We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The impression we got, was that the hotel really aimed to be as helpful as possible - with regards information, services and facilities.
No matter who we got on the front desk - they were helpful. For example, we left our camera on the Disneyland shuttle bus, and the reception desk contacted them for us.

We were a family of 5 (including 1 teenager). The room was fairly tight for 5, but very adequate. When at Disneyland, you are not really in your room very much.
The rooms didn't have the latest furnishings, but did not create a drab appearance. The rooms were clean, the beds exceptionally comfortable (except for the rollaway bed) and the swimming pool was great. They provide pool towels, which was helpful and you could see the Disneyland fireworks (which are at 9:30 pm) from the pool.

There is a very reasonably priced laundry facility downstairs with washing machines and dryers (we accumulated a lot of washing so that was handy)!!

The location was great - across the road is a restaurant (more expensive than your fast food options), which had a great selection of food and was not overly expensive.

The location was great - it took us about 7 minutes to walk to Disneyland.

This was also the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in. Our room backed onto the highway, and we couldn't hear a thing. You also couldn't hear any other guest around you, so I think that it must be very well insulated.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters, as the rooms are so well insulated, you are not aware of any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank di100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,678 - 4,684 of 7,786 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great hotel for the price...beds super comfortable, loved having the Keurig, the refrigerator helped cut down on meals, walk to DisneyLand was only 8 minutes...didn't get to enjoy the water park because we were too busy with DisneyLand, but it looked fun. Would absolutely stay here again and plan to!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Deanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

we were very late booking a hotel for our disney visit and came across the howard johnson in anaheim. our experience was great, the checkin staff very friendly and helpful, our room spacious (perhaps because it was wheelchair accessible). the pools were fun, although we weren't able to enjoy them much because we were at disneyland all day! this hotel is, indeed, walkable to disney, no more than 10 minutes to the entrance, and this was a big plus, as we didn't need to wait on a shuttle. the convenience store on site has some food staples, at a price, but still not as expensive as food inside disneyland. they also have souvenirs and gifts in case you forgot to get something for your aunt sadie or your kid's best friend. that came in very handy! free parking and wifi were a plus as well. a great deal overall!

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the pool, towards the inner courtyard, which may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Incredibly convenient to the parks, very helpful staff, spotless room, AMAZING gift shop...can't image staying anywhere else in Anaheim!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

After our 5 days at the Disneyland Resort (staying at the Disneyland Hotel), we decided to take a two-night break at the HoJo rather than drive down to San Diego. We were traveling with our just turned 7 boy/girl twins and they needed some rest before our next adventure to Legoland.

The HoJo was a great choice for us. The twins LOVED the water play area and spent all day Friday playing in the water. The location was 10 minutes to Downtown Disney and actually a much closer walk to the Disney gates than from the Disneyland Hotel. It was also close to a nearby mall that had many more dinner choices with none of the waits you find in Downtown.

The price per night was less than half of what we paid for the Disney hotel.

The rooms were fairly clean but dated. We were in building 5 on the second floor and so had the huge skylights, which woke us up early. I know most people don't go to the Disney area to sleep so this may not be an issue for some, but for us on our rest day it was a bummer, especially for our kids, who could have used some extra sleep.

The room was also very noisy because we weren't blocked by Building one and could see and hear the highway. I did have ear plugs, which helped.

Again, I wasn't expecting the Taj Mahal for the price. The hotel is a very affordable option and it was great for our short stay. I didn't love the rooms but my children were just as happy in this room as they were at the Disney hotel. This room was also larger than the Disney room.

If you are looking for an affordable, simple hotel to stay near Disney with a fun pool for your kids, this is your hotel. Just ask for a room without the skylights.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with skylights if you don't want to get up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 119 in Anaheim
2,990 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $165 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing