We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great, stress free family stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #12 of 116 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great, stress free family stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel was recommended by our travel agent and I am very glad it was. The service is great (friendly, helpful, patient, provided good advice on local services and helped me print out vouchers I had left behind).

We didn't have a lot of time for the water park, but the time we did spend was lovely. Our room was very comfortable and the grounds were attractive, clean and relaxing. I was concerned about the proximity to a freeway but it didn't affect our room or stay.

The only complaint is that the beers offered for sale in the gift shop are priced very high e.g. single serving prices rather than "bottle store" prices, but this is a small gripe in the large scheme of things.

We had a wonderful time and will be back! Its tempting to try someplace closer to the main gate of Disneyland, but the extra walk seems more than worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marabsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,328
    2,350
    710
    203
    71
See reviews for
5,148
421
64
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (753)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed here almost 10 years ago, long before we had kids, for a couples' vacation to Disneyland. Loved it then, so we came back recently and rented a Kids Suite for our 6 night vacation on Mother's Day week. The room was fantastic! Essentially two adjoining rooms combined into one. Plenty spacious enough for my wife and I and three kids. Two of our boys enjoyed the bunk beds while the hotel provided a free crib for the baby. Our King bed was very comfortable, and it was so blissfully peaceful to be able to retire to our own room each night after a long day at the parks. Despite being on the far side of Building 1 (the closest rooms to the highway on the whole property) we heard virtually no road noise, especially when the A/C was on.

The rooms were very clean, smelled great, and climate control was comfortable. We loved all the furniture, especially the little dining table where we ate our breakfast every day. The decor was understated but they had some Pirates of the Caribbean memorabilia that the kids liked (classic ride posters and maps, not stuff from the recent movies). Plenty of shelf space to toss your gear onto after a long day at the park. Housekeeping was friendly and prompt, and provided decaf K-cups at no charge upon request (every room has a Keurig brewer).

My father, staying in a separate suite with my mom and some extended family, was able to take advantage of the hotel's Power Scooter service, where they rent you a Scooter for the duration of your stay for much less than what you'd pay at the Parks. And the hotel bellman took the scooter at the end of each day and recharged it for my dad, so he didn't have to keep it in his room. The scooters are technically provided by an outside vendor, and when the hotel found out that the vendor had overcharged us, they credited the difference to our hotel bill! An extremely nice gesture, when they could have just told us to go work it out with the vendor.

The waterpark area is a lot of fun for the kiddos. Three waterslides, lots of fountains, and a big bucket that dumps out every so often. The hot tub is in the same area, which gives the grownups a nice place to relax while the kids go crazy. They also have a regular-sized saltwater swimming pool located elsewhere on the property.

Yes, this is technically the longest walk to Disneyland of any of the hotels on S. Harbor Blvd, but it's less than 10 minutes, and HoJo is seriously leaps and bounds better than all the rest. The Kids Suites were less than half the cost of a similar sized suite at the Grand Californian, and we even got a discount via Mousesavers.com

So yes, I cannot recommend this HoJo enough. We will stay here every time we go to Disneyland.

Room Tip: The Suites are a great value, especially if you can take advantage of their frequent discount offers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Corey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Love the hojo in Anaheim. Great location to Disneyland and a great pool and play area for our little one. The only problem is we payed for a resort view but we were kinda low 4th floor and couldnt really see anything. But did have a good view of the pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a lovely holiday in Anaheim and the Howard Johnson was an important factor. It is handy to the Disney parks so we could take a mid-afternoon break with the kids and get back to the park after an hour or so. The facilities were fine- a wee bit dated perhaps but perfectly good. I agree with other posters who rave about the beds- awesome- our bed at home will have to be replaced soon, it just doesn't compare. We read reviews on this site before booking and made a point of getting a room away from traffic. The two story blocks between the two pools should suit those afraid of freeway noise and yes- it is right on the freeway on one side at least. The shop is great for all your bits and pieces- and not too expensive. My wife ordered groceries from Von's online before we left- they deliver for free and arrived to the hotel an hour before us. MIMI'S! My kids probably miss this restaurant more than the parks! It's convenient to the hotel and has excellent food and staff. Hojos staff were great- very helpful when you needed them, unintrusive if you didn't. We chose this hotel primarily because of the pools. They were much used by our 10 and 6 year olds. Bottom line? Hojo's did great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sineadh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#15 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 2,419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing