We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Comfy Beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #12 of 116 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
VERNON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Service and Comfy Beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The service from all the staff was great, especially the front desk staff. They provided directions, helped print boarding passes, and helped when my mom became ill.
Also we have a pillowtop bed at home and it was just like sleeping at home, they also had different thickness pillows on each bed ranging from soft to hard. We had a great view of Disneyland and our 8 year old enjoyed meeting new friends at the water park, even though it was a little chilly out. Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,354
    2,374
    721
    203
    73
See reviews for
5,201
426
64
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hojo Anaheim provides the best value for families wanting to stay within walking distance of Disneyland. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and Art, the attendant who checked us in upon arrival was especially courteous. Only things I would recommend is adding Disney Channel to TV lineup and having a continental breakfast offering would be awesome!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALGARY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is the third time my family has stayed at this hotel and we'll keep going back. A great value located directly across from the fireworks at Disneyland. The high speed internet though is really bad.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with six Australian teenagers. They were in LA for a three-day stopover including two days at Disneyland. The Howard Johnson is a good choice for families. It is a large, sprawling hotel with walkways, gardens and blocks of hotel rooms. We were situated furtherest from the hotel reception/entrance which could be challenging to anyone with walking difficulties.
Good points - spacious rooms (two double beds and a foldaway will fit in one standard room), microwave and mini-fridge in rooms, coin-operated laundry, heated outdoor swimming pool, spacious moden bathrooms, 10-15 min walk to the Disneyland entrance gates, has a small shop which sells microwavable meals, souvenirs, some food items such as milk (prices are quite high). The hotel is well-maintained. A shuttle bus picks up visitors for Disneyland. We did not use the service but believe it is a free service offered by Disneyland to surrounding hotels. Hotel front office staff were very obliging and good-humoured. It appears to be popular with Australian families. There are cafes such as McDonalds, Tony Romas, etc along this street so finding somewhere to eat is not a problem. We took a cab ride to the nearest Walmart (AUS$15 one way) and purchased food from their food section.
Bad points - walking distance to hotel room can be inconvenient. If you forget something you cannot go back quickly to your room. This is not one large enclosed hotel building but a series of buildings interlinked with pathways and gardens. If it is raining outside, you are walking in the rain to reach hotel receptioin. There is a 6 or 8 lane freeway on the boundary of this hotel. We did not hear the noise in our rooms but it is noticeable outside the hotel buildings. Also, a 15 min walk to Disneyland sounds short but our group made the trip four times in two days.

Room Tip: Request a room near hotel reception if you don't want a long walk to your room every day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OZtraveller222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 2,460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing