We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for disneyland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for disneyland”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

If your looking for a nice hotel across from Disneyland this is a great option. The pool for kids is great when you need a break from Disneyland and there are several restaurants as you take the 10 minute walk to the front Disneyland entry gates. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evets_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,763
    2,634
    832
    240
    89
See reviews for
5,940
483
71
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The pool area was great for the kids (6 and 4) and we had a lot of nice dinners at the restaurants that are within walking distance. We also enjoyed walking to Disneyland and not having to pay for parking there. There was a parking fee at the hotel, but we found every hotel charged. Our room was in a building being renovated, so maybe the rooms will be better. It was just old, outdated and we did not like the skylights which hindered the kids from napping.
Overall a great price and the pool was nice, and closness to Disneyland helped offset the icky room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The spray park is exceptionally well done, and was a huge hit with our 6 yo & 8 yo. The beauty of the spray park is that it is interactive and actually entertains the kids (my kids often beg me to swim with them in pools, but in the spray park i could join in when i felt like it).

The room was clean & comfortable, but note that the entire hotel is right next to I-5, and it is busy all night. Not sure if all the rooms are like this, but we had a first floor room that faced I-5, and even with the freeway sound barrier I could hear it all through the night. A few trucks would even give the bed tiny shakes. i didn't sleep that well the first night, but the other 3 nights slept fine (after being worn out from disneyland).

The disneyland access is excellent, and was an easy walk for our kids. And the entire hotel is full of families, so think twice about staying here if you don't want kids everywhere. Despite kids being everywhere, I never heard kid noise at inappropriate times or heard any noise from any of the families staying around us.

I wouldn't stay here if I weren't going to Disneyland (as I'd stay farther away from the freeway), and I wouldn't stay here if I didn't want the spray park (as you can get a similar pool & room elsewhere, and again, I'd get farther away from the freeway). But if you want family fun and an easy walk to disneyland, this hotel is the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kirk m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amity, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I got the entertainment book deal for this hotel ($69/night), which was way under what other hotels in the area charged. I had read the reviews and was ready to check this place out. Not a disappointment! A great place! The pirate pool was a hit with the kids (6,8,10,11) and an added plus was you can see the Disneyland fireworks, so no need to stand in the crowd at the park. We could sit in the hot tub and enjoy! The room was clean and the service was fabulous! We ordered grocery delivery and they held it in the fridge until we arrived. The grounds were beautiful. It was about 1 long block to disneyland, but the kids did fine with the walk. There are several restaurants (Mimi's and McDonalds) between the hotel and the park. It was great! We will definitely return on our next Disneyland visit! Oh and ps.... The mattresses are wonderful. I have never slept so good away from home!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cassieg_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Arrived June 30 and stayed 5 days. Check in was pretty easy staff for the most part friendly. On site parking was a minor challenge but ample spots. Rooms were just okay enough room for the kids an I beds were comfortable small fridge in the room was a nice touch. Walking distance to Disneyland was a huge plus an close to restaurants.
The negatives, for me I required a strong Internet signal & in today we all have smartphones, iPads an computers. I still had to do work email. Even though they offer free wifi, the connection in,our building (1) was the worst most of the time would not connect. The bathrooms were old and the tile in our room were dirty. The air condition unit made so much noise you had to turn it off to sleep. No help from the staff to fix those items. The groundskeepers made sure to fire up the blowers and weed wackers at 7:00am.
Mixed: The play pool is definitely for kids 8 an under and the adult pool is small and only to 5 feet.
Overall a good hotel if you want to be close to Disneyland and have young kids under 10 they just need to address a few shortcomings.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank robo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I am a travel consultant a had a large group booked into this hotel. Our check in for 94 people was so quick and efficient which was needed after the long flight from Sydney to LA. The staff are extremely coutous and helpful. Loaction is fantastic wih plenty of choices for places to eat and they ar all extremely well priced. The rooms themselves are quite a good comfortable size and were clean. The kids loved the pool / water play area. You can get breakfast cereals etcfrom the shops narby if you want to have a smple breakfast in your room or you can eat out at any of the restaurants that are right across the road. Of course the major benefit is the close proximity to Disneyland so if the kids get tired you can pop back and let them have a rest before hitting the park up again for all the night action.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KazNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

A very nice hotel, super close to Disneyland, an easy walk - even for lasy us. We were on the 5th floor with an excellent view of the fireworks. Be aware there's no breakfast included, but nice restaurants are right across the parking lot & many things (cereal, milk) are available in the (vastly over-priced) store in the hotel's lobby. Frig & microwave in the room. Bargain note: there's a Target just south on Harbor, stock up there!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#21 of 118 in Anaheim
2,865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing