We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never stay here again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Ranked #82 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
“Will never stay here again!”
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed at this hotel with our 3 children and 3 adults. We were here because we came to Disneyland for Christmas...The only thing that was convenient was how close it is to Disneyland but other than that it was very unsatisfactory! I came down to the front desk to get some change for the vending machine and stood in front of an older gentleman for about a good 3-5 minutes before I finally said, "Do you work here?" He stated yes give me just one second, the whole time Im standing there he never once even looks at me, so then he finally said, What do you need, I said I need some change and he tells me to hold on so the other guy could help me, well the other guy was already helping two other guest and that is why I came to him to begin with...so then he waits a few minutes and then says Ok let me go see if I have any, he goes to the back and comes back and gives me change. He looked to maybe be a manager, and that is even worse, a manger should go above and beyond to help guest. I work front desk for a hotel and if anyone at my property treated a guest that way they would probably be asked to leave...but since this hotel is obviously going to make money no matter what because of the location they will probably not even care about negative feedback. I spent my Christmas away from home hoping to be treated with great hospitality...and if your looking for a place that is going to give you exceptional customer service then this is not the hotel for you. Needless to stay I will never return to this property nor will I recommend it to any of my friends or any of the business travelers that I know.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HGIchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM002, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
I apologize for the not-so-stellar service you recieved. I will definitely see to it that our attention to guests' needs are better handled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    245
    270
    142
    106
See reviews for
414
115
35
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed at the Clarion in Anaheim on our trip to Disneyland. The best thing about the hotel is its proximity to the Disney parks. It is also pretty affordable. We only paid $70/night during the week after christmas so I was pleased with that. For that price I don't expect the Four Seasons but I do expect courteous service.

During check-in the girl at the front desk was exceedingly rude to both me and my wife. It was as though we were an extreme annoyance by wanting to stay there. This kicked off our stay on a bad note. We brought our son's pack and play for him to sleep in. We asked for a crib sheet to be brought up and they said they would but it never showed. My wife finally went downstairs to the same rude girl and got on 2hrs later.

They have a couple restaurants on site but you'll get better food from the gas station on the corner. The first night we got something from the "Mexicana Cafe". Oddly enough there wasn't a single thing on the menu that was Mexican. The wings weren't terrible but the spaghetti and mystery-meatballs was wretched. On the day of our departure we had breakfast at the Tivoli Garden. This is quite possibly the worst breakfast I've had in years....makes one long for the Waffle House.

If all you want is a cheap place to lay your head then this place fits the bill. The Anaheim Resort Transit bus comes right to the front door and gets you to and from the parks for $4/day/person.

All in all I cannot recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pengwinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM002, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
I am sorry that we did not contribute to you having a good vacation during your trip to Disneyland. I am working to improve our service and hope that you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

After having this hotel recommended to us by a previous group who had travelled here, we decided to take our group to this hotel. Whilst the hotel is in a convenient location for Disneyland that is about where the good points about the hotel finish. The standard has slipped dramatically in 4 years to the point where we will never go back, nor recommend anyone else goes there, and it is a shame that this is what 60 people will remember from their time in Anaheim. The rooms were never cleaned properly, on 2 occasions we found the housekeeping staff dirty cleaning towels left in our room after it had supposedly been serviced. On several occasions the door of one of our rooms was left open after being serviced (this happened 3 days in a row and was reported each time and nothing done about it). The food which was supposed to have been fantastic last time was so bad several people in the group went without both Breakfast and Dinner preferring to eat at Disneyland which is not cheap either.
The Front Desk staff appeared to be unhappy about being at work each time, were not helpful or welcoming in anyway and when there was a problem they looked at us as if we were invisible, getting quarters for the washing machine was a hassle, by the way the washing machines also failed to work on several occasions throughout our stay and again no staff seemed to think this was a problem worth fixing.
Please do not stay here no matter what the price is, you will be thoroughly dissapointed with this property and it's staff.

I can safely say that THIS IS THE WORST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN and I have travelled extensively.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjrb_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM002, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
I am extremely sorry that we did not reach your expectations. We are correcting the issues that you pointed out, and hope that you change your mind about returning and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Room was clean and decently appointed considering this is not an upscale hotel. Was there for a convention and the price was cheaper than anything else close by. Would have prefered 1 king bed instead of 2 doubles but I knew that beforehand. The staff were very nice, breakfast in the restaurant was actually pretty decent, peaceful and attentive. So if you can't afford to stay at the Hillton, it's a good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty_Raleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM002, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Thank you for kind response. We hope that you choose to come back for your next trip to a Convention, or to Disneyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

I stayed at the Clarion in Anaheim for a Conference. The location was perfect for us, an easy walk to the Convention Center. We had no problems checking in or out (on heavy traffic days). The rooms were modest. It is obviously an older hotel that has done some updates. We only ate breakfast at the hotel. It was good, but they were understaffed. The wireless was free, but inadequate. In terms of the surrounding hotels, we could have chosen a nicer one, but we would have paid more for it. Overall, we had a pleasant trip and with a few caveats I would recommend it to fellow business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designgrl9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We arrived at the hotel after a very long flight on September 18 around 2am . The man behind the desk was the rudest person ever. He kept making insulting gestures when my fiance was trying to read the license plate number of the rental keys. We thought the worst was over so after taking a shower and trying to get into bed we noticed these 2 big brown spots on the sheets. We tried to call the desk and no one picked up. So my fiance had to go down and let them know. The rude man wouldn't even listen to him so instead he sends the security guard up to change the sheets. After about 15 mins of trying to find the right sheets we get a call from the desk saying that BECAUSE HE DIDN'T WANT TO INCONVENIENCE THE SECURITY GUARD AND SO HE DOESN'T DO ANYMORE WORK THEY WOULD SWITCH OUR ROOM. We both we work in the customer service industry and that is the worst most disgusting thing we had ever heard. The guest are a priority!!! You do things not to inconvenience the guest but i guess the employee working that night could care less about our convenience and comfort. The next day we came back to find lotion on our comforter and the sheets hadn't been changed. At that point i was willing to pay extra money and go somewhere nice. I'm sure the street corner could've been nicer. We were beyond belief frustrated with our stay there. When we complained we got our parking fee taken care of. It was the worst hotel experience ever. When we return to California we will make sure we find a better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_NYC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2010

The Clarion Hotel is absolutely wonderful. Yes the hotel is an older hotel, but the upkeep of the facilites is great. We had our church youth group stay at the Clarion for 2 nights. The rooms are clean and well kept and the staff from the front desk to the catering staff and the security were awesome! All of these people made you feel welcomed. The staff is like family, they take good care of you. We had breakfast catered for us each morning, and the food and the service was outstanding. When booking this hotel, the sales manager was so kind and outgoing and looking out for all our needs, and the needs were exceeded with excellence. I really give the Clarion high marks for their facilities and their staff. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaCruzYouthGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
0.2 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
0.5 mi away
The Anaheim Hotel
The Anaheim Hotel
#77 of 118 in Anaheim
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort

Property: Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Address: 616 W Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802-3401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Anaheim Anaheim
Clarion Anaheim
Anaheim Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing