We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing FAMILY getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #12 of 116 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Armstrong, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing FAMILY getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at the HOJO Anaheim Plaza for 4 nights with our 4.5 & 1.5 year old May 29-June 3. This place was amazing. It was the perfect hotel for families looking for an 'all in one' package. After playing all day at the theme parks, it was so nice to come back to the hotel and let the kids play in Castaway Cove. There is also a garden pool, which was nice to venture over to when Speedy's playground got too busy.
We had a room that had a view of the fireworks.(building1) It was so nice to sit on the balcony and watch after kids went to sleep. (however, we honestly were not prepared at how loud the fireworks were... ) The rooms were clean. The housekeepers were great. Our room had a fridge & microwave. Also, a KEURIG coffee machine, which was an extra bonus to the room. Our air conditioning seemed to not work to top notch. It was quite warm while we were there (29-30 degrees). So, having a cool room to relax in was a huge bonus. We just turned our a/coff during day, and cranked it on when we got back to room. I suppose we could have contacted the front desk to make them aware of our concern, but... in all honesty, it wasn't worth taking the time to do so.
The mainstreet market store has everything you need. (tip: for adults looking for cold beverages, the 7-11 carries beverages for MUCH less and is only a 10 minute walk down Harbour Blvd. EX: 6 budweiser at HOJO=13.50, 12 budweiser at 7-11=9.99 :) just a friendly tip :) Same goes for milk, chips, snacks etc.
For eating nearby, Mimi's cafe had everything imaginable & was reasonably priced. HUGE portions. We also dined at California Pizza, Bubba Gump Shrimp & Cheesecake Factory @ the Anaheim Gardenwalk which is a 15 minute walk (approx.) I would HIGHLY recommend cheesecake factory. It was unbelievable! Over 40 flavors of cheesecake to choose from, and the portions were LARGE. Very pleased with this restaurant & wished we had one in Canada.
This is the 2nd time we've stayed at the HOJO Anaheim, and I have no doubt that we will return to this hotel the next trip.

Room Tip: We stayed in Building 1, 1709. It was a big & cozy room. Fireworks go off at 9:30 every night an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JenP4414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,358
    2,374
    721
    203
    73
See reviews for
5,204
426
64
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (758)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for our family's first trip to Disneyland, and it perfectly met our needs. It was an easy 10 minute walk to Disneyland and coincidentally, we even got to see the fireworks from the parking lot when we arrived (super cool!) The rooms were clean and the two beds were comfy, bathrooms were well stocked, rooms had a mini fridge and TV, pretty standard fare. This hotel doesn't have a restaurant but is very close to Mimi's and you also pass McDonald's on your walk to Disneyland if you're looking for some cheap eats to fill you up before you get there instead of spending $$$$ on all your meals at Disneyland. Parking is free and they have a kids water play area at the hotel, which we didn't get to try because we ran out of time. Highly recommend this hotel, best value within walking distance to Disneyland (we had a Hotels Etc. discount that reduced the price considerably), so good to avoid the hassles of parking and taking the shuttle with a double stroller and we were glad to be able to walk.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orchid_blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Our kids absolutely loved this place, one of the days we stayed here it was 44 degrees celcius, and the resort let everyone stay in the pool until well after midnight. It was a highlight of our Disney trip. If we head back to Disneyland, this will be the first place we book.

Although the only downside was that we had our hire car broken into & Gps stolen, but this could happen anywhere.

Room Tip: We didn't see any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MVP66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed here for 7 nights, in building 1 facing the I-5. Have to say it was one of the quietest hotels ever, cannot hear the highway at all (due to upgraded windows), and cannot hear neighbors above or below. Only thing is that we wished there was a swimming pool, not just a water playground - as we travel with no children. But other than that, the rooms were just fine, very comfortable firm bed, and cleaning staff were great. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Living With T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, the last stop on our California roadtrip. Picked the HoJo as it was reasonably priced and perfectly located for our Disneyland trip.
Check-in was good, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We were in a premium room in building one, facing Disneyland, with a view of Space Mountain.
First thing I noticed was the traffic noise, the fire exit doors at the end of the corridor let in a lot of noise, as did the door to the balcony inside the room. The room itself was a bit dated, but the beds were comfortable and there was plenty of space. The fridge and microwave were a nice touch, and wi-fi was free and reliable. Bathroom is tiny but clean although the hot water was inconsistent.
The hotel is just a short walk to the parks, and there are a few places to eat nearby. We tried Mimi's Cafe, which was reasonably priced and served massive portions. No convenience stores nearby though, so we bought water and milk from the store in the HoJo, which was VERY expensive.
Would stay here again due to its great location, with the only downside being the traffic noise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathryn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights last month (May 2012) and were thrilled with our choice! We are a family of 5 with 3 kids aged 7, 5 and 3 and so we fit perfectly into one of the kids suites, with the two rooms with their own bathroom each. There was plenty of space, the rooms were super clean and the staff were very friendly. A short 10 minute walk to DL gates. Absolutely no traffic noise despite the fact that we were right on a highway. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jcm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Our family chose the Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel based on the ratings and reviews that we read on this site several months ago; since the reviews were so positive, we had pretty high expectations for this hotel. The Howard Johnson Plaza met and exceeded all of our expectations. Our first positive experience began with the wonderful staff. We arrived a few hours before the recommended check-in time, and the staff (thank you, Art!) worked hard to get us into our room earlier so we didn't have to sit around and wait for 4:00 to roll around. We really appreciated this. The room was very neat and tidy, and, per the description, had a Great view of the Disneyland resort: we had a perfect view of the Matterhorn, and could see some of the attractions at Paradise Pier, too. We loved that our room had a Keurig coffee maker, and we could look forward to an afternoon cup everyday, as the coffee was restocked daily. The proximity to Disneyland was even better than we had hoped -- something for which we were very thankful after a long, 14-hour day at the Park. Our whole vacation was so positive, and we will definitely make the Howard Johnson "our hotel" every time we return to Disneyland.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 808traci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 2,465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 116 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing