We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They strive for 5, but miss by a lot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

On the room key and the check in brochure they say that they strive for 5 on trip advisor but they don't have the service or amenities to back that up.

1. The room is very dated. Retro is fine for the lobby but I want an up to date room. It looked like the 80s at best.
2. Water pressure in the shower wasn't great and when you switched the water from tub to shower a lot of water still flowed out of the lower tap. Very wasteful.
3. There was no outlet by my side of the bed. Luckily we travel with an extension cord.
4. Toiletries were low quality.
5. Discovered on the 2nd day that only one of our keys worked.
6. Wall attached blow dryer, they never have enough power!
7. Bought 2 muffins in the gift shop, they were too stale to eat. But the person working in there was friendly and gave us plastic knives without being asked.
8. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the room was quiet despite the freeway being right there.

Biggest complaint was the service. We checked in around 8:30 and settled into our room and then walked back to the lobby to buy park passes for the next day since we forgot to do it at check in. Arrived at 9:16 to be told that they only sell them to 9:00 and they were locked in the safe for security reasons. This was NOT in the brochure we were given at check in or in the room information which all just stated that they sold park passes. Nor was it mentioned at check in. Check in was not friendly or welcoming nor were the other staff interactions we had other than the employee at the gift shop. Also, the security thing and other security warnings made me wonder how safe the area is.

We stay at a lot of Hampton Inn and similar chains of that type and this place simply didn't measure up. I would not recommend this place and wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msu_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,736 - 3,742 of 7,829 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here for 11 nights , a great place, great location, great facilities. This hotel is a 5 minute walk from Disneyland. The hotel itself is comfortable and clean, staff at reception are very helpful. There is shop onsite that has a large range of products, which we found very convenient. Also there is a great little water park onsite which is great for people with children, there is also another pool at the rear of the hotel. Overall I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone that is looking for a place to stay close to Disneyland.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kris V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Great hotel with excellent front desk staff who went well out of their way to get us into our room which had been booked but screwed up by Hotels.com.
They gave us a special rate and a larger suite then we'd asked for, for less seeing the distress we were in after a long drive down the coast. The room was huge and could easily accommodate the 4 of us. The hotel is a 3 min walk from a great b'fast place which is then a 5 min walk to the Disney gate Thoroughly recommend the HJ Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surendran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Anaheim Resort
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
3,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $194 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing