We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 119 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Have stayed at the hotel many times. This time we staying in the kids suite. We had room 1502 which was right next to the elevator, which was running all night and loud.
Also the air conditioner was loud. Usually we enjoy the stay at this hotel but this time we had a couple complaints. One day when returning to the hotel for the kids to take a nap, we found out there was no water from 12-4. We couldn't wash hands or use the bathroom. Also the same day we had no hot water. When you have 2 small kids that need baths and need to use the restroom this is uneceptable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,810 - 5,816 of 7,757 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Accomodation was spacious, clean and had everything you need for your stay. Hotel was about a 8 min walk to gates of Disneyland.Pool was nice and waterplayground for kids was great althought due to action packed days at disneyland we only used it once. Only downfall for us was as we were on 2nd floor of one of the buildings that had 2 storeys there are giant arched windows at top that dont have curtains so natural light woke every one up by 6am. Not good if you want to have a sleep in on one or two of the mornings!. overall pretty good thou

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank MICHELLE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Overall great stay for the cost.....everyone in the family had a great time. Would definitely recommend to friends. Staff was very flexible in modifying reservations for two rooms when we only needed one for the first night. Additional requests were fulfilled almost immediately.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The first time I stayed here was 20 years ago and I loved it then when I was a kid and my 2 girls loved it this Aug when we visited Disneyland.
The big change was the Pirate Pool Area, my girls could not get enought of it, and they meet lots of new friends everyday.
It's a great location to be able to come back during the day from Disneyland when your hot and tired and want to relax and cool of for a few hours.
Also love the Laundry Room, so you can get some of your things washed before you move on.
Rooms where large and clean, and the Beds and Pillows where the best in our 4 weeks we had around America and Cabo.
See you next time, we dont stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: We had the room by the Adults Pool, is away from the Motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

By far the best hotel of our month long trip through the states. It was really clean , the staff very friendly and loved the relaxing resort feel. The pool was lovely and the location fantastic. The only gripe would be the other guests being noisy. Thank you for a lovely stay. Will definately recommend.

Stayed: September 2012
1  Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Whenever a management declares a property “rustic” or as in the case of Hojo Anaheim “retro,” a visitor can usually expect a dump in desperate need of renovation.

This hotel is not a dump, but no fairy tale castle either. While there is some pretty nice 50's retro architecture in certain sections of the hotel, the focal point is really on Disneyland across the street—and the hotel delivers a big punch in this regard.

The Disneyland gate is less than a ten minute walk away. It's perfectly reasonable to visit Disneyland in the morning, come to your room for a nap and return in the late afternoon. $4 also buys you an adult all day pass to the local shuttle, but considering that you'll be doing so much walking at the park, the short hike from the hotel to the gate is a drop in the bucket.

Speaking of buckets, the kids' water playground has a giant water bucket that tips over and spills water over heads of screaming children every five minutes. Shaped as a pirate ship, the playground is really nice and also has a hot tub for the parents for chilly winter evenings. The playground is open morning till 10:00pm every day. There is also a nice salt water swimming pool in the other section of the hotel.

Our room was a little worn out but large. The fifth floor offered a view of the Mt. Matterhorn peak across the street and watching the Disneyland fireworks from the balcony was great. I only wish the pillows were a little less filled. After one night on a giant, hard stuffed pillow my neck feels like I propped my head on a cinder block all night.

Hojo Anaheim is a pretty good value when compared with the Disney branded hotels. Certainly a lot cheaper, but not luxurious although fun for kids when the water playground is in operation.

Tips:

There are two or maybe more low rise structures. One of them is right next to the water playground. Don't plan on sleeping before 10:00pm if your windows face the playground. Kids are having fun till late every evening.

One side of the tall building looks at the I-5 freeway. The other side faces Disneyland. Enough said. Make sure to book a room on the highways side if you like watching cars!

The walk to the park gate is very quick. Waiting for the shuttle may take you longer than walking to Disneyland.

There are plenty of dining options around, but although the website claims that Mimi's restaurant is part of the hotel, it is across the street. It doesn't seem related to Howard Johnson at all.

Other than hanging out at the swimming pool, there aren't any options for parents to do at the hotel while kids are asleep. There is a small video arcade on the first floor and the hotel lobby squeezed between a hotel shop and elevators is underwhelming.

Room Tip: One side of the tall building looks at the I-5 freeway. The other side faces Disneyland. Enough said...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lazybum02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is a good value. What makes it is the private pirate themed pool for kids. Just perfect if you have small children. The only downside is they have a very latte check in time of 4pm. This is not the best if your trying to go to the hotel drop your luggage & have an early day at Disney land park. I've been able to stay at Disneyland hotel and check in at 9am.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 119 in Anaheim
2,971 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 119 in Anaheim
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $174 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing