We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2007

This was a great value! The room was large with a balcony that overlooked the pool and we were able to see Disneyland's fireworks from there! The pool was large with great landscaping and the hot tub was nice. There was not breakfast offered. It was just over a block to walk to Disneyland. There were many restraunts in the area to choose from.

  • Liked — The fireworks from the balcony and large room and pool
  • Disliked — no breakfast, laundry in basement, LA traffic
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tracey1368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,601
    2,537
    780
    223
    81
See reviews for
5,634
464
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2007

We recently got back from a trip to Disneyland where we decided to stay at the Howard Johnson's to save a few bucks versus staying at one of the Disney-property hotels (which we normally do). What a great decision! The room was exceptionally clean, comfortable and spacious enough for 5 adults with a roll-away. We had a great view of Disneyland park from our balcony and the walk to the front entrance really is no more than 7 or so minutes. What a bargain! The only downside related to housekeeping. Each day we would leave early in the morning to go to the park and come back to the hotel to rest around 2 or 3pm in the afternoon. Our room was made up by the time we returned only once during our four day stay. And on top of that, each afternoon while we were trying to rest (with a Do Not Disturb sign on the door no less) we would constantly be disturbed by a few different housekeepers dropping off various items...one knock for more towels, one knock for more coffee and tea, and another knock to check to see if our room had been made up. It wasn't a huge deal, but it would have been nice to come back each day to an already clean room with no disruptions. The perks of this hotel definitely outweigh this one downside. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to be close to the parks, but doesn't want to spend an arm and a leg at one of the on-property hotels.

  • Liked — Proximity to Disneyland
  • Disliked — Housekeeping Service
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank dancelvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojoanaheim, General Manager at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this review, July 1, 2007
Thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel! I think your experience of the varied hour of the day in which your room was serviced is common, and could use an explanation and suggestion for fellow travelers. We attempt to service our check-out rooms first so that we can provide clean, fresh rooms right away to our check-in guests. We'd much rather get our guests to their rooms right away to rest after long travels, instead of storing luggage and requiring them to return after our 3pm check-in time. Because of this, stay-over rooms are serviced throughout the day until 4:30 PM.

If you prefer to have your room serviced by a specific time (for naps or a break from Disneyland), please contact our Front Desk Supervisor. We're happy to accommodate these requests to make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

In the Anaheim area I have stayed at The Disneyland Hotel, Disney's The Grand Californian Hotel and The Sheraton hotel. I liked alot of things about each one of these hotels. The Howard Johnson however deserves to be up there with each of them. During our week long stay in June we liked the hotel alot.

I loved:
-The view from our room facing the whole park.
-Perfect view of the close fire works show for the balcony.
-The price was great especially with the entertainment book discount and my season pass discount.
-The kid fountains
-The very shallow kiddie pool
- The not crowded main pool
- plenty of lounge chairs
- Having washers and dryers on site
- The close proximity of the rooms to the elevator and the pool and Disneyland. (I walked alot more at each of the Disneyland Hotels when I stayed there)
- Quiet rooms (Disneyland hotel is kinda loud)
- Having a store onsite with everything you could possibly need.
- Having an arcade onsite
- The maid did a great job cleaning
- Mini sewing kit
- Having a little refridgerator
- Plenty of drawer space
- Having another mirror and sink outide the bathroom
- Lots of extra space

Could Have lived without:
- The ladies who worked at the onsite store (not very personable)
- The store was too crowded with stuff and didn't look appealing.
- The ugly yellow patterned comforter and matching curtains. (cheapens the feel of the room)
- The maid did not come at the same time each day, one time as late as 2:30.
- The shoe mitt (who uses those things?)
- The cheap look of the little free shampoo, lotion and conditioner. A logo change would fix that easily.

Overall I found The Howard Johnson to be a plain comfortable hotel. It seems everything within the hotel is so close. I felt very at home there even though the decore wasn't anything special. For the price I would so stay there again.

P.S. For those of you who came to see Disneyland, the beaches are no more the 15 - 20 min away, a must see at sunset.

  • Liked — Everything was so close around the hotel property, clean and affordable
  • Disliked — The yellow pattern on the sheets and comforter
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MirandaPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2007

We stayed here for four nights and had a great time.
We traveled with 1,5,7 year olds and they enjoyed it. The pool area was nice for the kids and the rooms were very spacious
and clean. The refrigerator was a good thing to have we filled it with drinks and snacks. Mimi's Cafe next door was great for breakfast and it was a close walk to Disneyland.
I left my cell phone in the room and was very worried that I had lost it, when I gave the manager a call he was very helpful and they found my phone and FedEx it to me right away at no charge which was excellent. My family and I will definitely return and we highly recommend the HOJO!

  • Liked — The pool area
  • Disliked — The laundry room was located in the basement of the main building it was creepy down there!
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank love2travel25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2007

We stayed at the Hojo from June 18 - June 21. The rooms are basic and very similar to any other motel I've stayed at. The pillows are comfy, which is a plus. This motel is walking distance to the parks and Mimi's Cafe, Millie's Bakery Restaurant and McDonald's. We had delicious meals at Mimi's and Millie's. I highly recommend both restaurants. We did have one minor snag; but Paula, the hotel supervisor, fixed the problem quickly. We were located in Bldg. 1 - directly next to the freeway. In fact, the view from our room was the freeway. The sound of cars passing by is not the issue. The issue is the loud big rigs and motorcycles. We thought we could handle the freeway noise, as we had ear plugs and cranked up the air conditioner. The noise proved to be too problematic for us and Paula promptly moved us to Bldg. 2 which was conveniently located next to the second pool. This motel also has a wonderful view of the Disneyland fireworks, which can be seen from the main pool. I would recommend this motel, if you stay in a room away from the freeway.

  • Liked — Close proximity to the Disneyland Resort
  • Disliked — Freeway noise
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank KBaldemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2007

We stayed here for six nights and had very few complaints. In fact, not really complaints but more "they could have done that better" kind of things. The room was spacious and clean. The free internet connection was convenient, but bring your own network cable. The one provided is short and poorly placed. The refrigerator was handy as well. We drove to Von's for a few things like drinks and breakfast items and kept them in the little mini fridge.

Our room was one on the I-5 side and you can hear some noise from the freeway (mostly down-shifting semis and loud motorcycles), but it's not too bad. I generally sleep with earplugs and it didn't bother me much. There are laundry facilities in the basement and a little shop with just about everything you might need.

The proximity to Disneyland is probably the biggest selling point. On our last day I walked back to the hotel to print our Southwest boarding passes (you can use one of the computers in the lobby and print things behind the desk) and it only took about a half hour from the time I left the park to the time I got back. Another neat thing is that you can watch the nightly fireworks show from the pool.

Overall, we were pleased with our stay and would consider staying there again if I ever go back to Anaheim.

  • Liked — Proximity to Disneyland
  • Disliked — Short internet cable
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Titanole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2007

The HoJO is an absolute gem!! Nice short walk to Disney and Mimi's. Clean rooms and prompt service from the front desk. Had no problems with noise <stayed in Bldg 2>.
The Gift shop is excellent with ANYTHING and EVERYTHING that you might need!!! Definitely an A++++++++++++!!!

  • Liked — Location and Comfy rooms
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank milkomome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#18 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,749 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing