We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #19 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2011

After searching many hotels very close to Disney I chose this one. The front desk was very helpful and pleasant. The housekeeping staff cleaned the rooms daily allowing us to come back after a long day at Disney, to beds made, clean towels, and everything in order.
Since we had young children our room overlooked the kiddie pool area and we could see Disney across the way. Our room had a balcony, which gave us a sense of not being 'boxed-in'.
Our room had two sinks, a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker along with iron + ironing board + hair dryer. We were 3 adults and 2 children and were quite comfortable.
On the first floor of our building is a mini gift shop + grocery store. There is also a video game room across from it.
We were on the 6th floor and never had a problem waiting for the elevator.
The kiddie 'Pirates Cove' was excellent for the young kids. Two water slides, a couple of 'spray' areas and a little pool that went from one inch to one foot deep.
I felt that the total room price for 4 nights was very reasonable. However we did stay mid-week the begining of May. I'm not sure of the room rates in the summer season.
I highly recommend this hotel as it was about a 10 minute walk to Disney Entrance. There is a MiMi's Cafe across the street, a few other restaurants, including a McDonalds on your stroll to Disney.

Room Tip: I utilized my AARP status for a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andersongrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,325 - 6,331 of 7,677 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2011

First of all, I've never complained about not being able to sleep in a motel, but this is ridiculous. Originally, I booked the standard room in Bldg 1. i was told the freeway noise may bother us by the customer service. I UPGRADED to Bldg 2 which were supposed to be the quietest rooms. I even requested a quiet room on the reservation. We checked into room 2110- the 1st floor. We booked for 3 nights April 30- May 2. When they told me we were on the 1st floor, I asked for another room higher up. They were booked & couldn't move us. Ok. We decided not a big deal.

During the day, there were kids right outside the room- no big deal because we have kids of our own. At night, it was a different story. We could hear AND FEEL the rumble of the semi trucks on the freeway. Usually, my husband can sleep through anything. At first, he didn't know what it was. Usually, with noise, I just use ear plugs or turn on the fan. We had the fan on so the noise didn't bother us, but feeling the ground shake was just too hard to sleep through.

I saw other postings with the same problem. I thought they were the exception, but do you really wanna gamble on getting a ground floor room & feel the earth move under you all night? We really wanted to like Hojo- sounded so good, but just didn't work out for us.

Yes, it's got a great location- 10 min walk to Disneyland, but there are other places that are closer, that don't have Hwy 5 in the back door. Priceline has great deals so you can get a discount without the Entertainment card. Too many other options to choose from in this area. We were not happy here- couldn't sleep for 3 nights & were all cranky the next day at Disneyland. Just not worth it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CheleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

Clean, comfortable, great view of the fireworks, our kids loved the waterpark, staff was very helpful. We have a 4 year old and a 2 year old both of whom were able to walk to Disneyland and back. I wouldn't suggest using the shuttle to return from Disneyland at the Hojo is the last stop on the route which means you spend way more time on the shuttle than you would walking.

Great to come back from Disney - have one child nap and the other continue to have fun in the pool.

We will stay again when we go back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting Disneyland as part of our California trip. The walk to Disneyland is about 10mins which meant that we could leave, have a rest and then come back again in the evening. The rooms were spacious although the bathroom was 'bijou'. There is an onsite shop that sells pretty much everything you could need, 2 pools and a couple of diners within 5 minutes walk. If we ever come back to Disneyland California, HOJO would be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abbeydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

The hotel was exactly as we expected from reading reviews here. We got a room in building 2 to avoid the highway noise mentioned in building 1. We could hear the highway from the hallway, but not from the room. The room was dated, but we weren't staying across the street from Disneyland to watch TV or admire the decor (and have to wonder about people who are..lol) The kids' water area was wonderful, and so was the garden pool. They did shut down the kids' water slide the second night we were there because someone had some type of accident (urine, vomit, ?, not sure) and completely cleaned, filtered, and shocked it before they'd open it again. Hard to be disappointed about the water slide being closed when you know they are keeping it sanitary for everyone. Fridge and microwave came in handy, and the lack of a breakfast wasn't a big deal. There are plenty of restaurants right next door, and we had instant oatmeal in the room one morning. Highly recommend for people travelling with young children. Oh, and other reviews are correct when they tell you the fireworks are LOUD here!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldrxstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed at the HOJO in May 2011. The hotel is very clean and is in a pretty good location, not too far from Disneyland Park. The kids loved the pirate ship water park. We got great service from the front desk also. I would recommend this hotel to families. It would have been nice if the room also had a microwave. The fridge came in handy though.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sirsiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We were very pleased with the HOJO. We were able to get the Entertainment rate of $69 for the deluxe 2 queen bedroom in building 2 for 3 nights. At this rate, we couldn't find a reason to be dissatisfied! The rooms are very comfortable and clean. Loved the fridge and microwave. The pool facilities are great, especially for younger children. The splash pool and slides were a hit with my kids. There was no problem with noise, whatsoever, in building 2. Our room faced the garden pool. Loved the salt water! I hear the hotel is going to add a hot tub with cascading waterfall next year (2012). Sounds delightful!

We will always stay at the HOJO as long as we can get the entertainment book rate. It makes for such an affordable stay and there are plenty of places to eat nearby. We always eat a good breakfast, then take snacks and drinks in to the Disney Parks to tide us over until dinner time. Mimi's Cafe (utilize the BOGO breakfast free coupons) or McDonalds are on the way into the park.

The walk is definitely an easy one! Maybe two city blocks long. It took us 10 minutes to get through the gates and back to our room at night after Disneyland closed. Can't wait for our next trip when Carsland is in full operation next year!.

Room Tip: Building 2 was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LizMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#22 of 118 in Anaheim
2,927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#5 of 118 in Anaheim
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range: $168 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing