We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas and New Years!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Ranked #35 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Christmas and New Years!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had our annual family reunion (Dec 22-Jan 3rd) and as we usually do, we stayed at the Residence Inn Maingate. We had a 2 bedroom unit. We really enjoy staying at this property. The distance to Disneyland is great. ART runs on an irregular schedule, but since they aren't part of Residence Inn, can't fault them.

The rooms are large and comfortable. The bedding is great. We usually call for extra pillows and blankets, and they are delivered promptly. The rooms were made up daily, although we did seem to be last on the list. When I knew we needed the room cleaned early (friends coming by) I called to ask for earlier service. We had packages delivered, and the front desk was very helpful in getting them to our room for me.

The breakfast area is crowded. That is expected. I usually pick up food and take it back to the room. We usually weren't back in time to enjoy the evening manager's special.

My kids enjoy that the pool is open around the clock. They enjoy a dip after a long day at Disneyland.

While this is not a luxury hotel, it is more of a home feel. We enjoy the shopping service. I can leave a list of what I need at the front desk in the am, and it is put away in my room by afternoon. They leave the receipt and you are simply charged the Albertson's charges. Nothing extra.

Parking is a pain during busy times, and we usually request a room in the back for the ease of parking when we need to drive somewhere. Also, ART also picks up in the back of the building by Motel 6, and it is often faster to use than the pick up by building 6.

I want to thank the staff, from Scott, Henri, and Kimberly, who always make us feel welcome!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcon10t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Malcon10t,

Thank you so much for your excellent review, and for choosing to stay with us each year for your annual family reunion. It is great to hear that our staff did such an awesome job in accommodating all of your needs. If any guest has special needs or requests, please give the front desk a call the morning of, or a few days before your arrival date, and we will do our best to accommodate those requests.

We also want to thank you for bringing your experience of an irregular schedule with the ART shuttle to our attention. Although we are not directly affiliated with ART, we want our guests to be properly informed when it comes to the shuttle pick up times. Depending on the amount of volume and traffic the ART shuttle experiences during any given day, there is generally a 20-30 minute window between shuttle busses as they arrive to our property. We will definitely keep in contact with the ART management team to prevent any further miscommunications.

Marriott offers many different hotel styles for the various types of travelers who visit the Anaheim Resort area. For guests who require full service needs such as a spa, bellman, an on-site restaurant, and any other “luxury” preferences, the full service Marriott near the Anaheim Convention Center would be a great option. Residence Inn is great for guests who are looking for quality accommodations and convenience. We offer amenities such as a complimentary hot buffet breakfast every morning, complimentary on-site parking, complimentary wireless internet, the sport court and playground for children, and much more. Our rooms are 50% larger than the standard hotel room and have full size kitchens in each. Our hotel caters to, and is perfect for families who are looking for the feel of being home away from home.

Thank you again for staying with us each year, and I hope to meet you at next year’s family reunion!

Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    522
    150
    59
    35
See reviews for
945
102
12
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at this property. Our first visit was over Christmas in 2010 and we hoped that our experience would be as good as our last. We were not disappointed.

One of the reasons we love this hotel is that we are able to bring our dog along on vacation! She is happiest when she is with us so for us this is perfect.

I like the fact that this is set up as condo type living. Nothing worse than having to sit on a bed for a week long stay in a hotel. There was a nice and comfortable chesterfield and chair for lounging on. Fully supplied kitchen with full sized fridge, stove and microwave. It was perfect for making simple things for dinner or heating leftovers from The Cheesecake Factory across the street.

No complaints about the breakfast as there was always fresh fruit along with the various different options. Still don't understand the biscuits and gravy for breakfast though!

We did not find the pool over chlorinated at all and we used it most days. We do find the general water in the area generally drys our skin and hair so we always bring along plenty of moisturizers and conditioners. The basketball hoop was also a big hit with us. We brought our own ball with us as it was also used during our stop at Laguna Beach but the lobby also has basketballs to use during your stay.

As previously mentioned this is not a luxury resort but it is perfect for us to feel like we are truly "home" after a long day in Disneyland.

We did not use the ART system as it only takes 10 minutes to walk to Disneyland which we did a number of times each day.

I have recommended this resort to many friends and families so I am happy to see it is exactly how we remembered it from 2010.

Next time we return, we will definitely stay here again.

Until next time.............

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westcoastgirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Westcoastgirl2012,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again. I am especially pleased that we were able to meet your expectations for a second time in a row!
Many guests would agree that the $100 flat rate fee, regardless of the length of stay, is well worth being able to bring their beloved pet along with them on vacation. We love that our guests are able to bring their pets along with them on their trip without having to worry about finding separate lodging for their pet while they spend the day at Disneyland. We will even work with you and your pet when it comes to arranging a good time for housekeeping to service your room.
It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our pool during your stay. Our engineering staff checks the chemical levels of our pool and hot tub at least twice a day. Being that our pool is open 24 hours and is fully heated, it is a great opportunity for guests to relax after a long day in our pool or hot tub.
Thank you again for not only giving us a second chance to offer you a great hotel stay, but for recommending us to your friends and family members. We appreciate your business, and we look forward to seeing you for your third visit!


Rachel Smith
Guest Service Specialist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here in December of 2009, celebrating NYE 2010. We had our family and my sister-n-law in a great two bedroom, 2 bathroom suite. This property is a great location to Disneyland and is on the ART bus transfer route to the Disney parks.

The hotel offers a full hot breakfast buffet that is top notch. The pool and hot tub was great.

I highly recommed this property for your stay in Anaheim.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khrystyne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Khrystyne O,


Thank you for your review on our hotel, and for keeping us in mind all these years. I am glad that you enjoyed our largest suite on property, the Two Bedroom suite!


Thank you for mentioning the Anaheim Resort Transit (ART) shuttle as it is very helpful after a long day at Disney. The ART is just a small fee of $5 per adult and $2 for children ages 3-9 years old for an all day pass.


Hopefully you will return shortly, or perhaps celebrate another new year with us!


“Suite” Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is an excellent choice if you are willing to spend a few days in Disney. It is clean, service is good, has included breakfast, internet and parking. It is NOT a luxury hotel.

Disney is within walking distance from the hotel. It takes about 10 minutes and we even came back to the hotel for a quick nap to recharge in the middle of the day. We didn't use the ART.

The breakfast is very good if you like to eat tons of food. It lacks, however, some healthier choices.

The only real problem I found was the bathroom. It was small and the shower was too low on the wall. I am not tall, but had to bend foward and lower my head to wash it.

Overall, the value is excellent if you are not expecting a luxury setting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oswaldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Oswaldo M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our property. I am glad that you felt that the services properly accommodated you and your family. You are absolutely correct in mentioning that we are not a luxury hotel. Though all of our rooms are fully equipped suites, because of our distance to Disneyland we cater to mostly families.


As far as the breakfast, we offer a full hot buffet that has many different options for all families. Some of the options we offer are make your own waffles, two different types of eggs, pancakes, french toast, and a rotation of ham, sausage or bacon. For guests who are looking for a lighter breakfast we also offer options such as hot and cold cereals, fresh fruits, yogurt, wheat/white bread, bagels and cream cheese, and granola. If there are any specific diets a guest may have our kitchen staff does all they can do to accommodate those needs.


Thank you again for your time. We hope to see you back soon!


“Suite” Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of the reviews and we like staying at "condo" style hotels. Our family of four (2 big kids and a 6 and 2yr old) were not dissappointed. We stayed in a one bedroom suite. If was wonderful. The suite was clean, and big enough for all four of us to unwind. At check in, we met Kimberly Rosales in person, who had our special requests taken care of. We used the grocery service and the milk, pop, yogurt drinks, water and the hair care products were in our room upon our arrival. We asked and received an upstairs room that was away from the fire hall and main roads. If you want quiet ask for room 1323. Yes its a short one minute walk to the hotel lobby, ART bus stop and pool, but who cares. The housekeeping staff cleaned our room each day and we always had fresh towels. Yes its a 30 yr property, so there is the obvious wear and tear that buildings and rooms have, but again who cares. The landscape was well taken care of.

It's a family orientated hotel. Everyone there is mostly there for Disneyland. The free morning breakfasts are great with lots of selections. Even my picky 6 yr old found something she liked. Go early to beat the rush. Or just bring back to your room a plate of food. They also have a small food store. Nice to have so that you don't need to go to 7-11.

Use the ART bus passes. You can buy them right in the lobby. Very conventient and the bus goes right to Disneyland and back to the hotel. $27.00 for a 3 day unlimited use for the entire family. (2 yr old rides free). Yes you can walk, but if you have little people with you use the bus.

Another big bonus is that they have car seats that you may borrow. We used them in a cab so that we could go out for dinner. We just brought it into restaurant and then cabbed back after dinner. Its a nice service to have, in that we didn't have to bring our own car seats from Canada.

Overall for the price and quaility, I highly recommend this hotel. When we return we will be staying here again.

Thank-you again Kimberly and your staff.

The Geraces

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Ryan G,


Wow! Your review was such a pleasure to read! It was also a pleasure to be able to meet and accommodate you and your family as well. I wanted to point out what a perfect example you are to our guests who are considering submitting a grocery order. For those who would like their groceries delivered to their room upon arrival please feel free to contact myself or my front desk team to submit a grocery order.


I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. I appreciate your suggestion to enjoy breakfast earlier as the crowds do tend to accumulate between 8:30-9:30am. I would have to say the best part about breakfast would be that you are able to enjoy it back in the room!


It’s safe to say that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we can expect a visit from you in the future. I hope you will not hesitate to contact me again whenever you decide to return to the Anaheim Resort area. Thank you for all of your kind comments and it was a pleasure to meet you and your family!


“Suite” Regards,

Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were in California for 12 days and stayed at the Residence Inn on two separate occasions during that time. In total we stayed there for 8 days. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen. Both were good but we much preferred our second stay. The suite we had was a much different layout and seemed bigger. It also had a deck and our first suite didn't have that.
Here are some pros and cons to the Residence Inn
Pros
- clean suites with everything you'll need
- full kitchen
- nice grounds, well maintained
- good location (short walk to Disney)
- excellent customer service from the front desk
- shuttle bus to Disney
- Disney desk in front lobby
- on site laundry (you can pack less and just wash things!)
- walking distance to restaurants
- Target is a short drive for anything you've forgot
- breakfast included (we didn't use this because our kids are gluten and dairy free)
- quiet and away from the chaos of Disney

Cons
- pool is over-chlorinated (your skin and hair will smell for a couple days after a single use, even after showering) and caused skin itchiness and dried out hair for my kids and they're not usually sensitive to chlorine
- pillows are uncomfortable (bring your own if you can fit them)
- we had to forego cleaning a couple times because the cleaners came to our room around dinner time to clean which was inconvenient

We would definitely return to the Residence Inn and would recommend it to friends with the suggestion that they shower and moisturize and condition their hair after EVERY use of the pool. :) I know it seems silly but it was quite bad for our kids.

Room Tip: The 2nd floor 1 bedroom suite in building 5 was bigger and had a better layout than our ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilybeevictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear lilybeevictoria,


I appreciate your time in writing a review on your recent stay with us. You resided with us for quite some time (12 days), where did you travel from? Thank you for taking the time to write out some of the pros and cons you experienced at our hotel. I would like to take the time to touch up on some of the cons that you mentioned:

Pool: I apologize for the skin irritation that you endured after swimming in our pool. Our engineers check the chlorine levels at least twice a day; I will bring this matter up to our head engineer so we can seek matters thoroughly. In the future, please inform the desk so that we are able to settle chlorine levels accordingly.

Pillows: We understand that guests have different preferences when it comes to sleeping arrangements. With that said, we do like to offer many choices for guests. Some include extra linen, mattress pads, and a choice between feather and foam pillows.

Service: I am sorry for the later service. Generally, our housekeepers are assigned a certain amount of rooms and clean the “check out” rooms and from there clean the stay over rooms after. Chances are that during this period of time the housekeeper may have had more “check out” rooms than stay over rooms. Again, this does not justify a proper service and I will make sure I make this aware to our management.

Thank you again so much for your time and your valuable feedback.


“Suite” Regards,

Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centralia, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We rented a suite with the loft and two bathrooms for 4 adults and 2 children. it was great. Housekeeping did a great job. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. The shuttle bus to Disneyland was very convenient. The kitchen area was wonderful for us considering that we had small children. It was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We chose the suite with 2 bathrooms--really helped out with all of us trying to get ready at the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 676Ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear 676Ruth,


Thank you for your review! I am glad that all of the amenities worked out for the greater good. I absolutely agree that our kitchens make it very convenient and easy for cooking for a large family. This can also save guests a fair amount of money instead of having to dine out every night. I highly suggest the next time you come to visit us that you try our grocery shopping service. This complementary service allows guests to fill out a list of their desired foods and we go out and do the shopping for them and have it in your room the same day! Feel free to email me your list if you decide to do so at krosales@rimhospitality.com.


I look forward to seeing you back very soon!


“Suite” Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.5 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
1,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Anaheim - Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Property: Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
Address: 1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802-2902
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#28 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique all suite condo style hotel located 1/2 mile from Disneyland. All suites have fully equipped kitchens & full size pull out sofa sleepers. We offer suites that can accommodate up to 8 people. We offer the following free amenities: breakfast, grocery shopping services, complimentary parking, wireless internet, business center usage, and more. Our guests have access to purchasing Disneyland park tickets through our on property Disney Desk. On property fire pit & BBQ Grills available for guest use. Pet Friendly ($100 non refundable pet fee for up to 2 pets per room). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing