We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as nice as first appeared, but still fine” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #13 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not as nice as first appeared, but still fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Howard Johnson for three nights with our two children (ages 6 &4) during our Disney vacation. Howard Johnson's website shows a modern lobby and updated rooms. Our room was definitely not updated. It had simple furnishings and 80s decor. The beds were comfy and our room was quiet, but my parents stayed in a room on the 7th or 8th floor and said the highway noise was terrible. The hotel was, as promised, very close to Disneyland and CA Adventure, which was nice since we spent most of our time there. The water park is nice, but was unnecessary as we spent our time at the parks.

Room Tip: Don't stay on an upper floor in building #1 - the highway noise is really loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,572
    2,514
    769
    221
    79
See reviews for
5,568
463
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (791)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from another great trip to Disneyland and great stay at the Howard Johnson Anaheim. The hotel was as nice as ever. The kids enjoyed the pool and water playground. The walk to Disneyland took about 10 minutes. This was our 10th visit in a row to the Anaheim Hojo and can't wait till the next. The only negative is the price is starting to get high.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gratzer8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Rooms were very clean and beds are soooo comfortable. Even though our room faced the freeway the road noise was non existent due to the thick glass doors. overall a very nice and convenient place to stay, 5 minute walk to Disneyland and close to Mimis Restaurant and Mcdonalds was across the road.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Disneyland will get the view of the nightly firework display
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manjimup, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed for 9 nights at the HoJo and were completely satisfied with everything! We travelled with 2 children, 13 and 11 and had the kid's suite in building 1. Even after staying at the Disneyland Hotel for 4 nights before, the HoJo was comfortable, affordable and close enough to Disneyland. The kid's suite is fantastic, so much room, 2 tvs, 2 bathrooms and great airconditioning. The king bed in the other bedroom was so big and comfortable. I had read many negative reviews about staying in building 1 because of the freeway noise, and yes, our room overlooked the freeway, but we could hardly hear the noise at all. The windows were double plated to block the noise and they worked, my husband's snoring was louder than the freeway!! Anyway, who cares about the freeway view, we were there for Disneyland, not the view, so that was not an issue for us at all. The curtains in the room were so thick, they blocked out the light beautifully for sleeping late. The boys LOVED their bunk beds and delighted in housekeeping arranging their soft toys on their beds in different spots each day...what a lovely touch!
The distance to Disneyland was so close with lots of great restaurants to choose from for our meals along the way. We loved Millie's for breakfast and Mimi's for dinner. After a heavy day of walking, we would come back for a few hours at the pool before heading out back to Disneyland for the evening. The pool was wonderful and the boys loved the water bucket and slides, and it did not bother them that they were older than the other children playing there.
The little shop in the lobby of building 1 had everything we needed, and we loved looking around at the affordable souvenirs before stocking up on drinks and snacks. Mary was wonderful, looking after us by helping us find the things we needed...shampoo, breakfast food, wash powder and even spoons and forks for takeaway meals. We loved seeing the variety of snack foods there, quite a few we had never seen before, so we visited everyday. This little shop is such a great asset to the hotel.
The laundry room saved us many times as our washing kept building up, it was easy to use, safe and accessible at any time of night...when Disneyland closes so late, it is surprising what time of night you can do the washing!
The staff at reception were always friendly and helpful, nothing was a problem, from booking transport or getting Disneyland tickets.
We were sad to leave the Howard Johnson and we congratulated ourselves for choosing to stay there as it made our stay so much fun, we will definitely be returning if ever we come back to Disneyland (we actually had stayed there as honeymooners 16 years before) as it is one of our favourite hotels.

Room Tip: The kid's suite is large and comfortable if travelling with children, they will LOVE it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SVKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We (Mum, Dad and 12 year old) stayed here in early June for 3 nights. We were on the ground floor of building # 1. Room very dark and in need of refurbishment. Air con made a terrible noise, and kept us awake. Another motor started at 5am, which then made sleep impossible. When we mentioned this to staff they said they would look at it, but did nothing.
Lack of breakfast on site is a real issue, as Mimis cafe is pretty pricey.
Would not recommend, as there are other hotels in the area which offer better facilities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing