We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

7,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,756
    2,629
    831
    239
    89
See reviews for
5,927
483
71
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We were disappointed on the conditions of the hotel. The buildings are very old and they should consider renovations throughout the hotel to be able to compete with other hotels close by. We stayed at the Red Lion and the Mirage once already and those rooms are much cheaper but also much nicer. Maid personal are friendly but another bug factor it's those annoying signs on your bed and bathroom where the hotel is asking for you to re used the linens and towels to conserve water?? Really?? Sound it to us like they are try to put more money on they're pockets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojoanaheim, HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team at Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Maria G,

We are so sorry to hear that you were not satisfied during your recent stay with us. We are proud to be one of the only original hotels in the Anaheim Resort and are always finding new ways to improve our property. Just recently we replaced all of our mattresses with Dreamscape pillowtop beds, installed new flat screen TVs and have completed a refresh of all our Standard-Double rooms including new artwork, paint and carpeting.

We are an environmentally friendly hotel and try our best to conserve water, we are happy to give our Guests the option to help us be eco-friendly. Our Housekeeping Staff can remove these signs from your room upon request and will be happy to provide you with fresh linens and towels every day. Thank you for your feedback and hope you give us another try! We would be delighted to have the opportunity to better serve you during your next trip to the Anaheim Resort.

Kind Regards,

HoJo Anaheim Guest Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayti, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I used the Mousesavers deal to get a room at this hotel. It is literally across the street from the Disney parks (although the walk to the entrance is about 8 minutes), so the location is perfect. You can even see the fireworks from Disneyland from the pool/hot tub area. I requested a quiet room and was placed in Building 4 on the first floor. I'm a light sleeper and never once was bothered by noise, so that makes me very happy. The hotel is very retro looking (some would say outdated, but I disagree) and very clean. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robm103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We got to stay here for 2 days using our points thru Wyndham and it was worth every point. The beds were just so heavenly to sleep on, the room itself was nice, the swimming area looked very inviting, and the kids swimming area looked like it would be so much fun( we do not have little kids anymore, but looked at it). Very close to Disneyland. The front desk staff are very friendly. I got paper pirate hats for my grandkids from the front desk. We had stayed here the first time we went to Disneyland with our kids back in 1992 and it seems like it has grown some in size and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catsmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel is a fantastic value. Across the street from Disneyland, and pretty cheap. It's bare bones in the room, but if you're staying there, you're there to go to Disneyland and won't be spending much time in the room anyway. The little fridge is handy for snacks for kids. Little kids love the waterpark, though the water is freezing.

Biggest drawback - it would be great if they put one of those retractable clotheslines in the tub for swimsuits to drip dry.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallusgallusdomestic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
2,859 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing