We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, issues with the booking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2006

We stayed at HoJo's as part of our world trip for our Honeymoon.
Location is good to Disneyland. The rooms are a good size but road noise is quite bad. We were in Building one. We originally booked in building four, but they nicely upgraded us to a Disneyland view. We had an issue with our booking, that the rate was $50 higher per night than what we had booked. I was lucky I had email correspondance from HOJO's central reservations, but their systems dont seem to be well linked. Make sure you take confirmation of your booking price. I enjoyed the hotel. I enjoyed the convineince of buying our disneyland tickets there and the shop was handy. We tended to eat at the restaurants down the road, and we orded in one night. Overall I enjoyed my stay.
There are a lot of hotels around here, and next time, I would probably stay at another hotel, as they all seem much of a muchness. My main complaint would be over the booking, and having to produce proof our our rate.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank bobdobalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,175 - 7,181 of 7,677 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2006

My wife and 2 young children (7 and 9)recently stayed at this hotel in Jan 2006 for 3 nights. The booking was made direct with the hotel. We drove from Hollywood and found it easily just off the freeway. We arrived early around lunch and were allocated a room immediately.The room was spacious with 2 queens as requested. The room and bathroom were spacious clean and quiet. Once we worked out how the heating worked it was warm as well. Being a 10 minute stroll to the front gate of Disneyland meant the location was excellent. The pool was great as well. No porterage is offered but car parking is complementary not far from the entrance with lift access. The only critisism I have is that the rate of $134 is well above some close by establishments. The rate as mentioned was direct and was in excess of rates offered by other internet hotel providers for this hotel. The upside of this was that no deposit was required and cancellation was possible before arrival. Would definitely stay again but would try for a lower rate first. Friends of ours stayed closer to the main gate for $69 almost half our rate the same week and had a continental breakfast included. I didn't see their room. I would recommend the Howard Johnson to anyone who is looking for an upmarket establishment for a premium with children.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank munjarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
436
Reviewed January 27, 2006

Within a 5 minute walk to Disneyland's main gate. Our room had a balcony and overlooked Disneyland so that we were able to watch the fireworks from the balcony. The room type was NQQ1 and we were in room 1607 which was very comfortable for the four of us. The only downside to this hotel is the proximity to the I5 freeway which is unrelenting even through the night. This hotel is currently undergoing foyer renovations. Staff were friendly and helpful. Probably wouldn't stay here again due to the freeway noise although probably every other hotel on South Harbour Blde would suffer the same noise.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2006

Our family of 4 (children 9 and 6) stayed from 12 Dec to 16 Dec 2005. The hotel check in was easy and room was roomy and comfortable. Building 1 level 6 facing Disneyland (bonus seeing the fireworks everynight we were there). This hotel (like other reviews state) is 5 minutes walk to Disneyland. The gift shop staff are excellent and have everything you need and also helpful if you need some information. Having a guest laundry (at reasonable cost) was a bonus when staying away for long periods. Anaheim is easy to Navigate by bus. We caught it to shopping malls and Knotts Berry Farm. The hotel met our expectations and we were pleased we stayed there. We would definately stay again. The Graham Family

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank alwysluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
grand blanc, MI
317
Reviewed January 22, 2006

We stayed at the Howard Johnson's in Anaheim while visiting Disneyland. It is so easy to walk to the park. We were able to watch the Disney fireworks at night from the hot tub at the hotel! Room was large and the serivce was good. Great place for families.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Salem, OR
114
Reviewed January 20, 2006

We had a great Disneyland vacation. Unfortunately 3 of the 5 nights our key cards wouldn't let us in the room. Here it was nearly midnight each night, exhausted, and one of us had to get help from the front desk to let us in the room by security. UNFORTUNATELY, 2 of those 3 nights security didn't even attempt to ID us in any way - they just let us in, no questions asked. The front desk didn't try to identify us 3 of the 3 times.

All of our belongs and lap-top computer were in there!

The stay was great otherwise. Beware that security seems breached, however; don't let yourself get too comfortable when you see a guy in a suit with a badge.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 14, 2006

Dear TripAdvisor Salem, OR

I sincerely apologize for the problems, which you encountered while staying as my guest. We are committed to providing a high level of security for our guests and have an exceptionally good safety record. I sincerely regret that our security personnel failed to follow our standard operating procedures.

We are very active with the Anaheim Police Department and their T.O.P. program (Tourist Oriented Policing). We attend their monthly meetings and regularly review our practices with the police and other security professionals to ensure that we operate safely.

I believe TripAdvisor is a great forum for hotel guests and managers and this is another great example of how we can partner with each other through this great site. I reviewed your concerns with my security guards and we had a very positive discussion with them regarding our security procedures. As a result, one gentleman decided that it would be best for him to resign and find a line of work that would suite him better. So your comments resulted in a win/win outcome for my guests as well as this particular employee. And no, this is not a manager’s way of saying I fired him :)

Again, thank you for sharing your experience. Please contact me if you would like to discuss it in great detail or if you have any remaining concerns.

Best regards,


William Cleaver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2006

My family of 3 stayed at HOJO's the second week of January 2006 for 3 nights. We splurged and requested a suite in bldg 1, which was on the top floor with a view of the Matterhorn. The suite was HUGE, the bathroom was HUGE, there were two balconies and the room itself was very nicely appointed. The decor did not seem dated at all - perhaps this particular room has had more of a facelift than other rooms have had. The countertops were slab granite, the king size bed had a down comforter and feather pillows - what a treat. I highly recommend this room for parents wanting a little privacy after a long day at the park - it's worth the extra money (which was still cheap compared to any of the Disney properties).

We were impressed by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The room was impeccably cleaned every day and if we needed anything (like another blanket for the QS sleeper sofa) we received it right away. Bottled water was delivered daily as well, which was a nice touch.

Mimi's has the best food at the most reasonable prices - definitely eat there. They also prepare food for take-out which we took advantage of. Yum!

The only knock I have is that they began a major remodeling project in the reception area/main parking lot the day we arrived, which was pretty noisy fairly early in the morning, but hey, that just means it will be even nicer when we visit again.

Our vacation was a success because of our stay at HOJO's - we would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank VerySatisfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#22 of 118 in Anaheim
2,927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $168 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing