We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed April 3, 2004

I was pleased with the Howard Johnson, it was clean the staff was helpful and polite. We stayed in buildling #2 with a view of the Garden Pool. It was a short walk (in my opinion) to Disneyland with resturants within walking distance. The room was great and had a nice sized bathroom. Noise was not a problem where we stayed, but I do understand if you get a room facing I-5 it is. In my opinion if you are not wanting to spend a fortune and are looking for a family oriented property close to Disneyland this is a great place to stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,651
    2,567
    792
    228
    82
See reviews for
5,724
471
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2004

My Daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights March 30th and March 31st 2004. I did my research ahead of time and I had cancelled other reservations to stay here. I was very pleased with how clean my room and bath was and believe me I checked. The Customer Service was excellent and trust me I asked alot of questions. The pool was clean and I liked the mini cabana's, I stayed by the pool and there really wasnt that many people in it. I would stay there again if I could get a good deal again on the room. The only improvement I can suggest is to provide some type of breakfast with your stay. I suggest staying in building 4 on their second floor facing the courtyard, very pretty view at night. I will be more than happy to answer any questions regarding the service if the hotel wants to email me

Helpful?
3 Thank TIALAURA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2004

We stayed five nights. It's quite a long walk if you have small children (about 15 minutes)to Disney Maingate. Used only flat sheets on bed, so halfway through the night you are laying on bare mattress along with everyone else who has visited. We had a room next to the pool area which is open until midnight, hard to get kids to sleep if others are playing right outside your window. They add 40% surcharge on top of each long distance phone call, so don't call home to check on things.
On the plus side-the rooms are large, and the grounds are lit up at night.

Helpful?
2 Thank adventuresome4777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 31, 2004

Having read the reviews we stayed here when visiting Disneyland. The hotel is in within walking distance of Disney but is too close to the freeway. Our room was in the first block next to the reception area at the end near I-5. At 5am it seemed to have been moved to the middle lane of it. Unfortunately the hotel was full so we couldn't be moved to another room. Having said that, I would stay here again, only if I was in a quieter room away from the traffic noise.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 26, 2004

Overall a good hotel choice based on service, facilites and economy.

It can be a little noisy with all the kids there (and the freeway), but thats to be expected.

The only negative I can comment on is the "upgraded" room I was offered by the reservation staff.

I didn't notice any difference between it and a standard room. Either I wasn't actually given an upgraded room or I don't know upgraded decor !

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2004

After reading the reviews on tripadvisor prior to my visit i decided to stay at HOJO but perhaps had too higher expectations. I hoped for impressive customer service,which was average.The rooms were pretty good for the price paid and the small gift shop within the hotel was really convenient.Local dining is fairly appropriate to families-mcdonalds etc. Pool area was really good-even 2 pools!major problem really was how packed the larger pool was with littluns!even up to midnight! all in all I was somewhat dissapointed with the stay at HOJO,but im unable to pinpoint it to a paticular reason.If possible try and get a room as far away from the reception are as possible!this was all hours noise hell! The one thing can say I loved was the gardens-which exceeded any of the gardens in far more expensive hotels I had been previously staying in!The seemingly endless and well manicured flowers accompanied delicate little fountains which were all framed by beautifull garden lights in the trees.That was a very memorable part of my experience. I would stay here again,with many of these considerations in mind.

Helpful?
3 Thank fgc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 21, 2004

We spent a night here recently and were not impressed, especially after the wonderful reviews we had read on this site. Our room was spacious but the decor was outdated. It was clean, however, and relatively close to Disneyland. I guess I just had higher expectatations because of the rave reviews. Next time I think we'll look for a better hotel.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#15 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing