We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Customer Service, Unbeatable location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed here a while back, but the customer service we received here has yet to be matched (we still think back fondly). Check in was speedy. Our room was fine - lots of free parking nearby, everything was clean. But, we noticed that we could hear the freeway in our room (HJ is right beside it). We went and mentioned it to the front desk, and they moved us to a room on a higher level (with apologies). Our new room was very quiet and larger (we don't have kids and enjoy quiet when on vacation). There was no charge for the move, no hesitation to help us, and we were just floored by their helpfulness. :)
The HJ is easily walking distance to the Land (McDonald's is on the way so you can pick up yogurt parfaits and fruit for a breakfast on your way over - we ate ours in line waiting for the park to open). The hotel has a decent pool (you're there for the park, not the pool, remember). Fireworks are easy to see from the hotel (no need to stay in the park to enjoy them). We recommend staying at HJs - it will help make your trip unforgettable. We plan to return.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TeacherTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,851 - 6,857 of 7,784 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2009

Great hotel ,walk to disney ,large rooms,great pool area for the kid,the most comfy bed we have had in all the hotels we have stayed in. We stayed here for 8 days before driving to San Diego ,Grand Canyon,Las Vegas.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AussieBuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

We spent 2 nights at HOJO. The roons are large and confortable. I don't understand why the second floor roons has a window without curtains, because of this, we wake up earlier than we needed...but no problem, cause if you stay at Hojo, you can go to Disney by walk, plus: the staff was great, and we really enjoy the pool area.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marta Beatriz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed for my son and nephews 5th birthday with a family group of 9. The room arraingments were great with two pairs of adjoining rooms. The beds and linens were really great. Little things like room temps, pillows, etc that can make getting any rest on a trip difficult were really solid. The kid pool was a ton of fun. I think our kids liked it almost as much as Disney. Could be a few more lounge chairs around the kid pool. This was a great trip for the whole group. I don't know if I've ever stayed in a hotel were I felt I received more value for my travel dollar than the Howard Johnson Anaheim.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sirdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

The good: Our room was available right when we got there around 1pm. The water area was nice to let the kids run wild for the day. The beds were comfy, and the spacious and free parking was also nice. It was nice to have a fridge and microwave, too. I don't see why it's a premium amenity, it seems to be the standard these days.
The Room: The electrical outlets are not easily accessible anywhere other than the bathroom area. The drawers in the room could totally stand to get updated. They were dirty, and didn't stay on the tracks any time I opened a drawer.
The guide in the room says that laundry is $1 per machine, so I went down to the creepy basement passing all the maintenance and houskeeping areas with 4 quarters... the machine is $1.25. Not a huge deal, just had to turn around & sneak back in the room where the family was sleeping, but I think it should be accurate/updated in the guide.
Also, the walk is NOT 7 minutes as the in-room guide states... I'm a speed walker, and I walked by myself, taking every shortcut possible. It was between 10-15 minute trek.
Also, it should be mentioned somewhere that their restaurant, Mimi's, is across the street. The market downstairs was convenient, but what a slap in the face to pay $3 for a bottle of water before even entering Disneyland! Many hotels offer a complimentary bottle or 2 in the room, even!
Get an Entertainment card from Ebay for $5 for the discount. I couldn't pay more than $90 for this! Especially when there are closer hotels that are just as "retro"

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mammaspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2009

We were traveling with 2 other families who all stayed at HOJO. Overall, this hotel met our needs for our 4 day trip. We were told that checkin is now 4pm instead of 3pm. This is not what we wanted to hear after a 7 hour drive with 2 young children. This website still states a 3pm checkin. We have a baby who drinks warm milk and warmed up baby food. We called the hotel the day before our checkin to see if they have microwaves in the rooms. We were told that some rooms have them and it should not be a problem. We finally checked in at 4pm and were told that we could only get a room with a microwave if we paid an extra $15 a night. That was a huge dissapoinment and caused us to find other ways to warm up milk and food during our stay. I refused to pay $60 more for a microwave in our room. Had the staff been more willing to help us out I would have given this hotel 5 stars. The rooms were clean, pool area nice and close to Disneyland.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennygirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in early may and we had a great stay. Check in was easy and pleasant. We stayed in room 2112, which was large and comfortable. The free internet was a plus, just like the fridge and microwave. The bathroom had a good size and we loved the showe.
We used the pool that we could see from our room and the water had a nice temperature.

It took us 10 minutes to walk to Disney.

Minor drawback was that housekeeping started very early (7.30) and the noise they made bothered us, because we wanted to sleep for another hour. They also knocked on our door around 8 am (is ANYONE out of their rooms at that time when the parks open at 10?), the next day we used the "do not disturb sign" ... Other drawback was the fuzzy tv signal, it wasn't very clear.

We had a nice stay here and for the entertainment rate we paid ($59 a night) it was an excellent deal.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marjol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 119 in Anaheim
2,989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 119 in Anaheim
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $165 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing