We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #13 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2004

We spent a night here recently and were not impressed, especially after the wonderful reviews we had read on this site. Our room was spacious but the decor was outdated. It was clean, however, and relatively close to Disneyland. I guess I just had higher expectatations because of the rave reviews. Next time I think we'll look for a better hotel.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,572
    2,514
    769
    221
    79
See reviews for
5,568
463
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yelm, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2004

We were happy with the hotel. We have stayed at several Harbour motel/hotels that did not have nice pool areas so that is why we choose this one. The pool area is nicer then most, however with a longer walk and no continental breakfast I feel that this may not be the best place to stay. We also requested a non smoking room and did not get one so I would wake up every morning with a terrible sore throat. I know the hotel said they could not make any promises that we would get a non smoking room but this is the only Disney area hotel that has not meet are request. If you are not going to swim you can do better elsewhere.
If you want to have a nice swim area keep in mind this is a very average old hotel with the only plus being the pool area.

Helpful?
4 Thank yngsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2004

I love this hotel. We have been staying at the Howard Johnson for the past 5 years. I love the view. The freeway is no bother to me or my family. We would watch the fireworks everynoght from the hotel to avoid the crowds at Disneyland. The staff is excellent. I love that you can checkout right from your television also. Last summer we got one of the rooms in the two story building, it didn't feel right being in one of those rooms after I have stayed in the main building for the past four years before that and we asked to change rooms and they did it right away. That's what I call excellent service. My son loves the game room and pool! The gift shop really helps out when you forget the small things. I overall love this hotel. We actually thought about changing hotels to try and see if there was anything better, but we chose not to because you can't beat the price or service or home-like feeling that we get from staying there. I always get jealous when we check put and see people checking in because I want to stay so bad and my trip has ended and their's has just started. I recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone who will listen to me.

Helpful?
6 Thank jazalx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2004

We stayed here between Feb 23th - 28th, and our stay could not have been more pleasant. We have three young children (5 yrs, 2 yrs, and newborn), and had very high expectations after all of the positive reviews that we have read here. Upon our arrival, we were able to check in early, and the hotel had met every one of our requests (park view, top floor, adjoining rooms). During the second night of our stay, it began to rain, and both of our rooms began to leak (a steady drip in each corner of the rooms). As our children were sleeping, we decided to wait until morning inform the front desk. The next morning, I spoke with the front desk manager and we were given several options (move to new rooms, see if the leak could be fixed), and we had a service manager up to our room within 15 minutes. The service manager gave us his honest assessment (that the leak could be fixed), found out when we would be gone to Disneyland so as not to disturb our stay, and had the problem fixed by days end (at least no more noticeable leaks). The service was absolutely professional in every way. The front desk manager even gave us a night's stay for free for the "leaky" night, which really was appreciated and made me feel as though they truly cared about us as a guest and about our return business. Problems always occur, and the key is how a hotel handles those problems. The HoJo's service is truly superb and made our stay there one of the best we've had on ANY vacation. The pool, hot tub, game room and grounds were exceptional, the reviews on this site were 100% correct. The location to Disneyland was a short walk, and even with our children we had absolutely no problem. We were able to walk to our hotel quicker than those from our hotel that had to wait for the tram to take them to the hotel. Thanks again, HoJo, we will definitely be back to stay with you for our next visit to Disneyland!

Helpful?
5 Thank Golfguy2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2004

I recently spent two nights here and was very pleased with the room and the service. We had a top floor room with an arched ceiling that allowed the sun to shine in. It was large, clean, and the bathroom had a few cute flowered tiles which surprisingly was enough to give it some character. I was very impressed by the service. The first night, my daughter threw up in the hall, just outside the elevators. Within five minutes of my call to the front desk, it was cleaned up. My only complaint (which I was fully informed by this website before taking the room as well as by the front desk) was the noise of the expressway just outside our window. It became a sort of white noise and did not wake any of us so we weren't very disturbed by it. Back to the positives, the restaraunt across the street (Mimi's) was EXCELLENT for breakfast and lunch, far superior to the IHOP which charged the same price for a dirty room with poor service and half as much food.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, B.C.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2004

Do yourself a favour, just stay here. You wont be dissapointed. We had a suite, which was incredible. Spacious, clean, great view of the Matterhorn, and the staff were all great. I will stay here again.

Helpful?
2 Thank Chrispmoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2004

We recently stayed one night in order to spend 2 days at Disneyland. It was a pleasant surprise to have such a clean and spacious room. It was quiet and the staff was very professional. The walk to Disneyland was quite easy for us, even with a four-year-old; much easier than driving and parking at Disneyland. Having a MacDonald's so close was helpful.
We wouldn't hesitate to stay again on our next trip. I might add that I was worried about noise from the freeway, but it was actually very minimal and did not disturb our sleep at all.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing