We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the HoJo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Ranked #18 of 118 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Loved the HoJo”
Reviewed October 2, 2007

We loved our week at the HoJo Anaheim. From check in to check out everything was excellent. The staff are very helpful from shopping tips to organising town cars - they were extremely knowledgeable & helpful. I have read opinions saying the walking distance to Disneyland is not close - I cannot agree. The walk was pleasant - even after 10 hour days walking around Disneyland! The on-site shop is excellent - they sell everything you can think of & the things that we forgot. Being able to have breakfast in your room before you set off for the day was a big bonus. The pool area is great & the views of the Disney fireworks are almost as good as from the park itself.

Overall we rate this hotel highly & wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aussiemumdad2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,735
    2,611
    818
    237
    86
See reviews for
5,873
481
71
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

Quick check-in and check out. Clean spacious rooms. A little droning noise from the Freeway behind. Didn't need the air con. but it was loud when we tried it.
Very close to Disneyland and California Adventure. 5 mins walk. A small number of eateries close by. Overall a very favourable experience. Would stay again.

  • Liked — Pools
  • Disliked — Noise from Freeway
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suemagoonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

We stayed for 12 nights in total, family of 4 from September 8th. We were in Block 1 with a Disney view. I could not fault this hotel. Check in was swift and smooth, front desk staff very friendly and competent. Our room was spacious and clean with 2 double beds, fridge, coffee maker, microwave, bottled water and mixed nuts(which were replaced every day). Housekeeping staff very efficient, our room was cleaned every day by the time we returned. The gift shop has everything you could possibly want. The Laundry in the basement was great and only a dollar to do a load of washing. The pool area was lovely, plenty of sun loungers and towels and a great place to watch the fireworks, kids were swimming one night and the fireworks going off. Mimis restaurant across the road is a must. The walk to Disney is a short walk,(a 10min stroll at most) people that think it is long must be very unfit or lazy.The tree lined street with the trees all lit up at night is a lovely walk back from Disney. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No Breakfast
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Elliewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Ab
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel...and I would stay again. I thought it was great value! The landscaped grounds are beautifully maintained...which sets this hotel apart from most of the Anaheim Resort Area hotels (with the exception of the Disney properties). It definitely was a nice "welcome back" after a long, fun-filled day in the theme parks!

I don't think our room had been renovated in recent years as the tub and tiles in the washroom were very old... and the carpets were a little tired. The AC was a little noisy...but not enough to be too disturbing. The room was clean and quiet even though we were in the building that is closest to the freeway.

The front desk staff was very friendly and very helpful...and our toddler loved Speedy's Sprayground.

The one thing that I would like to see at this property would be a breakfast bar - even if you had to pay for it. Mimi's Cafe (which was fantastic) is close enough to grab a coffee and muffin to bring back to your room...but it would have been nice to have a quick breakfast on the property before heading out for the day's adventures.

As I said...I very likely will stay again on our next trip to Anaheim. We have been lucky enough to visit the area quite a few times and have stayed a many of the area hotels. Hojo's is one of our favourites.

  • Liked — Landscaped Grounds
  • Disliked — Room Decor
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Minnie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2007

We went to Disneyland for my sons 5th birthday and had my 2 year old and 11 year old as well. We booked a through Disney travel and called the hotel directly to see about upgrading to a Disney view room. It was worth it. When we decided to do this trip I was 100% set on one of the Disney hotels but ofter reading reviews this hotel has far better. Everything was super clean, the room was a good size for 5 of us, and the hotel staff were all so extremely nice! We had a great view from room 1707. We had a teriffic veiw of the fireworks. The walk to the park is so easy, not even 10 minutes. We were back and forth 3 times a day. It was nice to have Mimis Cafe right next door to get take out from. We are definatly staying here again next year! With paying less than half of what the Disney hotels charge we were able to do breakfast at Goofeys kitchen which is well over $100.00 for us and buy our children really nice gifts from the parks. Disney is pretty pricey with 5 people but definatly worth it. There is no other theme park that compares so we don't mind spending the money on whatever weather it is hotels, meals, toys, $85 princess dresses for my 2 year old. I am so glad we now know how wonderful this hotel is!!! I have nothing but great things to say about Howard Johnson Anaheim!!!!!!

  • Liked — How freindly the staff is and how well kept the grounds are!!!
  • Disliked — I do not have anything negative to say.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PickyMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire U. K.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2007

Stayed here for 4 nights before moving on to San Deigo. The hotel was very clean and comfortable and looked ideal for families with young children wanting a base for Disney. Check in was smooth and the staff where very helpful and friendly. The pool area was also very good with plenty of free towels. One note of concern however that during a power cut when we first arrived late in the afternoon none of the emergency lights in the hallway came on so we had to find our way to the stairway exits in complete darkness. This could have been much worse if the powercut had occured after dark. To the staffs credit they quickly opened all exit doors letting in light and handed out free glow sticks much to the delight of the children.
Overall a very touristy themed hotel in a very touristy area.

  • Liked — pool area cleanliness
  • Disliked — powercut
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank vodice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Over a 2 week period, we stayed in 4 hotels in CA, 3 were in LA area. This one was the best. Decent size room which was clean and well maintained. We didn't use any of the amenities such as the pool, because we were busy and exhausted from Disneyland, which was right across the street and about a 10 minute walk to the gate. The hotel had no restaurant on the property but in its in room literature it recommended Mimi's cafe. Mimi's was well reviewed by the Disneyland message boards, but we had bad service and mediocre food. Millie's which was next door was better. If we travel here in the future, which is likely, we would surely stay here again.

the only complaint that I could muster on the HOJO, is that at least in our room our room's AC/ heater was controlled by a dial type thermostat and a dimmer switch. The switch controlled the speed of the fan which never turned off. During our 3 days here, we were gone in the day and at night it was cool outside so we could not tell if the AC system was working as it was never hot in our room and we just turned off the fan and we were comfortable enough.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needs updated HVAC
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sushidan141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#20 of 118 in Anaheim
2,839 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
1.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Anaheim Resort – Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Property: Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802-2310
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing