We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Sooke, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This is the perfect place to stay if you are planning on going to Disneyland because you can walk to the park in just a few minutes, you don't need to wait for the shuttle. Also, the water park on the hotel ground is an amazing way to enjoy your down time if you want a break from all of the bustle.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the park side, otherwise you over look the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,761
    2,632
    832
    239
    89
See reviews for
5,936
483
71
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

Booked this hotel because of reviews and water playground. Didn't end up using the playground because with kids of 9 and 14 they were a bit big for it. Positives however were the staff, very welcoming and super friendly with any questions we had. Location was perhaps the best thing. Walking distance to Disneyland didn't need to bother with transport. Plus was easy to get in and out of when driving to other places in the area. Rooms were ok, reasonable size and nice and tidy. When booking received a discount as I had a mouse savers promo code.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_4Perth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, NV
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

When we arrived, we got there before the allowed check-in time and being that the HoJo was booked solid we had to wait to get our room. Art recommended building 6, which was close to the pool and the parking lot. The room was clean, spacious and being close to the pool the noise level wasn't that bad. I wish I got the name of our maid. She was great and despite us asking for quick service, she still made our beds. Whenever we visit Anaheim, The HoJo is our go to place.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daddyolasvegas_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojoanaheim, HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear daddyolasvegas_NV,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us! We are so delighted to hear that our Housekeeping Staff was so attentive to your needs during your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us! We are looking forward to seeing you and your family during you next Disneyland vacation.

Kind regards,

HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The staff here were really friendly and helpful. The room we had was a good size and clean but maybe a little dated.The bed was huge and I just about had to txt my husband just to say hi. All in all we had a good stay but feel it is probably more focused on families than couples. I would definitely consider staying here with our grandchildren.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orkboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

The room was very clean, staff was very nice and helpful! Our room was large a spacious. We requested a rollaway and they brought it to us immediately. They are all about serving you. I will definitely stay here again with my family! We stayed in building 1 which was close to the freeway and they have put sound proof windows in and you could not hear the freeway noise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregonian12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This charming hotel is just a walk away from Disneyland and has several restaurants in the vicinity. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable, the room has a minifidge, a microwave, a coffee maker and a TV. The rooms have air conditioning and most have balconies. Some of the young children were annoying when you left the room because there was a pool, or they just came back from Disney land. I would go again and I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay near Disneyland in LA.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Popbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel 2 times in the last 5 years.Both times have been a fantastic time.10 minute walk from the Disneyland gates, Mimi's across the street.Also has a in house little store with drinks, including beers etc.
Small waterpark to entertain the kids with tables and chairs for the adults.Rooms have always been clean and very nice help.
This is the only place we will stay for Disneyland trips.We never even look anywhere else

Room Tip: Reserve early enough to get on the proper side.You can watch the Disneyland fireworks right from you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miket406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#21 of 118 in Anaheim
2,862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing