We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Nearby Hotels
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$133
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$124
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
$219
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$153
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$113
$109
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$540
$508
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$801
$698
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,420)
Filter reviews
1,420 results
Traveler rating
585
559
164
68
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
559
164
68
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenthe penthouseloft roomgrocery shopping servicewafflesdisney deskbasketball courtfree breakfastopen hourssofa bedminute walkfree parkingliving areaown bathroomcheesecake factorygarden walkseparate bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
564 - 569 of 1,420 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Close to Disney (we walked, although they do have a shuttle).
Decent breakfast.
Had a 2 bedroom room with loft, plenty of space and of course always love having a kitchen.
Parking was never a problem.
Lot's of shopping food within walking distance.
Wonderful staff.
Wish I could return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Stephanie011,

Thank you for your review of our hotel! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time at Disneyland. Our location is popular because we are just a ½ mile away from Disneyland which makes for an easy 10-15 minute walk. As you mentioned, guests also have the option to take the ART shuttle which is run by the city of Anaheim. The shuttle takes guests to Disneyland and all around the Anaheim Resort area. The charge is $5 for adults and $2 for children for an all day pass. We are also located near many other Anaheim attractions, such as the Anaheim GardenWalk which provides many dining options, the Anaheim convention Center, the Anaheim Angels Stadium, the Honda Center and more.

Once Again I am thrilled to hear you had such an excellent experience while staying with us, and I hope to welcome you back in the future!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Residence Inn Maingate is a good hotel. It's not the greatest but it is convenient and a place we would come back to in the future. We are a traveling family of 2 elderly, 3 adults and 2 grandchildren aged 2 and 5. We went into Disneyland for 5 days of fun and wanted a place which was convenient enough to break to and return depending on the grandkids. Ww stayed at the Disney Grand California last time and nothing can beat that place for convenience but it is very pricey with rooms costing over $450 per night. We also have stayed at the Marriott Courtyard down the road on Harbor as we are Platinum Marriott travelers. That too is a very nice place to stay but it takes more walking to get to the ART bus so we decided to try the Residence Inn this year.

We used reward points but upgraded to two one bedroom suites. These are very nice rooms as they are essentially two rooms and have kitchen facilities which we did not really utilize but the large refrigerator is a convenience for grandkid food and drinks. I had contacted Rachel via her email as I noticed her replies to these reviews and requested the rooms to be close, downstairs (no elevators on the property) and close to the ART (Anaheim Recreation Transit) pickup site which is onsite on the south end of the hotel. The hotel is comprised of clustered two story buildings each having 2 rooms downstairs, 2 rooms upstairs with an outside staircase to access the upstair units at each corner of the buildings. We were placed along the street side (Clementine St.) which is somewhat busy and you will hear street noise. There is a fire station across the road and during the day they will run out with their sirens but at night didn't notice this so they apparently tend not to use them to get out of the firehouse at night to be good neighbors. Being "sound" sleepers, our group had no problems with the noise. You also will hear the 9:30 p.m. fireworks but being on the side closer to Disneyland, we could see the them and they are fun to watch. Noise is also an issue with people upstairs which depends on who is up there. This hotel is close to Sports Center which So. Calif. Volleyball (SCVBA) is cenetered at so you will run into teams using this site at times which we did. Since each 1 bedroom suite has two queens and a sofabed, you can pack them with kids and this can create a lot of thumping noises overhead. Again, depending on how you sleep, you may want to be the one upstairs thumping rather being thumped upon provided you can manage the stairs. For us, getting grandkids up and down along with the elderly, it was better to be downstairs. As mentioned the rooms are very large and comfortable but there is only one bathroom which is only accesible through the bedroom. Would have been better if they had a door into the bathroom also from the kitchnette/sofabed side but that's the way it's set up.

The hotel is within 15 minutes of walking to Disneyland. You can also get all day ART passes sold in the hotel for about $5 per day. Kids and seniors 65 or older can get discounted passes which average about $1.50 per day. Buses supposedly run every 20 minutes but we seemed to keep missing them and had to wait. They run as early 6:30 and up to 12:30 depending on park hours. Breakfast at the hotel also starts around 6:30 on weekdays and a little later on weekends. The breakfasts are very filling and pretty good but tend to be the same type of food everyday with some changes such as with the meat type, french toast or pancake and what type of fresh fruit offered. However, it is a hot meal so we enjoyed the convenience as we tried to be the first into Disneyland everyday in order to get the most for our money. Even though Disneyland is quite busy during the summer, if you hit the gates early, you can get quite a few rides done in the first two hours, especially the high in demand ones where later in the day, the lines are one or more hours long. Summer is busy but we also have gone during the Xmas holidays which is much more crowded so we were able to cover just about everything we wanted and then some for the 5 days we went. Why 5 days, the ticket pricing encourages you to attend more days such that the 5th day is only round $15 more.

Note that the hottest ride is the Radiator Springs ride which also seemed to break down a lot so be prepared. This ride is on the DCA side and has fastpasses available but you'll find out that they are all gone within two hours of opening. So the key to get at least one fastpass is to get there within one hour of opening as there is a hugh lineup to get fastpasses for this ride. If you are quick, we've been told it's better to hustle down to the ride first thing rather than get into the fastpass line as the park starts staging people into the place 15 minutes before opening and holds them inside by rope barriers before the actual opening time. But the fastpass line starts up as soon as the gate is open so by the time the park actually opens, there is a hugh line of people in a long line for fastpasses. Keep in mind you don't need to have everyone in line, just one person with your entry tickets but everyone has to have activated their tickets by entering either Disneyland or DCA already. So once in either side, just gather all the tickets and send one person over to get the Car fastpass. This ride is well worth doing and one not to miss.

Back to the hotel, there is also a playarea on the northeast side with a play structure which the grandkids enjoyed. One day the little one came back early and used the pool which also is very nice. There are lots of food places nearby and some upscale takeout available within walking distance such as Cheesecake Factory, California Pizza Kitchen and Bubba Gumps. Parking is free which beats some hotels in the area, beds were comfortable but we also brought an airbed rather than use the sofabed which are never very comfortable. Shower tub was convenient for the grandkids which beats shower only hotels. Convnient pay laundry available and the staff was friendly and easy to work with. The place is showing wear but in general a nice place to stay for a Disneyland trip.

Room Tip: Light sleepers, head to the middle and upstairs. Remember, no elevators.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear Pudgie,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I remember speaking with you via email and I most definitely recognize your reservation! I am glad the front desk was able to block your two rooms close together and get those rooms near the ART shuttle stop just as you requested.

It sounds like you had a wonderful time overall while visiting the Anaheim Resort Area. It is reassuring to hear that you found many aspects of our hotel to be convenient and valuable, making us an ideal choice of stay.

Thank you again for your review, and for providing great detail and useful information to all readers in regards to both our hotel and Disneyland. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next visit!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Family (Dad, Mom, Grandma, and 7 y.o. triplets) stayed here the first week in June. We like this time of year because most of the country is still in school. We stayed in the 2 bedroom Loft. Grandma and the kids took the room with 2 queen beds (on the lower level) and the Wife and I took the Loft with the king. Make sure to bring your climbing rope to get up the stairs. j/k They're steep but not too crazy. Loved the full kitchen, we could stock the fridge and pantry area with stuff for the next day, so we would not have to buy lunch at disney eveyday. The pool was a little small but was never too busy to make that much of a difference. They have a small playground on site but my kids were a little too big for it. The room was always clean when we would return from disneyland or other outing for the day. The free buffet breakfast was good, don't have too high expectations, and you will be happy. Eveyone in our family could find something to eat and leave with a full stomach. You really can't complain, its free, if you don't like it, don't eat it.
Is the hotel sort of showing its age? Yes. What do you expect, it's with in walking distance to disneyland, free breakfast, and at a reasonable price. They probably save money by not upgraging the property. As long as stuff works and is safe I am happy.

We had a great trip and when we come back to CA, we will probably stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillisj316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear gillisj316,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad that you were able to enjoy your vacation with your family.

It is great that you were able to utilize the full size kitchen in your suite. Guests are able to have home-cooked meals and store snacks to take to the park, just as your family did! We also offer a complimentary grocery service where we will deliver the groceries straight to your room; just leave us your list by 9am. If you would like groceries delivered to your room upon your arrival, you can email the front desk at residenceinnprinter@gmail.com.

Due to our popularity, we see guests coming in and out of our hotel quite frequently, and as you mentioned, our hotel is beginning to show its age. We appreciate your patience as we await our upcoming renovation.

Thank you again for your review of our hotel. We love to hear about the experiences of our guests when they visit the Anaheim Resort Area! I look forward to seeing you again soon!

Rachel Smith
Front Office Supervisor
rsmith@rimhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

we got the penthouse, 1 king bed on the LOFT & 2 queen bed, living room, full kitchen, 2 full bathroom. The service and the place was very relaxing as if you are just in your own home. I only have 2 concern. On the LOFT area, AC is not reaching it or not enough to cool the area. I needed to request for an electric fan to circulate, although they do have a ceiling fan in the living room was not very helpful at all. Second concern: On the LOFT area - not good if you are traveling with a toddler. SAFETY issue. The head of the bed over looking the living room was very scary if you have a toddler / kids. I have to switch bed with my sister and end up staying on the 1st floor. Otherwise, we are all responsible with our kids safety.
Surrounding or Environment was quiet, PET FRIENDLY, breakfast buffet was great and has a bigger area. WIFI free .

Room Tip: any room I guess
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isawlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear isawlulu,

Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. Our team strives to make you feel at home while you stay with us, so I am very pleased to hear you felt just that!

I understand the concerns you have with the loft of the Penthouse Suite. Since heat rises, there is a temperature difference between the upstairs and downstairs areas of the suite. In order to accommodate guests who feel warmth upstairs, we offer portable fans for guests to use. We have also anticipated parents’ safety concerns when it comes to the open loft area. To prepare for that, we have baby gates to loan out to guests which are located at the front desk upon request. For guests who still do not feel comfortable with the layout of the Penthouse Suite, our property has a Two-Bedroom suite. The Two-Bedroom suite is a one-floor suite that, just like the penthouse suite, can accommodate up to 8 people, and is a great option for families with toddlers.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate and value you as our guest. I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again on your next Anaheim visit!

Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
rsmith@rimhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Travelling with a 4yr old, choose this hotel for the kitchen. Studio room was spacious. Kitchen with utensils was great. Breakfast was very good. Parking is right in front of the room. Short drive to Disneyland. Restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: stayed on the second floor, no issues.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saravanan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear saravanan b,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad that you found our studio suite to be comfortable and a perfect fit for you and your 4 year old. Our suites are about 50% larger than the standard hotel room, and as you mentioned, have full size kitchens that are equipped with cookware and dining sets.

Thank you again for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Anaheim Resort Area!

Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
rsmith@rimhospitality.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews