We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for Disney trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,623)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,010 - 5,016 of 7,624 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We absolutely loved it here! The beds were super comfortable and the Green Mountain Keurig coffee in the room was an awesome treat! The hotel staff were helpful, the gift shop was handy, and the rooms were clean and quiet. The kids especially loved the waterslide play area, I liked being able to easily keep an eye on them from the hot tub. The walk to Disneyland was a cinch and it was nice to be able to pop in for an afternoon swim and nap on those long park days. Staying here was like the icing on our vacation cake; It really was that enjoyable. Hands down, we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The rooms away from the freeway are nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unodostresquatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Howard Johnson. So close to Disney and close to all freeways etc for getting around to other places.
The rooms were clean and we loved coming home after a long day at Disney to find the kids teddy bears all arranged neatly on their bed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Darren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Jennifer E
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

I booked this resort for a last minute trip to Anaheim with my 2 boys couldn't book Disneyland resort as it was full.
The Good:
Good location, 15 minute walk into the parks. Good water park but pretty small. Comfortable beds, free Wifi that worked pretty good, friendly staff, free parking.
The Bad:
Rooms that have not been remodelled since 1990. No sound proofing in the rooms, you literally heard everybody in the hallway, floors above and below and outside. Then there is my personal favourite, 2 of the main buildings are located right next to the I5 freeway. 10 lanes of traffic 30 feet away from your building. The I5 is one of the busiest freeways in North America and combined with the lack of soundproofing, it sounds like an airport in your room at all hours of the day. Definitely the main reason I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank art1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Fabulous Hotel.. Staff were friendly and rooms were lovely and cleaned each day.
Recommend it especially for the the locality of Disneyland. Only a few minute walk to both parks.
Close to restaurants and all areas for shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laci0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked two rooms for four adults and five kids. We got a nice discount through mousesavers.com.

The rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy enough to accommodate everyone. The hotel is walking distance, but you can also buy a pass for the Anaheim shuttle that picks you up in front of the hotel. Walking to Disneyland is a lot easier than walking home when you are really tired and have tired kids too. It was well worth the price. We left Disneyland in the late afternoon to have dinner at MiMi's, which is next door to the hotel. We got our second wind and took the shuttle back to Disneyland for the evening. The hotel location, price, and amenities are perfect for a family vacation. The water park is great for the kids if you need a break from Disneyland.

We asked for adjoining rooms, but got only rooms next to each other. The hotel did not tell us they were not adjoining, but everything worked out. The free wi-fi is really no wi-fi because the signal is really poor. You don't come to Anaheim to stay in your room and surf the internet, so it isn't a big loss.

However, the hotel staff was most gracious and allowed us to check in well before the usual time and park our cars in their lot. That saved us quite a bit on Disneyland parking. The savings more than paid for the shuttle passes. The hotel is just off the freeway at the Harbor exit. Easy to access. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are very nice and very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Love2travelhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
2,895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.6 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $178 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing