the way ours worked. So, perhaps a little misleading.

But, back to the hotel. Spacious rooms, great location, warm pool (open 24 hours!) and super kid friendly!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justalittlecrazykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Justalittlecrazykc,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed many of the perks that come with staying at our hotel such as our 24 hour heated pool, our spacious rooms, and our proximity to Disneyland, California Adventure, and nearby dining.

I’m sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience. We encourage guests to come towards the beginning of breakfast to avoid the crowds, however, we also allow guests to enjoy their breakfast in our outdoor patio area, pool area, BBQ area, or even in your hotel room.

Thank you again for your honest review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and look forward to implementing necessary changes to make our service greater for our guests.

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.4 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Property: Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Address: 1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#28 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique all suite condo style hotel located 1/2 mile from Disneyland. All suites have fully equipped kitchens & full size pull out sofa sleepers. We offer suites that can accommodate up to 8 people. We offer the following free amenities: breakfast, grocery shopping services, complimentary parking, wireless internet, business center usage, and more. Our guests have access to purchasing Disneyland park tickets through our on property Disney Desk. On property fire pit & BBQ Grills available for guest use. Pet Friendly ($100 non refundable pet fee for up to 2 pets per room). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing