We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most awful hotel experience ever!!! Will never go back or recommend to anyone!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Ranked #82 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“most awful hotel experience ever!!! Will never go back or recommend to anyone!!!”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We arrived at the hotel after a very long flight on September 18 around 2am . The man behind the desk was the rudest person ever. He kept making insulting gestures when my fiance was trying to read the license plate number of the rental keys. We thought the worst was over so after taking a shower and trying to get into bed we noticed these 2 big brown spots on the sheets. We tried to call the desk and no one picked up. So my fiance had to go down and let them know. The rude man wouldn't even listen to him so instead he sends the security guard up to change the sheets. After about 15 mins of trying to find the right sheets we get a call from the desk saying that BECAUSE HE DIDN'T WANT TO INCONVENIENCE THE SECURITY GUARD AND SO HE DOESN'T DO ANYMORE WORK THEY WOULD SWITCH OUR ROOM. We both we work in the customer service industry and that is the worst most disgusting thing we had ever heard. The guest are a priority!!! You do things not to inconvenience the guest but i guess the employee working that night could care less about our convenience and comfort. The next day we came back to find lotion on our comforter and the sheets hadn't been changed. At that point i was willing to pay extra money and go somewhere nice. I'm sure the street corner could've been nicer. We were beyond belief frustrated with our stay there. When we complained we got our parking fee taken care of. It was the worst hotel experience ever. When we return to California we will make sure we find a better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_NYC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    248
    276
    143
    108
See reviews for
425
117
35
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2010

The Clarion Hotel is absolutely wonderful. Yes the hotel is an older hotel, but the upkeep of the facilites is great. We had our church youth group stay at the Clarion for 2 nights. The rooms are clean and well kept and the staff from the front desk to the catering staff and the security were awesome! All of these people made you feel welcomed. The staff is like family, they take good care of you. We had breakfast catered for us each morning, and the food and the service was outstanding. When booking this hotel, the sales manager was so kind and outgoing and looking out for all our needs, and the needs were exceeded with excellence. I really give the Clarion high marks for their facilities and their staff. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaCruzYouthGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

This hotel was ok for a single night stay, which is all we needed. Since we are die hard Disney fans we went for the park and spent so little time in the hotel room that it makes it less of an issue & could live with this hotel at the price we paid.

The room was dated without a doubt but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. It was quiet with the exception of the kids screaching at the pool the next morning. We were a bit surprised we could hear that considering we were on the 5th floor, but other than that it really was very quiet.

We didn't use the restaurant as there are several nearby options to choose from depending on what you are in the mood for. The restaurant was empty when we arrived (lunchtime) and also when we checked out at 11:00 a.m. so wait time did not appear to be an issue if a guest wanted to eat there.

The distance from the hotel's front door to the park entrance is about a mile and not a bad walk although I would caution parents with tired or excited kids to attempt it, especially if you like to stay at Disneyland until they kick you out at 1:00 a.m. Again, we didn't mind it too much but I wouldn't want to do it if I had young children.

The staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in early without a problem. The only rude staff person was a gentleman that came out to help at checkout as there was only one clerk dealing with a long line of people. It was a sad thing to see who appeared to be the manager bark out "Next guest please!" as he worked through the line. No smiles, as a matter of face he did not once even look up at a single person in front of him or the folks in the line. I took note of that as I am a corporate meeting planner and we will have a group in Anaheim in the fall attending a conference and there is no way I will consider this hotel for any business function or back-up lodging. Rude behavior is never acceptable, regardless of your rank within the company. I book several meetings a year and am always on the lookout for property options. It is very refreshing to go in anonymous as you see the true essense of the property when they are not trying to get your meeting business.

Bottom line: the property is not especially attractive or updated but it is a clean place to sleep and take a shower if you only need a single night or two at the most. Great for the budget but if you are looking for ambiance do not stay at this property.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FresnoCAMaryanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2010

So, the fact that it was so close to the disney park was nice..
everything else i was very unhappy with, my family and i check in at about 11:00 p.m. theres a male working, looked like he could have been a manager? he was extreamly rude, him and the other gentlemen that was workin with him that night made us feel very ignored. we get everything we need go to our room and its a hastle to close our hotel room door all i seen all that night were people complaining about one thing or another.
the beds werent too bad so we slept alright i would have to give it a thumbs down for customer service. the busses that we payed for to take us to disney came about once an hour, (we were told every 15 min) there was a homeless man bathing in the fountain in front of the hotel and no security to ask his to leave he wasnt fully clothed and we had a 4 year old with us.

Next time def going to look into a nicer hotel, ill well pay the difference.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaGilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Staff were friendly, but hotel looked old and tired from the outside. Website photo is a bit misleading. Hotel rooms were a bit old and was not a great first impression of America.
Food was average, ate out after first night, because pizza wasn't that good. Would not recommend anyone to stay there if they are only going to Disneyland. It is not as close to Disneyland as we were told. Definitely should stay IN Disneyland.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelygirl087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Wow!!

The Ceres Sizzle 16U Team just got back from Disneyland were we stayed at the Clarion Hotel on Convention Way. I must say I was more than impressed with the staff. We arived 5 hours befroe check-in; not only did they get us into rooms, but they up-graded us to mini-suits (at no extra charge) and got us all on the same floor. We were even able to get ajoining suits so the players were able to virtually stay in the same room. The rooms were very clean and had pleanty of towels (big issue when you have a buch of 16 and 17 year old girls). The staff was great. I will recommend the Clairon to all of my friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sizzlecoach_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

We arrived early morning around 9am after transferring from Hollywood. We were pleased to find out our room was ready and we were able to check into our room. The room was clean and tidy. The bathroom was clean but is in need of a makeover with some wallpaper peeling off the walls. This is 2010 and they still have bulky old style TV's but they do have free wi-fi. The hotel is a couple of blocks away from Disney and we found the walk quite reasonable, the shuttle service comes by every 20mins or so if you don't want to walk. We had a continental breakfast included, this was simple, consisting of tea or coffee, toast or muffin and a choice of hot or cold cereal.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nerrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Anaheim Hotel
The Anaheim Hotel
#78 of 118 in Anaheim
1,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Anaheim
Hilton Anaheim
#46 of 118 in Anaheim
4,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort

Property: Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Address: 616 W Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802-3401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Anaheim Anaheim
Clarion Anaheim
Anaheim Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing