We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 1st time at Disneyland and stay at the Clarion Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Ranked #80 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Phoenix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great 1st time at Disneyland and stay at the Clarion Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Great economical stay a shuttle away from Disneyland. We arrived super early in the morning on the 13th and were able to check in which started our trip out on a good note. Front desk Hostess was very nice. Nice clean room two double beds and a balcony on the third floor right next to the elevator. :) Very quiet and clean room and hotel. The breakfast buffet was included in our stay and really was nice - american breakfast - good fresh fruit, pasteries, scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, pancakes and a drink. The staff was very nice in the restaurant. Good for families and close to Disney - only a 7 minute shuttle away which picks you up right out front. I would stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYRAZAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM002, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Nyrazan,

I appreciate that you took the time to give us your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    237
    261
    136
    103
See reviews for
403
111
34
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at the Clarion Anaheim because it is close to the Anaheim Convention Center. If this were a $49/night hotel, I would have rated it higher. I've stayed in hotels in East Germany just after the Wall fell that were nicer than this (really). Do yourself a favor and avoid this place.

Pros:
It is close to the Anaheim Convention Center.
The pool is heated.
Parking is sufficient.
No hookers or roaches.

Cons:
Front desk is unhelpful.
--No rooms were available until 4:00. As in, none, not even one. They refused to call us when our room was ready, but told us to keep checking back.
--No late check out was allowed.
--When we complained about the poor quality of the hotel, the front desk clerk replied, "Uh yuh" and turned away.
--Frequently, there was but one clerk at the front desk, not matter how long the line.

Housekeeping is minimal.
--The bathroom was not completely cleaned when we arrived.
--There was part of a broken coffee cup on the floor near the bed when we arrived. It was still there when we left.
--Our room was not cleaned because we had "Do not disturb" on the door for 45 minutes in the afternoon. At 6:00, we were told, "The maid has already left for the day." I had to insist that we get our room cleaned.
--Housekeeping staff, with their dirty laundry carts and harsh chemical sprays, rode the same elevators as hotel guests.

Tivoli Restaurant
-- The restaurant staff was poorly trained.
--When asking a waiter for a refill on my soft drink, I was told that I had to find the server for my table and ask her.
-- The food was adequate, breakfast buffet was similar to camp food, but for about 10 bucks a plate. The pastries and pancakes were stale/dry and the coffee tasted like it was brewed by someone who doesn't drink coffee.

The hotel is in disrepair.
--It rained, and water leaked in the room from the window.
--The furniture in the room and the carpet were stained.

We do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a good room by staying somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM002, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Dear Tom R,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I apologize that we did not exceed your expectations, as is always our goal. Please know that we are working hard in every to make sure that every guest stay exceeds not only your expections but ours as well. Should you return to stay with us, I am confident that you will have a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. Went to Disneyland. It is located just across the street from the Disneyland Parking Lots, so we could just walk across and jump on the shuttle. It was in close walking distance to all the restaurants nearby. Close enough we could take a shuttle back mid day and change clothes and go back to Disneyland without losing a bunch of time. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, but it was quite good buffet style and fairly priced (we spent a lot more at the nearby IHOP the day before!) The room was clean. The staff was mostly friendly. They were usually very busy, so you sometimes had to wait a little bit to get someone to help you, which was pretty understandable. All in all, we really enjoyed our stay. It was convenient and didnt cost a fortune but was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM002, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Sarah L,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us your feedback. We are working very hard to supplement our great location with great service. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again when you return to Disneyland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

This was the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. The floors were discusting and the grout was black in the bathroom. On top of that you have to pay for parking- this place should really be much farther down on the list of hotels in the area, maybe we just had a bad room, but jeez.
Stay somewhere closer to the park with FREE shuttles and no paid parking. The candy cane hotel has free shuttles and Travelodge has free parking, wifi and free breakfast and is actually the same price, if not cheaper.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caroline p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM002, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Dear Caroline P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay here. I apologize that we did not provide you with the service and the hotel accomodations that we are accustomed to providing. We know that you do have options for your hotel accomodations, and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate that we are working hard to provide you with excellent hotel accomodations, and excellent customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

The hotel overall was good. You can tell it's an older hotel and could stand some fresh paint and carpet in the lobby area. Our room was nice and big and the housekeeping was great. We just didn't like the fact that we had to pay $12.00 for parking per day. What "discount" they offer you in the room deal, they make up with the $12.00 a day parking! I suggest they do away with the parking charge or at least make it $6.00 a day.

If you're there for Disneyland, wonderful location and suggest you give this hotel a try! Maybe they'll do away with parking charges when you go!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM002, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Susan L.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Thank you also for choosing to stay with us during your vacation to Disneyland. We constantly review our offerings, including parking, to ensure that we are competitive with the surrounding hotels. We hope that overall, we provided you with a great value for your money.

We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Our family stayed in a suite at this hotel during the Tinkerbell Half Marathon. It was a spacious room, big enough for three adults and 4 kids. Probably the most important part about this hotel, is the honesty of the housekeeping staff. My daughter left her brand new American Girl Doll in the room when we left. It was not until a few days after we returned home that we realized it was missing. We searched and searched every possible place of our home, car, etc. Five days after we departed, I finally called The Clarion to see if we, by chance, left it in the room. The gentleman took down my contact information and said he would so some checking and get back to me. Within 15 min., he called and said it was found!! I couldn't believe it!! I really appreciate the honesty and courtesy of their staff.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kcandi_143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM002, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
Dear kcandi_143,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We know that your time is valuable, and we appreciate that you took time out to let us know about your experience here at the Clarion hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Utah
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Ours had cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and in the heat lamp in the bathroom. Drain cover was not attached and I had to take it from my 3 year old who was playing with it in the tub. There was a 12 inch space between one of the beds and the wall which looked like it hadn't been vacuumed for quite sometime. There was a brown dried up drip and some spots on the door frame and baseboard of the bathroom that I'm afraid to guess what it was. I just gritted my teeth and scrubbed it off myself. There was dried make up on the little plastic signs on the vanity. We stayed 2 nights. The beds were made up while we were out, but again no sign of vacuuming and the faucet & sink area had not been cleaned. Sheets had holes.

Staff was friendly. Coin laundry was a plus but don't buy your laundry soap in the laundry room, it's cheaper in the hotel gift shop. Also make sure you have coins, no bill changer in the laundry room & the lady in the gift shop wouldn't give me change. The game room has a bill changer and the front desk staff was nice about giving change.

As far as being outdated, this room is ready for a deep cleaning and some refurbishment.

Beds were doubles. The size of the room was fine. Nice to have a fridge, but a microwave would have been good too. Not coffee drinkers so we didn't use the coffee maker. Not too much street noise except for the "easy riders" going through town for the show at the Conference Center.

We had a package that included breakfast. Breakfast was ok.

Pool was warm. Kids enjoyed the game room. Well stocked vending machines.

Women's hall bathroom was clean enough.

Also, it says it's a block and a half from Disneyland. This means it is a block and a half from Disney property. It was a good 25 minute walk to the main entrance.

They let us keep our rental car in the parking lot after checking out until we had to head to the airport, which we appreciated. Also we needed two rooms close together and the staff was very accomodating.

As far as staying here again, no. We need something cleaner even if we are only there to sleep. And definitely queen size beds.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SASTMMT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM002, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for giving us your feedback and for taking the time to do so. I definitely use your comments as a tool to improve our performance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Cortona Inn & Suites Anaheim Resort
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Park Hotel at the Anaheim Resort
0.2 mi away
Portofino Inn & Suites Anaheim Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort

Property: Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort
Address: 616 W Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802-3401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Hotel Anaheim Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Anaheim Anaheim
Clarion Anaheim
Anaheim Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing