We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“At Home As Always at HoJo Anaheim!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

7,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,601
    2,537
    780
    223
    81
See reviews for
5,634
464
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We very recently stayed at the HoJo Anaheim and found it to be a terrific hotel. The grounds are lovely (and they are doing some upgrading, as well), the staff was friendly and helpful, and our room was immaculate and comfortable (though some non-skid surface in the tub wouldn't go amiss), and kept that way by very speedy, efficient housekeeping. The location is definitely a HUGE plus as it is such a short walk from the hotel to the Disneyland entrances. However, I give it only four stars because of one issue that I believe to be significant, but entirely fixable.

As nice as the room was, the beds were HORRIBLE. Very, very soft. Now, many people won't be troubled by this but if anyone in your party has difficulty sleeping on a soft mattress (and seriously, the beds were so soft, it was hard to even sit on them), this becomes a real problem. We called about it the first night and were informed that the hotel doesn't keep any boards to put under mattresses. This really surprised us as we have requested bed boards at a number of hotels over the years and never had an issue getting one. After a very uncomfortable night, we spoke to the front desk in the morning and they sent up a fold away (which they gave us at no charge - much appreciated). This was pretty lumpy but by moving the fold away mattress to the floor, I was able to sleep fairly well each night.

This was uncomfortable enough that I can give only four stars to an otherwise wonderful hotel, but I do feel that it's a problem that would be easily corrected by keeping some heavy plywood on hand for just such a situation. Had we all been able to use the beds, I wouldn't have hesitated to give a five star rating.

Room Tip: If you are able to upgrade to a Disney view room, it's very nice to enjoy Disneyland fireworks f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel marked our first stop on our US adventure, and it was a good start to the holiday. The hotel decor is a little outdated, however it is clean and the rooms are very spacious compared to some of the other hotels we stayed in. The bathroom is a good size. Having another basin just outside the bathroom made it a little easier for a family of four to get ready to go out. Our room also had a small table and a couple of chairs which allowed us to have a few breakfasts in our room. The water playground was a hit with the kids, and the on-site laundry facilities came in handy.
It's a short 10 min walk to the main gates of the Disney Parks so its location is good. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient.
Only downside was that our room was not ready when we went to check in. After a 15 hour flight, that was most disappointing. Despite this, think that the HOJO represents good value for money for a family stay at Disneyland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariC102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

first of all I must thank the manager on duty on October 11 at 6 pm when super shuttle did not turn up to take us to the airport he kindly organized alternative transport at short notice and we made it to our airport check in just in time . now for the hotel rooms they are very roomy and comfortable and all staff we came in contact with would go out of there way to help with any difficulties the hotel gardens are lovely and kept in good order there is a very good convenience store on site and great swimming areas the hotel is very handy to the Disney theme parks and other services if you need a great hotel in Anaheim you would be struggling to find a better hotel than the howard Johnson would stay at the hotel any time we were in Anaheim just as we have done in the past

Room Tip: rooms around the pool are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Booked 5 nights here for my husband and myself. From start to finish the staff have been great, housekeeping spot on and really nice family atmosphere. Very handy for the Disney parks, doesn't take long to walk (about 10 minutes). Good parking and wi-fi. No where to eat but room has fridge and microwave and an array or eateries down the the same street. Rooms clean, fresh and modern. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the children's pool area and we got a great view of the fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariechez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#18 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing