We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #14 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
los angeles
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

I am from Los Angeles and have been looking for a fun place to bring my over-active toddler
on weekends. I was completely satisfied with Hojo Anaheim... you do not have to go out of the hotel to have fun. Their pirate's cove waterpark was "funtastic"..just what I was looking for for my toddler. WE even enjoyed the Disneyland fireworks as the hotel was directly across Disneyland. Meals were no problem with Mimi's Cafe and McDonald's just across the street. Rooms were clean, bed comfy, front desk staff were very helpful...and they even have a very nice Keurig coffeemaker for you. Only drawback during our stay was the wifi access, which was down during our stay. I will definitely be back for more fun!

Room Tip: If you want a view of Disneyland..get Building 1 accommodation at the higher floor and say that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAtravelbug_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,574
    2,515
    769
    221
    79
See reviews for
5,571
463
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

Nice hotel. Good location – you can walk to Disneyland and don’t have to wait for shuttles or find parking. We would spend the morning at the park, walk home in the afternoon, jump into the pool and walk back in the evening for more fun and/or dinner. The kid’s pool was great – my tweens loved it.

Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. We got a room in building 2 facing Disneyland, so the freeway noise wasn’t a problem. You’ll see/hear the fireworks every night from the park – added bonus or not (depending on age of your kids). The only “fault” I could find was that our room did not have double sink (one sink in the bathroom and one outside). With 2 adults and 2 kids, the extra sink outside is often nice.

There a convenience store on site for breakfast and snacks. We add breakfast in our hotel room every morning so we can go all-out for lunch & dinner. Also saves you time in the morning so you can get to the park at opening time. Mimi’s next door was good and was reasonably price. There are calorie counts on the menu items, so my kids were comparing their meals for calories.

Don’t forget to check some of the Disneyland “coupon-saving” sites to check if you can get discount on this hotel. Sometimes you can save 15%-20% on hotel costs.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgary4togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

If you're staying here, you are more than likely staying to visit Disneyland. We found this hotel to be in a good location and an easy walk to Disneyland and quite safe to walk back to at night. Mimi's restaurant is very close and was very reasonably priced for family dinners. Howard Johnson has a small convenience shop and is very friendly operated, it has all your breakfast needs to buy and other extra things that may have been forgotten. The only issue I had with the accommodation was the location to the freeway. It was quite close and we did hear a lot of traffic noise at night. There is a good pool area and smaller kids water play park which was of a good standard if you had time in your agenda to use these facilities. We stayed at the Hyatt on our second trip back to Disneyland and found that we had to pay for the shuttle so if travelling on a budget it is much better value to stay at the Howard, it also allowed part of our family to walk back earlier when they had had enough Disneyland.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smile4meGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockhampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

Our family used this place for our base while in LA. It was clean and comfortable and the staff took pride in there work. Service form the people working there was first class. Rooms were great for what we wanted. Pool and kids area is a great area to unwind. Do not see many of the kids play areas in other motels. The beds in our room were very comfortable, one of the most comfortable I have slept in while travelling for leasure and work.

We stayed on the top floor in building 2 and could not here the road noise. Could hear it when the door was open but this did not worry us. Could here more noise from disneyland the the freeway. AS we had come in from Australia early in the morning they had our room ready for us when we arrived which was great after a long flight.

The only problem is that the rooms need a bigger fridge as the little bar fridge was not quite big enough for what we needed.

Overall I would reccomend this motel to stay at while in Anaheim for families to stay at. Great facilities and comfortable rooms.

Room Tip: Great place for families to stay on holidays to disneyland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dagss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a Howard Johnson's property with a great pool/water park for children and a great location 2 blocks away from Disneyland. However at heart it's still a Howard Johnson's so don't expect much.. the rooms have a microwave, Keurig coffee maker, and a refrigerator which was helpful. There is no restaurant on property though. There is a small store that carries some packaged, processed food and some cheap alcohol. There are also no gathering areas for guests ...so we often walked thru a party of sorts in the hotel first floor where there is 1 couch and people would gather. This property does have a few laundry machines which were convenient. This a good hotel to stay at if you plan to stay at Disneyland for most of the day.

Room Tip: Building #2 is newer supposedly..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tropigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We were very impressed with this hotel! It was in a great location - we were able to walk to and from Disneyland - a variety of restaurants closeby. The only downfall would be the doors to the balconies did not close very tightly, so we did get traffic noise

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Great location, staff and swimming area! Just no breakfast included! Will stay again

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#17 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#16 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing