We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, fantastic pool and soft beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #15 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent location, fantastic pool and soft beds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed July 9-14th and my kids called the hotel "home"! They played in the pool everyday and at one point would have rather stayed in the pool vs. going to Disneyland! The walk to Disneyland wasn't bad... Not 8 minutes, really about 12-15 depending on how tired the kids are. You do walk by a McDonalds and Mimi's cafe so food options are decent. We stayed in building one and the rooms were very old, probably from the 70's but it had great water pressure and the beds were soft. The TV was old and the shower head was placed a little low... If you are 5'5 you are good to go! Oh, they do have a long counter in the room for luggage which is nice because of my worry about bed bugs... We did look on the mattress for them by the way and the mattress looked brand new! Overrall the hotel was great!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FSMVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,603
    2,539
    780
    224
    81
See reviews for
5,639
464
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Wasnt impressed with the cleanliness and maintenance of the building. Easy to get to Disneyland, with a mile walk. Lotsof food choices around. Staff was friendly and helpful. If it were up to the kids, we'd be going back for the water park. I would try to get a better room next time.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here Mid June 2012 for 3 nights. Had a great experience with check in and staff throughout our stay. Our rooms were clean however a little dated but this didn't bother us and we weren't in the room much. Our room was on the top floor and it did get bright quite early with the large windows to the roof area.
Great location only a few minutes walk to disneyland area. We moved on to a hotel in Beverly Hills after our stay here and wished we had stayed in Anaheim and did a day trip/trips in LA area.
We did use Mim's Cafe across the road. I signed up to there website a week before we arrived and received lots of vouchers which came in handy. Food and service was great at Mim's.
We would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephanieG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed for one night after we had been at Disney all day. The staff were very friendly, there was plenty of parking, the rooms were clean. It was a short 5-10 minute walk to Disney and there were plenty of fast food restaurants within walking distance. We did not take advantage of many of the facilities as were not there for long, they did have free internet in the lobby though. I would stay here again purely for a clean, comfortable room and location. Not a fancy hotel, but accommodates basic needs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

Howard Johnson hotel was clean,ample room for a family of 4 , 10 minute walk to Disneyland & close to all other attractions in the area

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We booked a "2 Queen Beds Premium Room w/ Disney View". We ended up being in Building 1, which is next to the check-in building. Building 1 is a tower, not sure how many floors (I think 7). We were on 4th floor facing Disney. Although we faced Disney, I can't say we really saw too much other than the monorail. At night we saw some fireworks - some of the fireworks were either too low, and others were blocked a large tree. If you want a true Disney view, I think you need to request being on the top floor. I didn't make this request since I didn't realize the set-up of the building and incorrectly assumed that I would see more of Disney, i.e. the Matterhorn or the Castle. In any case it was not a huge deal to us since we were drop dead tired at the end of each day and the extra money for the Disney view was minimal. We booked using a "Mousesavers" rate and our daily rate was around $150. One benefit to being in Tower 1 with the "Disney View" is that we were far away from the freeway. To summarize:

Pros:
Room was quiet, even though we were right by the elevator
Beds were comfortable
Close to Disney

Cons:
Decor was meh even though the website says it was renovated in 2011
Poor internet connection
"Disney View" was iffy

Room Tip: If you pay for a Disney View, you should request a top floor. Lower floors in the tower have minimal...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank BostonJayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiwi Kid, Auckland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed 6 nights from June 25th. Upgraded to a Disney View room months prior and no problem. Everything else has already been said - easy walk to Disney, clean, helpful and attentive staff. Only negatives were no towels at adult pool one afternoon, and in the view room there is a large half moon shape window with no curtain. So as soon as the sun rises, your room is flooded with light. Otherwise very affordable, and perfect for a family Disney vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank small-Jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#18 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,752 reviews
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing