We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and clean” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Carlsbad, New Mexico
1 review
“Comfortable and clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Red Lion on our recent vacation to Disneyland & Knott's Berry Farm. I checked out reviews on dozens of hotels before we settled on Red Lion. I was looking for a hotel rated at least 3 1/2 stars, with 90% or more favorable recommendations, and within 15 minutes walking distance of Disneyland. There were only a few that fit that criteria, and of those, there were things in the reviews that caused me some concern. I finally narrowed down my choice to Red Lion and the Sheraton across the street. But since I got a really great online senior/AARP discount rate at Red Lion (about $60 a night less than the Sheraton), I chose the Red Lion.

On the positive side, we asked for a received a quiet room that was away from street noise, elevators, and ice machines. Check in and check out was quick and easy. The room was clean and, although I am used to a Temperpedic mattress, I found the beds were reasonably comfortable. The in-room refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, clock-radio, and hair dryer all came in very handy. (However, my sister used the coffee maker to make hot water for tea, and had trouble getting the water hot enough.) The TV was a large flat-screen with a clear picture. We didn't use the free Internet access, so I can't comment on it's efficiency. The bathroom had a shower/tub combo and a large marble vanity with a large, well-lighted mirror. We had plenty of room to spread out our girly lotions and potions and curling irons, etc. (We would have prefered a sink/vanity seperate from the bath, so one of us could fix hair while the other showered--but that was a minor quibble.) And they actually provided glasses (not plastic cups), which was very nice when we used one to hold our toothbrushes (platic cups tend to tip over).

Parking (for $14 a day) was easy with in/out priviledges with a parking pass card that raised the entry and exit gates. There was ample parking and we were able to park quite near the back door of the hotel, which allowed us easy access to the hotel with our keycard. (The back door was unlocked during the day, but needed a keycard at night.) At the end of our stay, we simply packed our bags, loaded the car, and exited the parking lot, driving around to the covered driveway in front of the hotel's main doors. We turned in the parking pass, settled our bill, and were on our way.

The Red Lion was indeed within easy 15 minute walking distance of Disney, and the walk was tree lined and pleasant. For those who prefer, there was an ART shuttle stop right in front of the hotel, and the shuttle runs every 20 minutes. For $4 a day, you can ride the shuttle to the park and back to the hotel. There was a ticket kiosk at the hotel.

We dined in the hotel's Italian restaurant our first night, the pasta and breadsticks were delicious, but the waitress poured too much dressing on the salad--I would recommend asking for your dressing on the side. We also made use, one day, of the 24-hour Cafe2Go, picking up sandwiches with whole grain bread, and fresh fruit. It was very handy for quick snacks. We did not use Red Lion's breakfast buffet option ($10) as I don't eat eggs, sausage, bacon, white-flour pancackes, or cereal, and I didn't want to pay $10 just for yogurt and country potatoes. Instead we discovered an IHOP right next door and went there for breakfast (they have wonderful whole-grain, blueberry pancakes). IHOP is a very handy option, although more expensive, if the Red Lion's breakfast buffet does not appeal to you.

We did not use the swimming pool or exercise room, although they looked nice.

On the negative side, we had only minor quibbles. The light in the bathroom was attached to a motion sensor. I like long, hot showers after 15 hours touring theme parks. And I found that the light would turn off before I got out of the shower. Fortunately, there is a light over the tub that did not go out (assuming you remembered to turn it on). When the light over the bathroom mirrors went out due to lack of motion (it didn't sense me behind the shower curtain), I'd open the curtain a little and wave my arms and the light would come back on. A minor annoyance, and not a deal breaker--but be sure to turn on the light over the tub when showering! Another minor annoyance with the motion sensing bathroom light is that it would turn on when you went to the bathroom at night, dealing a big shock to night-adapted eyes. However, I had packed a night light, and I left it plugged into the bathroom. Turning off the motion sensing light did not keep it off-- if it sensed motion. So at night, I left the bathroom door almost all the way closed. When I began to open the bathroom door at night and the motion sensor turned on the very bright light, I quickly hit the switch, located right next to the door, to turn it off again, and was able to use the bathroom in the gentle glow of my nightlight.

My other minor quibble was with the bathroom fixtures. The hardware that held the roll of toilet paper was an open ended curving shape. It was very easy to accidentally pull the entire roll of toilet paper off the hardware when you were trying to pull a few sheets off the roll. When that happend the roll of TP was now rolling around on the floor, picking up whatever germs are on the floor that you've tracked in on your shoes. Eeww! After the first time this happened, we no longer used the toilet paper holder fixture. We simply placed the roll of TP on the vanity counter top and grabbed it from there. Another quibble is the quality of the TP itself. The paper was so thin it was almost see-through. You had to use a lot more sheets than you would have for a better quality, heavier, quilted toilet paper. This irked me considerably. I don't see why a nice hotel, with nice quality linens and towels feels the need to use such cheap toilet paper. What's the point of using super thin TP if you have to use more of it?!

Overall, however, we were pleased with the Red Lion, and would use it again. The minor quibbles were not deal-breakers. The Red Lion was clean, comfortable, quiet, well-located, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    794
    399
    188
    122
See reviews for
1,156
351
63
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

I'm not sure where the prevous reviewer gets "Chinese hotel" close to nothing from...it's right by Disney and Anaheim Gardenwalk! I agree with one reviewer's comment about the noisy AC, but the beds were comfy and room was clean. One could walk to Disney easily but after a full day, the shuttle is nice to take. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peach13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Just spent 9 nights here with my family-total 4. Hotel was much better than expected so a pleasant surprise. Nice spacious rooms and nicely renovated. Only complaint was the air conditioning was very noisy at night but we got used to it and coped with it, Hotel had a great fitness centre and outdoor heated pool area . Everything nicely done. Reception staff were quite good, probably lacked a little "local information" on how to get to things away from the Disneyland area. All in all, a great stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Hotel and room was very clean, decor was modern which was a nice change from usual hotel decor. We got an awesome deal which included free breakfast every day (this was the kids' favorite part). We all loved the breakfast buffet (NOT continental) which included french toast, pancakes, eggs, potatoes, hot cereal, fresh fruit, and many other breakfast items. We would stay here again for sure!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adimus_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

After travelling 24hrs to get to here from Australia, check in was quick and friendly.
The rooms were great, recently refurbished.
Very comfortable king sized bed in good sized rooms.
Got a good deal for our 7 nights which included room, breakfast and parking. Also were given passes for the ART buses for our stay as our deal included daily Disneyland transfers but due to a problem this was upgraded to the ART.
Hotel was well located to everything needed.
Overall would definately recommend this place

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdelaideAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

No waiting to check in. Was able to purchase hopper passes at the front desk. The room was great with micro, fridge and coffee pot. Loved the automatic light in bathroom. Great 37 inch flat screen tv. rooms were clean with lots of towels, Quiet room even by elevators. Had view of park so we could see the fireworks. The only disapointment was the roaring start buffet breakfest...we were there for at least 20 minutes and the fresh fruit layed empty and we had to ask 3 times for coffee. But other then that it was ok. I would recommend going next door to IHOP for breakfest. For the same price as the buffet it was a better deal. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed firework view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dishdrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

I recently took 43 8th graders and 4 chaperones to Disneyland. We stayed at the Red Lion and had an excellent experience. They were very accommodating and very helpful. The woman I was in contact with to arrange for the group answered emails right away, they let us come in early and store our bags, the rooms were very clean, and the staff behind the desk were very nice. The kids were impressed by the rooms and were excited to stay in the hotel. Overall, this was a great place to bring a large group of students.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank airlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
Ramada Plaza Anaheim
#23 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort

Property: Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Address: 1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Good Neighbor Disneyland Resort Hotel, the Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort is renovated with a contemporary, timeless design, vibrant decor, and state-of-the-art facilities. Enjoy our modern getaway in Anaheim, California. Our sleek, sophisticated interiors, rich color palette, and luxurious finishes create an inspired atmosphere for playing and working. Our innovative hotel is a playful retreat for vacationing families, corporate travelers, and meeting groups. The inviting ambiance and friendly personal service guarantee that you will enjoy your stay! We are a Disneyland Resort Good Neighbor Anaheim Hotel, one block from Disneyland Resort, Anaheim Convention Center, and Anaheim GardenWalk. Our convenient Anaheim hotel is a haven of hospitality in Anaheim. Mere minutes from House of Blues Anaheim, Honda Center, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, The Grove of Anaheim, MUZEO, and the Outlets at Orange. Take a scenic drive to Long Beach, Newport Beach, Los Angeles and Universal Studios Hollywood. Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort's Rooms are Smart, Sleek, and Stylish. Relax in beautifully decorated rooms with progressive design and cool Southern California style. Featuring the only ELSA technology among hotels in the United States, Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort has translation capabilities that make interactions with international travelers much more efficient. The rooms at this Anaheim family friendly and business friendly hotel feature spacious work areas, free high-speed wireless Internet access, Keurig Coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, iPod alarm clocks, granite bathrooms, and 37" flat-screen TVs. We are an are ideal location for Anaheim family vacations and corporate retreats. Wired with intelligent technology and entertainment, you'll stay connected and comfortable at this Anaheim hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Anaheim
Anaheim Red Lion
Anaheim Maingate Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing