We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
gilroy
2 reviews
“Do not stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

I recently stayed at the Anaheim Red Lion Hotel and let me say it was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Upon arrival we checked in to our very small room and found that the AC was not working properly in the room or on the 8th floor where our room was. Every day we turned on the air and when we came back to our room it was set at 80 degrees, when it is over 90 out, we expect to come back to a nicely cooled room and that never happened. The repair man told us it was the maids that turned it off, but since it turned off at night as well I don't believe that was the case.

Our shower head had barely any water pressure and it was broken. When trying to shower you had to lean up against the wall to be able to get to the water. When I told the front desk at 8am they said they would have someone up to fix it right away, when we arrived later that afternoon it was not fixed. Front desk said they would send someone up in an hour, and that person showed up at 3pm (2 hours later), we asked if they could give us 30 minutes since our kids were still sleeping and the guy said he was leaving in an hour for the day so he couldn't come back till tomorrow. SO we expected that the next day the shower would be fixed, it was not. 3 days without a properly working shower for 4 people is not acceptable!

Also there were huge stains on the sheets, they looked like they had not even been changed upon arrival the 1st day, very gross! Carpets were filthy, dust lined everything even in the bathroom.

I really wish someone would have called to tell us the pool would be closed during our entire visit, as well as the restaurant! To have to be told on our only summer vacation that my kids (4 and 1.5) will have to walk across the street to a different pool is very inconvenient, dragging wet kids all over the place is not my idea of a relaxing vacation.

Staying at the Red Lion ruined our vacation, we would have been better off staying at a motel, the amenities were about the same. I am very annoyed at the service we were provided and the uncleanliness of the hotel during our sta

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlover0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToddRogers, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Beachlover,

I wanted to take this opportunity to personally apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your visit with us. The experiences that you shared are totally unacceptable at our hotel and will not be tolerated at any level throughout our property. I can personally assure you that we are taking your experiences and making them into opportunities to learn from and to further excel our customer service levels for all of our guests.

Again, please accept my heartfelt apologies and please feel free to contact me directly to rectify this situation.

Warmest Regards,


Todd Rogers
Revenue Manager
Red Lion Anaheim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    794
    399
    188
    122
See reviews for
1,156
351
63
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2010

We booked this hotel last minute after reading horror stories about another hotel, happy to say we made the right choice. We arrived before check in time and the Red Lion staff were more than happy to let us have the room early. Hotel room was very clean and comfortable,staff was friendly,breakfast buffet was excellent..wow! We recommend this hotel highly...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

This was a lovely modern clean hotel which met all our expectations. You can't go wrong with this one. Walk to Disneyland, reasonable overnight car parking and good discount shopping and eating all around it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minniemouse1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,AZ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Recently stayed at the Red Lion Hotel for our Disneyland trip. We stayed a total of 3 nights. My girlfriend and I were impressed with the hotel and rooms. Very comfortable and nice amenities. The front desk staff was welcoming and answered any questions we had. The breakfast buffet was nice and affordable($9.95 p/p) which included the usual; eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, french toast, pancakes, cereal, fruit, toast, bagels, danishes, as well as juice, coffee, hot cocoa etc.

We would stay at this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone. It is about a 10-15 min walk(depending on how fast you walk) to Disneyland's main entrance. I would highly suggest buying the bus pass for the day($4 roundtrip). The front desk staff suggested we walk the first night and after a long night at the park, we did not want to walk back. Well worth the $4 dollars p/p. The only thing the room lacked was a refridgerator which would have been nice to have. Overall, very nice hotel and affordable. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aztolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

This hotal had nice clean large rooms. Went for the breakfast package, since they advertised a roaring breakfast buffet. If I stay there again, I would not pay the extra price for the breakfast which the web site claimed was a $14.99 value, it was $9.99 actually. They were in no way prepared for a large crowd, had to wait in line over 20 minutes every morning to be seated even though they had plenty of empty tables. they could not keep up on replenishing the food. Next time I would go the IHOp next door and probably save money. Was within walking distance to the parks which was a plus

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SageC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

We've stayed at several non-Disney hotels near Disneyland and the Red Lion Anaheim has been our best experience. The hotel is extremely clean, nicely remodeled and the staff was friendly and efficient. The Red Lion is two and a half long blocks from Disneyland. About a ten minute walk. There is a city shuttle, but we hoofed it. And after a long day at the park, no one looked forward to the walk back. Regardless, given that the parking was free and we didn't have to hassle with the Mouse's tram, the walk was acceptable. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

First let me say that my king-sized room was spacious and well organized. I appreciated that a white noise machine was in play when I walked in. Also, internet access is fast.

And then I started settling in. I decided to take a shower and realized that the person who had the room before me was definitely a brunette...judging by the hairs coiled in the corner of the shower. Then I noticed that some of the fixtures in the bathroom (towel racks, etc) were losing parts.

Also, the bathroom had only 3/8 of an inch of toilet paper on the roll and no spare. No problem. I called housekeeping and left a VM to send up some toilet paper. I eventually had to go down to the lobby to get an extra roll. They were out, so they called someone who sent up a roll.

I tried out the restaurant and and the food was so bad it was almost inedible. I sent a salad back because there was so much dressing on it I couldn't eat it. The replacement salad had so many strands of spoiled lettuce that I had to pick out the slimy green pieces. The buffalo wings were so over fried they looked like small brown nuts and were almost as hard.

But all of this was just a prelude to sleeping on the opposite side of the bed that I prefer because of the stained sheet.

Bottom Line: To gross to rebook. The cleaning and maintenance staff clearly need either more resources and/or training. But the restaurant needs to be rethought entirely. It's shameful to serve the kind of food they do in this day and age.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EzBeinGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#23 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort

Property: Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Address: 1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Good Neighbor Disneyland Resort Hotel, the Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort is renovated with a contemporary, timeless design, vibrant decor, and state-of-the-art facilities. Enjoy our modern getaway in Anaheim, California. Our sleek, sophisticated interiors, rich color palette, and luxurious finishes create an inspired atmosphere for playing and working. Our innovative hotel is a playful retreat for vacationing families, corporate travelers, and meeting groups. The inviting ambiance and friendly personal service guarantee that you will enjoy your stay! We are a Disneyland Resort Good Neighbor Anaheim Hotel, one block from Disneyland Resort, Anaheim Convention Center, and Anaheim GardenWalk. Our convenient Anaheim hotel is a haven of hospitality in Anaheim. Mere minutes from House of Blues Anaheim, Honda Center, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, The Grove of Anaheim, MUZEO, and the Outlets at Orange. Take a scenic drive to Long Beach, Newport Beach, Los Angeles and Universal Studios Hollywood. Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort's Rooms are Smart, Sleek, and Stylish. Relax in beautifully decorated rooms with progressive design and cool Southern California style. Featuring the only ELSA technology among hotels in the United States, Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort has translation capabilities that make interactions with international travelers much more efficient. The rooms at this Anaheim family friendly and business friendly hotel feature spacious work areas, free high-speed wireless Internet access, Keurig Coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, iPod alarm clocks, granite bathrooms, and 37" flat-screen TVs. We are an are ideal location for Anaheim family vacations and corporate retreats. Wired with intelligent technology and entertainment, you'll stay connected and comfortable at this Anaheim hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Anaheim
Anaheim Red Lion
Anaheim Maingate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing