We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated, but a Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dated, but a Great Hotel”
Reviewed August 20, 2007

After reading several reviews and looking into properties near Disneyland we chose the Howard Johnson Plaza. The rooms were dated, but clean and comfortable with coffee maker and refridgerator. The hotel staff was among the friendliest I'd encountered in my travels. The internet was mostly non-functional and the soda machines took my money, but when I told the desk staff about it, they apologized and offered to refund my lost dollars. We stayed 4 nights and it was nice to be able to walk back to our rooms from the Disney theme parks after a long day. The hotel placed us in building #2 on the ground floor near the garden pool, and even though Interstate 5 ran right near by us, once you were in the building you couldn't hear it at all. The hotel also has a main pool with a kiddie pool as well. I would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting a nice clean, quiet room at a reasonable price within walking distance to Disneyland.

  • Liked — The clean, quiet rooms.
  • Disliked — The non-functioning internet...not a deterant factor though.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Iczillion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,599
    2,534
    780
    223
    81
See reviews for
5,629
464
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (794)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bay area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2007

Seven of us go to D-land every summer, and usually stay at the Hitlon & Towers, Marriot, or D-Land Hotels. We have also tried the Staybridge and Holiday Inn.

Here's our assessment of the Howard Johnson: Can't beat the price and convenience...A short walk to D-Land...No more wait for the H-bus!!! It was nice having the mini-market downstairs where one could get a bottled water, ice cream or whatever (at a resonable price). Mimi's Cafe is right across the street.

The hotel management was very friendly, and even brought us roll- away beds themselves!

We missed having decent coffee nearby...the only negative.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank d-lander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

Our family spent 4 nights of a Disney trip here and were very satisifed. I can pretty much echo the majority of previous comments. We had a pool/Disney view room that let us watch fireworks from the balcony (slightly blocked by the tall hotel trees), and we did not notice any excessive street noise here. The 2 sinks, one inside and one outside the bathroom, really helped us get ready quicker each morning so that we could get to the parks early. The location was clearly the best part as our 6 year old had no problems walking back and forth each day. She also really liked the pool area. The fridge was a nice plus as well. The buildings and rooms do appear dated, but everything was clean and comfortable. We'd definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — No balcony chairs.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bcreilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

This was such an amazing hotel; I don't see how you could do better. The rooms were a steal for what you get--large, very comfortable, and very close to Disney (less than a ten minute walk to the entrance). The pool was great (my 8 year old loved swimming and going in the fountains while I lounged in the hot tub) & we saw the fireworks every night from the jacuzzi or our balcony. The proximity to the park was extremely convenient, particularly when I needed to leave at 9:00 pm with my youngest while my teens wanted to stay until midnight. Because the walk was close and safe, I felt comfortable letting them do so. Finally, the front desk people were courteous and professional (particularly Paula, who was very helpful to me during check-in). They have two wireless computers in the lobby you can use anytime, which was especially useful when I needed to print out my boarding passes. I would strongly recommend this hotel if you have kids of any age, and are visiting Disneyland.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank hybiscusnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

After staying at a higher priced Marriott with no free food or internet and $14 parking the HOJO was a pleasant surprise. They had all of the above and the rooms were clean and quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank arttillygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

July 28-29, 2007…We stayed at HOJO as part of our Disney Package before we left for a 5 day cruise. The room that you get with a Disney Package is a standard room. We did stay here again for one night after the cruise and just booked the room online through HOJO’s website. We were able to request a Disney view with this booking and WOW! What a difference the extra $10 paid for. A way, way bigger room, a balcony, a bigger bathroom (with a sink inside and outside the bathroom). If we go back to Disney in the future, we will definitely pay extra for this type of room again! It might pay to look into booking hotels and tickets separately just to get this bigger better room!

While it was a little farther than we thought to the entrance of Disneyland, it would be just as far from any of the “good neighbor” hotels or even the Disneyland Hotel for that matter. The only hotel closer is the Grand Californian Hotel as it has direct access to California Adventure but they still have to walk to Disneyland. All in all, it is about a 10 minute walk with kids going and about a 20 minute walk coming back after being in the parks all day.

Parking at Building Two was no problem at all. While there are not that many spaces near Building Two, you can back right up to the doors, unload/load the car and then go park in any of the lots. The rest of the buildings use the main lot and you will have to drag your luggage to the building.

Building Two had a laundry room on the first floor (3 washers and 3 dryers). It is $1 for a load of laundry and $1 for the dryer (for 45 minutes). Building One’s laundry facility is in the basement…3 washers and 4 dryers. It is extremely hot in the Building One laundry as that is where they also process all the hotels laundry. The staff assured us that changes were coming regarding this facility. We brought laundry soap from home, but the little Main Street Market in Building One does sell it as well.

The hotel staff were very very nice. Able to give directions to just about anywhere we wanted to go and can give you a list of places that deliver dinner to your room (pizza, Chinese, etc.) Mimi’s was right across the street and we ate there one morning for breakfast (about $40 for 4 of us) but we preferred grabbing something quick in the park and then eating a big lunch/dinner combination late in the afternoon. When we returned from the cruise, we were allowed to “pre-check in” at the front desk, park the car and head over to the parks. When we returned at 10pm, our room was ready and all we had to do was head to bed!

We never used the hotel pools although they were very nice. My kids were old enough (ages 7 and 13) that we were in the parks until almost 10pm every night. The gardens at this hotel are spotless and absolutely beautiful. We would definitely stay here again next time we go to Disneyland.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Would like to see the Disneyview rooms included with Disney Packages!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EwanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

I booked this hotel for our family trip to Disneyland. We were pleased with the hotel - the grounds are very nice, there are 2 very nice pools (my young children loved the splash fountain area and the zero entry baby pool). The room was spacious with a fridge, however, the decor was a bit dated. If you want really fancy and new, this hotel is not for you. For example, the bathroom tile looked like it was from the late 70's with yellow and orange flowers and the tubs are standard size - not larger as many today are. Still, the housekeeping staff kept the room very clean and nice. The hotel is very quiet.

This hotel is within a 10 minute walk to Disneyland and DCA with young children. HoJo is actually on the end of the row of hotels, with several hotels being closer to the gate, but from the pool and from our room we could see the Matterhorn and the monorail going past the hotel.

We got an upper floor so that we could see the fireworks better from our room - which was nice - but there are some trees in front of the "premium view" building that make it less than ideal in terms of firework viewing. Also, a word of caution for those with young children - the door to the balconies is a simple knob with a push in latch. We ended up buying baby safety knobs to safeguard the door and putting furniture in front of the door to protect our 3-year-old from going out on her own. Also, be aware that if you ask for the "premium view" you will be in the building that allows smoking on the first floor, necessitating that you cross through the smoking area everytime you head for your room. It didn't seem to be a big issue, but some people might have problems with that.

  • Liked — Proximity to Disneyland and Convention Center, Cleanliness, Pools
  • Disliked — Slow internet service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank doodlebug4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojoanaheim, General Manager at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this review, August 2, 2007
We are pleased to announce that effective August 1, 2007, all guest rooms and public areas at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Anaheim are non-smoking. For the comfort of all of our Guests, smoking is only permitted in a designated outdoor smoking area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
2,743 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
1,588 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing