We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have found our hotel for Disneyland visits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2008

We have tried 3 other hotels in the Disneyland area. HoJo is definitely a winner with us. We have 3 kids--7, 13, and 16. The room was spacious enough for all 5 of us, including the rollaway bed (no extra charge!). Having a real fridge in the room--not a mini-bar--is fantastic when you travel with kids.
The room was very clean, and everything was in good repair--as was the case with other areas of the hotel (except for the video arcade, with some broken machines.) One morning I went out early and saw HoJo employees giving the exterior areas a thorough scrubbing down. It reminded me of the attention to cleanliness you see at Disneyland itself.
Even though our room faced the freeway, there are these gigantic pine trees that stretch all the way to the top of the hotel, providing sort of a screen. We were not bothered by noise at all.
The pool area was very popular with our kids. HoJo staffers kept the fresh towels coming.
It took us less than 10 minutes to walk from our room to the Disneyland turnstiles.
We'll be back, no doubt.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ArizonaStargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,003 - 7,009 of 7,786 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2008

We stayed at the Howard Johnson's in March during a recent trip to Disneyland. The rooms were large enough for my husband and 3 children, very clean and economical so close to Disney. A room this close to Disney in Orlando would be extremely costly!!

The walk to Disney is short and there a few eating options along the way. We very much enjoyed our stay - I did request a room not along the freeway for fear of noise.

I would highly recommend this hotel due to location, room size, clean rooms, property in great condition and cost. Can't beat it!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Iowatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

I guess I was all hopped up by the songs of praise from everyone on TripAdvisor, so I was, admittedly, a little disappointed when we walked into the room: worn-appearing, torn areas of carpet that had been clumsily sewed, dated furniture...but then I remembered we were paying $109/night and were almost right across the street from Disneyland, and that perked me up.

The room had a small fridge, coffeemaker, 2 queen beds, a desk, and a very small table and chairs. The bathroom was small, but relatively clean. Towels were very small and thin. Shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash, a sewing kit, a shower cap, and lotion were provided. We had a sizable balcony, but there weren't any chairs or tables out there, so we had to drag chairs from the inside outside to watch the fireworks (yes, we could watch the fireworks at Disney from the room :)).Ethernet computer access in the room is free.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped. There are two main pools, one of which is closed for construction; the pool that was open was small/medium and warm-ish (not warm enough for me, but the kids had no problem getting in), and there is also a small kiddie pool and a small area with fountains of water that shoot up out of the ground for the kids.

There is a small arcade and a marketplace in the main building near the lobby. There are also computers in the front desk area and the front desk people were very helpful and pleasant. Right next door is a Mimi's cafe, and one more door down from that is McDonald's. Disneyland is approximately a 10 minute walk to the front gate.

One thing that should be noted is that the hotel borders the very busy 5 freeway as well as the very busy Harbor Boulevard, so traffic noise could potentially be an issue, particularly for light sleepers.

Overall, a satisfactory stay. Nothin' fancy...

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Fonzmambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

I cannot begin to tell you how happy I am that we stayed at HOJO.. well yes I can so here I go.
After a 3 hour flight to New Zealand, 2 hour stop over there and another 12.5 hour flight to LAX on the 19th Feb we were very relieved to arrive at HOJO's. We got there around 12:30pm prepared to be turned away and told to come back later as the room wasn't ready. To our delight the room was ready and check in was very quick and easy. I had emailed Lorealle (thank you Darkbeer) on a couple of occasions after hearing about the freeway rooms, and as this was our honeymoon I did not want one of those. We asked to see Lorealle after check in was completed and she quite happily came out to see us, and even gave us a wedding card. That was such a lovely thing to do and we were thrilled. After going to our room, having a shower and an hour or two's sleep we were ready to explore the area. We were in building 2 and it was great. The only thing that could have been a bother was the fact they were renovating the pool outside our building and using a jack hammer. However this was explained to us and apologised about on check in. It was not a worry for us though as this was only taking place between 10am and 5pm, most of the time we were not there during those times. The room itself was tired but ohhh so comfortable. The King size bed was pure heaven to sleep in. The ladies in the gift shop little store they had were wonderful and so friendly and helpful. We had a few lovely conversations with them. The ice machine was invaluable to us for our nightly scotch as well. The spa was pure heaven after a long day at Disneyland or sightseeing. Many great people were met and chatted to during that time. We also made use of the wonderful laundry facilities at HOJO as well. All the staff from the front desk to the gardeners, cleaners, shop staff etc were just fo friendly and fabulous. When we checked out 8 days later it was like leaving friends behind. Would we reccomend HOJO'S? POSITIVELY!!!!! And we will be keeping in touch with the wonderful Lorealle :)

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TinkNMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

Second time staying here, despite renovations, room was clean and comfortable and sufficient for our Disney stay; had a couple of issues trying to connect to the internet as they were upgrading to Wireless, but other than that its a great place to visit Disney.

Kids loved the Pool and Hotub and the fact that it was only a 5 minute walk to Disney -would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rockychocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We chose HoJo based solely on location and reviews on TripAdvisor.com - it's true what people are saying, it is a great place to stay!

The HoJo is definitely value for money! The service desk was pleasant, the concierge was very helpful and the rooms were quite big and comfortable. Our room looked a little worn/tired, but it served us well and was clean.

We were in building 2 which overlooked the pool currently being renovated. At first, we were concerned about the noise, but since we were out of room for most of the day, it didn't really affect us. There was a courtesy letter from the hotel notifying us about the renovation and that work commences at 10am to 5pm each day - they offered a room change if we were unconvinced by the noise.

The location to Disneyland was great! It’s about a 10min walk to the entrance to both Disneyland & Disneyland Adventure Park.

The hotel itself does not have a restaurant, but just cross across the road is Mimi's cafe which served great breakfast and dinner real cheap!!!

Would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to travel to Anaheim on a budget.

Thanks HoJo :)

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank meli55a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2008

This past Christmas I took my fourth trip to Disneyland. This time staying off the property at Ho Jo's. I heard so many great things about this place I could not pass it up.

The hotels entrance is very nice and all the staff was very nice welcoming us. Our check in was speedy. They helped us with giving us maps, brosures, and educating us about the hotel.

Our room was very nice with a nice big closet, a decent size bathrrom with double sinks, shower/tub. We had two double beds, desk, table and chairs, a fridge which was great as we stocked lots of snacks and drinks throughout our 10 day stay. We had a ground floor suite overlooking the pool.

There property is very nice with lots of trees and flowers, fountains, two pools and a hot tub. I liked the smalled pool better as it was deeper, less, busy, was salt water instead of clorine. But used both daily. Housekeeping was always very nice and kept up with everything while on our trip.

We loved the location a 10min walk to Disneyland. Restraunts and shopping all close by. Catching a cab or the bus was very easy from our hotel. We even hired a drive to take us to Hollywood in a lincoin town car. He was very nice took us to the hollywood sign, kodak and chinese theater, rodeo drive of course to do some shopping.

Disneyland was amazing at Christmas we were there a few days prior to beat the crowds but it is really nice there at this time of year.

In any event our hotel was great. Recommend this to everyone who comes to Disneyland. The staff is wonderful, the property is also very nice and well kept. The rooms are nice and roomy. Really enjoyed our stay and will be returning the next time I come.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank elmoj25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 119 in Anaheim
2,989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $165 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing