We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
dallas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed August 14, 2007

After staying at a higher priced Marriott with no free food or internet and $14 parking the HOJO was a pleasant surprise. They had all of the above and the rooms were clean and quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
7 Thank arttillygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,737
    2,613
    819
    237
    86
See reviews for
5,877
482
71
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

July 28-29, 2007…We stayed at HOJO as part of our Disney Package before we left for a 5 day cruise. The room that you get with a Disney Package is a standard room. We did stay here again for one night after the cruise and just booked the room online through HOJO’s website. We were able to request a Disney view with this booking and WOW! What a difference the extra $10 paid for. A way, way bigger room, a balcony, a bigger bathroom (with a sink inside and outside the bathroom). If we go back to Disney in the future, we will definitely pay extra for this type of room again! It might pay to look into booking hotels and tickets separately just to get this bigger better room!

While it was a little farther than we thought to the entrance of Disneyland, it would be just as far from any of the “good neighbor” hotels or even the Disneyland Hotel for that matter. The only hotel closer is the Grand Californian Hotel as it has direct access to California Adventure but they still have to walk to Disneyland. All in all, it is about a 10 minute walk with kids going and about a 20 minute walk coming back after being in the parks all day.

Parking at Building Two was no problem at all. While there are not that many spaces near Building Two, you can back right up to the doors, unload/load the car and then go park in any of the lots. The rest of the buildings use the main lot and you will have to drag your luggage to the building.

Building Two had a laundry room on the first floor (3 washers and 3 dryers). It is $1 for a load of laundry and $1 for the dryer (for 45 minutes). Building One’s laundry facility is in the basement…3 washers and 4 dryers. It is extremely hot in the Building One laundry as that is where they also process all the hotels laundry. The staff assured us that changes were coming regarding this facility. We brought laundry soap from home, but the little Main Street Market in Building One does sell it as well.

The hotel staff were very very nice. Able to give directions to just about anywhere we wanted to go and can give you a list of places that deliver dinner to your room (pizza, Chinese, etc.) Mimi’s was right across the street and we ate there one morning for breakfast (about $40 for 4 of us) but we preferred grabbing something quick in the park and then eating a big lunch/dinner combination late in the afternoon. When we returned from the cruise, we were allowed to “pre-check in” at the front desk, park the car and head over to the parks. When we returned at 10pm, our room was ready and all we had to do was head to bed!

We never used the hotel pools although they were very nice. My kids were old enough (ages 7 and 13) that we were in the parks until almost 10pm every night. The gardens at this hotel are spotless and absolutely beautiful. We would definitely stay here again next time we go to Disneyland.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Would like to see the Disneyview rooms included with Disney Packages!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EwanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

I booked this hotel for our family trip to Disneyland. We were pleased with the hotel - the grounds are very nice, there are 2 very nice pools (my young children loved the splash fountain area and the zero entry baby pool). The room was spacious with a fridge, however, the decor was a bit dated. If you want really fancy and new, this hotel is not for you. For example, the bathroom tile looked like it was from the late 70's with yellow and orange flowers and the tubs are standard size - not larger as many today are. Still, the housekeeping staff kept the room very clean and nice. The hotel is very quiet.

This hotel is within a 10 minute walk to Disneyland and DCA with young children. HoJo is actually on the end of the row of hotels, with several hotels being closer to the gate, but from the pool and from our room we could see the Matterhorn and the monorail going past the hotel.

We got an upper floor so that we could see the fireworks better from our room - which was nice - but there are some trees in front of the "premium view" building that make it less than ideal in terms of firework viewing. Also, a word of caution for those with young children - the door to the balconies is a simple knob with a push in latch. We ended up buying baby safety knobs to safeguard the door and putting furniture in front of the door to protect our 3-year-old from going out on her own. Also, be aware that if you ask for the "premium view" you will be in the building that allows smoking on the first floor, necessitating that you cross through the smoking area everytime you head for your room. It didn't seem to be a big issue, but some people might have problems with that.

  • Liked — Proximity to Disneyland and Convention Center, Cleanliness, Pools
  • Disliked — Slow internet service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank doodlebug4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojoanaheim, General Manager at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this review, August 2, 2007
We are pleased to announce that effective August 1, 2007, all guest rooms and public areas at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel Anaheim are non-smoking. For the comfort of all of our Guests, smoking is only permitted in a designated outdoor smoking area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2007

As I Kiwi family travelling en route to Europe for our Cosmos tour we stayed here to break our trip into no more than 12 hour flights.

What a great start! I am writing this half way through the Cosmos tour and comparing European hotels to this is like chalk and cheese.

The room was clean, tidy and spacious. The facilities such as the pool, ice machine, internet access and self serve laundromat were exactly what we needed to start our trip.

We had to hunt a bit for the air conditioning controls but once located we could keep our room exactly as we liked it.

The Internet point is in an odd location between the beds, by the phone. It should be moved over to the desk so one can use the desk and internet at the same time. Oh and it is free unlike most of Europe where you are expected to pay and pay dearly. Fortunately I have my IPass dial up as fall back.

The staff were always pleasant, polite, helpful and cheerful.

The proximity to Disneyland keeps this hotel busy and the staff are a real asset.

  • Liked — The pool, especiallyu in the hottest part of the day
  • Disliked — Nothing, honest!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank KiwiOnATour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2007

This hotel lives up to it's reputation for location, pools and room cleanliness. However, during our our stay, our six passports, six birth certificates and six health care cards went missing from our room. We found the staff not very helpful or concerned about our missing documents. They made very little effort to assist us and it was only after a long and distressing discussion with the hotel manager that we obtained a refund for our rooms. This covering the cost to replace our missing documents and distress of a disappointing vacation. Unfortunately, this does not help with the identity theft concern that we now have after visiting the "Happiest Place on Earth".

Due to the recent need for passports to travel to the US, I would advise all Cdn's to be extra cautious with thier identification and choose hotels that boast great security. Identity theft is the new marketplace for theives and we Cdn's are easy picking. We thought we were being careful by securing (with duct tape) our passports in an unseen location in our room, but in hindsight we should have locked them in the hotel safe at Check In or chosen a hotel with a safe in the room.

  • Liked — Location, Mimi's, Pools, Rooms
  • Disliked — Staff service, no microwaves, small fridge, slow internet
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Janie2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2007

The HOJO deserves all the praise that it receives on this site. My partner and I visited the USA for almost a month and it was both our first trip overseas. We really loved our time at the HOJO and it was exactly what we had expected based on other reviews on this site.

The reception staff were excellent, the room was massive, there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room (this is a rare thing in the USA judging from the places we stayed) and a decent bar fridge. The room was clean and tidy and the housekeeping was great.

It was about an 8 minute walk from our room on the second highest floor to the turnstiles at Disneyland. There was a real 'vacation' atmosphere around this hotel and in all of the general area around Disneyland.

We ate at 'Mimi's' which is just across the road and it was very nice.

The room rate for the 5 nights we spent was very reasonable and I hope to stay there again when next I visit.

  • Liked — Friendly service, coffee/tea in room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank brettystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2007

We booked this hotel via Rooms.net. When we arrived and went to our room I was a bit disappointed to find that we were on the side of the hotel next to the freeway. As we live in a very small quiet village i England I felt that the traffic noise (which wasnt actually that bad) might disturb me at night. I had actually requested a room on the other side of the hotel, a message which they apparently didnt get from the booking web site. The acting manager Paula was so helpful and moved us to the only room available which was a suite. We had a wonderful overnight stay there. The shop sells most things you need and the staff are friendly and helpful. We sat in the hot tub and watched the Disney fireworks. Who could ask for more ?

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Davylynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
2,841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing